Research Summary - An Overview of Resource Allocation Models in a Selection of Large Canadian Police Services

PDF (214 Kb)

Background

Over the years police work has become increasingly complex and diverse. Canadian communities as well as police services need to know how many police officers are required to ensure public safety and help their agency to most cost-effectively meet the demands placed on it. An increasing number of Canadian police organizations try to improve their approach to determine human resource requirements and allocate adequate human resource levels in order to offer appropriate policing services, based on their vision of policing, their mandate and expected roles.

Several police staffing models that are being applied across the country were examined at the Canada Police Staffing Symposium hosted by the Ontario Provincial Police (OPP) in Ottawa on November 2-3, 2015. According to the symposium report, there is a need to conduct evaluations of the initiatives underway to test alternative staffing models and it is critical to learn about their strengths and weaknesses (Weiss, 2015). The Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch of Public Safety Canada aims to complement this symposium with a study which examines the advantages and limitations of the major police staffing and deployment models used in Canada. The current exploratory research involves an examination of the approaches of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), the OPP, the Sûreté du Québec (SQ), and the Service de Police de la Ville de Montréal (SPVM). The approach of the Ministère de la Sécurité publique du Québec (MSP) who approves the minimum permanent staffing level of police organizations is also described. This study aims to answer the following research questions among others:

Method

Presentations done at the OPP’s 2015 symposium were complemented by a comprehensive set of public documents (annual plans and reports, environment scans, research studies, etc.) and other research documents to build a deep understanding of the models implemented or in development. Structured questionnaires were designed to collect complementary data from research directors, managers and analysts working in these organizations. Face-to-face meetings, phone calls and e-mail exchanges were used to develop a better understanding of staffing models.

Findings

In recent years, police organizations have undertaken a reflective process to improve planning for and deployment of police officers. The first step is to determine the nature of the services to provide given the mandate, the definition of work and the role expected of police officers. The human resources aspects are essential elements of the planning process. In addition, the scope, nature and trends in crime are critical factors. Lastly, the social and historic context, along with the characteristics of the population and territory, generally influence the allocation of resources. The relative importance assigned to these various parameters, and their treatment in the model varies.

The RCMP computerized simulation, the General Duty Police Resourcing Model (GDPRM), is one of many tools that are used to analyze the workload. The model helps to estimate the staffing levels required to provide general duty, frontline policing services in detachments and enables the organization to respond more effectively to community needs while using resources as efficiently as possible.

The Deployment Model used by the OPP, which is an adaptation of the Illinois State Police’s computerized model, assesses the effect of devolutions upon detachment staffing requirements based on factors such as characteristics of the detachment; officer availability; CFS/Response standard; officer’s safety standards; and patrol standards. The model strives to manage the tension created by the application of consistent standards within a diverse environment. It adequately estimates requirements for urban as well as rural areas.

In Quebec, the MSP approves a permanent minimum staffing level for each police organization based on the analysis of police organization plan that have been submitted. However, the staffing and staff deployment processes are achieved by each police service. The analysis is based on factors such as the implementation of the community approach; the territory and population served; criminality; the organization of the police services; and the characteristics of calls for service. As part of the modernization of its service offerings and to better meet the needs, the SQ has developed a model for assessing the workload (actual and past) of patrol officers in order to distribute resources more objectively and fairly. A new resource deployment model is currently being proposed to stakeholders involved in the renewal of service agreements. The SQ determined how to potentially reduce differences between the individual and provincial utilization rates, and still respect the service agreements and minimize negative consequences that might result from overly draconian changes. The SPVM has optimized its resource allocation between neighbourhood stations to properly implement its policing model (Police de quartier) given the observed variability in the volume and complexity of calls. The SPVM increased the minimum number of police officers. The criteria for personnel allocation were updated and their weights were revised. A unique aspect of its approach involved changes to the administrative and operational structure. Some stations were grouped and their function changed for some of them.

