Research Summary - Youth Gangs in Canada: A Review of Current Topics and Issues

PDF (127 Kb)

Highlighting advances in research on youth gangs and understanding involvement among key populations of interest.

Background

Youth gangs are not a new phenomenon in Canada. Over the past 25 years, increased interest in this group has led to continuing theoretical and empirical research and evaluation efforts with the goal of better understanding and responding to this issue. Advances have been made in defining the nature of youth gangs and their activities, the motivations for joining, and the risk and protective factors that influence involvement in a gang lifestyle.

While a precise measure of youth gang involvement and prevalence of their activities in Canada is not currently available, strides have been made in understanding affiliation among three key populations of interest: Aboriginal youth, immigrant youth, and young women. Public Safety Canada continues to work to support the development and dissemination of Canadian knowledge to assist in the implementation of future initiatives to address youth gangs.

Method

This research report presents a review of the research and evaluation literature on key topics and issues related to youth gangs in Canada in order to assist in the development of prevention and intervention solutions to address youth gang involvement and gang-related activities.

The majority of theoretical knowledge and empirical work on youth gangs has come from the United States. Although there are advantages in learning from the American experience, there is a danger in assuming that the causes and structure of gangs are the same in the United States and in Canada. To that end, this publication uses Canadian research and resources as much as possible.

Answer

Given the lack of a widely-agreed upon definition of ‘youth gang’ within and across various sectors, some generally recognized criteria have been established: a group phenomenon related to youth; self-formed association of peers who have mutual interests, and who may use symbols of belonging; organization is necessary though not sufficient; control or claim to a specific territory in which the group operates; and engagement in delinquent and/or criminal behaviour (including violence).

Those who become involved in youth gangs do so to address a variety of unfulfilled needs, with the gang often offering them the following: protection; economic benefits; social benefits; emotional support and sense of belonging; and opportunities to overcome structural level socioeconomic disadvantages.

Youth gang members account for a large amount of criminal behaviour and a variety of offences have been linked to gang membership, including: property offences; drug trafficking; weapons offences; robbery; sexual and aggravated assault; and homicide. Beyond immediate injuries to individuals, youth gangs and their activities are harmful to communities (e.g., promoting a culture of violence) and society as a whole (e.g., financial costs on justice and health care systems). Involvement in a gang lifestyle can also lead to problems for members, including: lack of education or employment success; exposure to and involvement with substance use; teenage parenthood; and exposure to violence, victimization and trauma.

Risk and protective factors, although not in and of themselves indicative of causal mechanisms, provide insight into understanding youth gang involvement. Risk factors consistently supported in research studies include: experiencing negative life events; exhibiting early problem behaviours; holding delinquent beliefs; being poorly supervised by parents; associating with delinquent peers; and commitment to those peers. Considerably less research exists on protective factors, but some possible characteristics include: positive coping and decision-making skills; involvement with prosocial peers and activities; educational aspirations and commitment to school; strong family connections and support; and living in a cohesive neighbourhood.

Aboriginal youth are often involved in street gangs and ‘wannabe’ groups and participate in less lucrative criminal activities such as drug trafficking, assaults and break-and-enters. They often have high rates of internalized violence (e.g., self-injurious behaviour).

Gang involvement has clear precursors that can be traced back to the historical and cultural losses, social and political inequalities, and economic barriers faced by Aboriginal people for generations. The presence of structural inequality and collective trauma require continuous understanding and form an important component when working with this population. All efforts to assist youth should be culturally adapted and utilize local community and cultural strengths.

Immigrant youth may face a number of barriers to acculturation and integration to Canadian society. Compounded with other risk factors for gang involvement, this leaves them with what appear to be insurmountable challenges and makes the gang a viable option for obtaining financial support, acceptance, and a sense of social status and respect. Most immigrant youth are involved in either an ethnically-based gang or in a multicultural gang, commonly organized with the clear purpose of committing criminal activity for financial gain. In order to support these youth, collaboration among diverse stakeholders is needed to promote the development of positive identities and to achieve a healthy sense of belonging at home, at school and in the community. 

In the past, young women were typically seen as adopting gender-specific marginal roles in the gang. Now there is variation in the positions they adopt and they are involved in multiple types of gangs (e.g., auxiliary, co-ed, independent). Exposure to violence and victimization are particular factors that enhance the appeal of gangs for young women. However, once involved in the gang they continue to experience exploitation, vulnerability and victimization. Gender-informed prevention and intervention efforts for young women should include: a safe and nurturing environment; building resilience to protect against future victimization; fostering respectful and positive relationships; and combating the ‘gang lore’ that promotes the gang as a safe haven.

Implications

Public Safety Canada continues to support effective youth gang prevention and intervention strategies that are known to work based on empirical evidence and lessons learned from past implementation and evaluation experiences. In conjunction with the insights gained throughout the literature review process, this information has been and will continue to be incorporated into the development and implementation of future initiatives to address youth gangs. The work conducted to date demonstrates the importance of developing a comprehensive approach to prevention and intervention that captures the complex nature of youth gang involvement and addresses the specific dimensions of the problem for key populations of interest.

Source

Dunbar, L. (2017). Youth Gangs in Canada: A Review of Current Topics and Issues. Ottawa, ON: Public Safety Canada.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors’ findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche - Gangs de jeunes au Canada : Examen des questions et enjeux actuels

PDF (127 Ko)

Souligner les progrès dans la recherche sur les gangs de jeunes et comprendre l’adhésion aux gangs au sein de diverses populations clés.

Contexte

Les gangs de jeunes ne sont pas un nouveau phénomène au Canada. Au cours des 25 dernières années, un intérêt accru pour ce groupe a mené à la réalisation continue de recherches et d’évaluations théoriques et empiriques dans le but de mieux comprendre cette question et intervenir en conséquence. Des progrès ont été réalisés afin de définir la nature des gangs de jeunes et leurs activités, les motivations des personnes qui se joignent à de tels gangs ainsi que les facteurs de risque et de protection qui ont une incidence sur l’adoption d’un mode de vie axé sur un gang.

À l’heure actuelle,  il n’existe pas de mesure précise de l’adhésion aux gangs de jeunes et de l’importance de leurs activités au Canada, mais des progrès ont été effectués quant à la compréhension de l’affiliation au sein de trois populations clés, soit les jeunes autochtones, les jeunes immigrants et les jeunes femmes. Sécurité publique Canada continue de soutenir l’élaboration et la diffusion de connaissances canadiennes en vue de faciliter la mise en œuvre d’initiatives visant les gangs de jeunes.

Méthode

Ce rapport de recherche présente un examen de la documentation en matière de recherche et d’évaluation sur les questions et les enjeux clés touchant les gangs de jeunes au Canada en vue de faciliter l’élaboration de solutions en matière de prévention et d’intervention pour aborder l’adhésion aux gangs de jeunes et les activités liées aux gangs.

La majorité des connaissances théoriques et des travaux empiriques sur les gangs de jeunes proviennent des États‑Unis. Apprendre de l’expérience des États‑Unis comporte certains avantages, mais il peut être risqué de présumer que les causes et la structure des gangs sont les mêmes aux États‑Unis qu’au Canada. Pour ce faire, le présent rapport s’appuie autant que possible sur des recherches et des ressources canadiennes.

Réponse

Comme il n’existe pas de définition convenue de « gang de jeunes » au sein de divers secteurs et entre ceux-ci, quelques critères généralement reconnus ont été établis : un phénomène de groupe qui touche les jeunes; une association libre de pairs qui ont des intérêts mutuels et qui peuvent utiliser des symboles d’appartenance; une structure est nécessaire mais insuffisante; le groupe mène ses activités dans un territoire qu’il contrôle; et adoption de comportements délinquants ou criminels (y compris la violence).

Les personnes qui entrent dans un gang de jeunes le font pour répondre à des besoins inassouvis; le gang leur offre les avantages suivants : une protection; des avantages économiques; des avantages sociaux; un soutien émotionnel et un sentiment d’appartenance; et des occasions de surmonter les désavantages socioéconomiques au niveau structurel.

Les membres de gangs de jeunes sont responsables d’un grand nombre de comportements criminels, et diverses infractions criminelles sont liées à l’appartenance à un gang, notamment les crimes contre les biens, le trafic de drogues, les infractions liées aux armes, le vol qualifié, l’agression sexuelle, les voies de fait graves et l’homicide. Outre le préjudice immédiat subi par les victimes, les gangs de jeunes et les activités qu’ils mènent sont nuisibles aux collectivités (ils favorisent une culture de violence