All of those models are based on evidence-based data in keeping with the current trend. The basic forecasting approach uses an objective methodology, and quantitative data is often analyzed to extrapolate past. The qualitative aspects of policing are also taken into account. The human resources aspects are essential elements, while crime characteristics are critical factors as well as the socio-economic and geographic contexts, demographic trends, and historical agreements. The relative importance assigned to these factors.

Implications

A research approach to workforce allocation facilitates the development of a flexible, objective model that could adapt to the environment and properly anticipate needs. The following recommendations are provided to police services that would like to improve their approach:

  1. Design of a model showing the factors that determine service offering and workload.
  2. Assessment and comparison of the current approach with the approach of other police organizations.
  3. Development of a model that includes: actual and past workload data; human resource aspects; crime; legislative, historic, demographic, and geographic parameters.

Source

Laliberté, D. (2017). An Overview of Resource Allocation Models in a Selection of Large Canadian Police Services. Journal of Sexual Aggression, 19(1), 17-31. Research Report 2017-R004, Public Safety Canada.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:
Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche - Un survol des modèles de dotation en personnel implantés par des organisations policières canadiennes de grande taille

PDF (223 Kb)

Contexte

Au fil des ans, le travail policier s’est complexifié et diversifié. Les collectivités canadiennes et les services de police ont besoin de savoir combien il faut de policiers pour assurer la sécurité publique et aider leur organisation à répondre aux demandes de manière efficiente. De plus en plus d’organisations policières canadiennes tentent d’améliorer leur approche de détermination des besoins en ressources humaines et d’affectation de ressources humaines adéquates, et ce, pour offrir des services de police appropriés, en se fondant sur une vision particulière des services de police, de leur mandat et des rôles attendus.

Plusieurs modèles de dotation policière appliqués au pays ont été examinés lors du Colloque canadien sur la dotation en personnel policier, tenu par la Police provinciale de l’Ontario (PPO) les 2 et 3 novembre 2015 à Ottawa. Selon le rapport du colloque, il faut évaluer les initiatives en cours pour tester des modèles substitutifs de dotation en personnel, et il est essentiel d’être au fait de leurs forces et faiblesses (Weiss, 2015). Le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada vise à compléter ce colloque avec une étude qui examine les avantages et limites des principaux modèles de déploiement et de dotation en personnel policier au Canada. Cette recherche exploratoire actuelle considère les approches de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), de la PPO, de la Sûreté du Québec (SQ) et du Service de police de la Ville de Montréal (SPVM). L’approche du Ministère de la Sécurité publique du Québec (MSP) à l’égard de l’autorisation du nombre minimal de policiers permanents pour les corps de police est aussi considérée. Cette étude vise à répondre à des questions de recherche telles que :

Méthode

Un vaste ensemble de documents publics (plans et rapports annuels, analyses environnementales, études de recherche, etc.) et d’autres documents de recherche ont complété les présentations livrées au cours du colloque de l’OPP de 2015, afin de mieux comprendre les modèles implantés ou en préparation. Des questionnaires structurés ont été conçus pour collecter des données complémentaires auprès de directeurs de recherche, de gestionnaires et d’analystes œuvrant dans ces organismes. Des réunions, des appels téléphoniques et des échanges de courriels ont permis de mieux comprendre les modèles de dotation.

Constatations

Au cours des dernières années, les corps policiers ont entrepris une réflexion pour améliorer la planification et le déploiement des policiers. La première étape est de déterminer la nature des services à offrir, selon le mandat, la définition du travail et le rôle attendu des policiers. Les questions relatives aux ressources humaines sont des éléments essentiels du processus de planification, alors que la portée, la nature et les tendances des actes criminels sont importants. Enfin, la répartition des ressources est généralement influencée par le contexte sociohistorique, les caractéristiques de la population et du territoire. L’importance relative accordée à ces paramètres et leur intégration dans le modèle varient.

Le modèle de simulation informatisé General Duty Police Resourcing Model (GDPRM) de la GRC constitue l’un des nombreux outils utilisés pour analyser la charge de travail. Le modèle aide à estimer les niveaux de personnel requis pour fournir des services policiers de première ligne dans les détachements et permettre à l’organisation de répondre plus efficacement aux besoins des collectivités tout en utilisant les ressources le plus efficacement possible.

Le Modèle de déploiement utilisé par la PPO est une adaptation du modèle informatisé de la police d’État de l’Illinois, qui évalue les effets des délégations de responsabilités sur les exigences de la dotation des détachements en fonction de paramètres tels que les caractéristiques du détachement, la disponibilité des policiers, les appels de services, les normes relatives aux interventions, à la sécurité des policiers et aux patrouilles. Le modèle dissipe les tensions liées à l’application de normes uniformes dans un environnement diversifié. Il estime adéquatement les besoins dans les régions urbaines et rurales.

Au Québec, le MSP approuve un effectif policier permanent minimal pour chaque corps de police sur la base de l’analyse des plans d’organisation policière qui lui sont transmis. Cependant, le processus de dotation et de déploiement des effectifs appartient à chaque corps de police. Parmi les éléments considérés, mentionnons la mise en œuvre de l’approche communautaire, le territoire et la population desservis, la criminalité, l’organisation des services policiers et les caractéristiques des appels de service. Dans le contexte de la modernisation de son offre de service et pour mieux répondre aux besoins, la SQ a élaboré un modèle d’évaluation de la charge de travail réelle (actuelle et passée) des patrouilleurs, afin de répartir les ressources plus objectivement et équitablement. Un nouveau modèle de déploiement des effectifs a été proposé aux parties prenantes impliquées dans le renouvellement des ententes de services. On a déterminé comment réduire les écarts entre le taux d’occupation provincial et les taux des dessertes, tout en respectant les ententes de services et en minimisant les conséquences négatives qui résulteraient de changements trop draconiens. Le SPVM a optimisé le déploiement des ressources entre les postes de quartier pour bien appliquer le modèle de police de quartier en fonction de la variabilité du volume et de la complexité des appels. Il a rehaussé l’effectif minimal, mis à jour les critères de distribution du personnel et leur pondération. La modification de sa structure administrative et opérationnelle est un élément original de la démarche. Des postes de quartier ont été regroupés tandis que leur fonction a parfois changé.

Tous ces modèles sont fondés sur des données probantes, conformément à la tendance actuelle. L’approche prévisionnelle de base est fondée sur une méthodologie objective et l’extrapolation du passé à partir de données quantitatives. Les dimensions qualitatives du travail policier sont aussi considérées. Les aspects reliés aux ressources humaines et les caractéristiques de la criminalité sont des facteurs critiques au même titre que les contextes socioéconomique et géographique, les tendances démographiques et les ententes historiques. L’importance relative assignée à ces facteurs varie.

Répercussions

L’adoption d’une approche de recherche pour répartir les effectifs facilite l’élaboration d’un modèle flexible et objectif pouvant s’adapter à l’environnement et permettant de bien anticiper les besoins. Les recommandations suivantes s’adressent aux services de police qui aimeraient améliorer leur approche :

  1. Création d’un modèle présentant les déterminants de l’offre de services et la charge de travail.
  2. Évaluation et comparaison de l’approche actuelle avec celle des autres organisations policières.
  3. Élaboration d’un modèle intégrant : charge de travail passée et actuelle, aspects liés aux ressources humaines, criminalité, paramètres législatifs, historiques, démographiques et géographiques.

Source

Laliberté, D. Un survol des modèles de dotation en personnel implantés par des  organisations policières canadiennes de grande taille, 2017, Rapport de recherche 2017-R004, Sécurité Publique Canada.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :
Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :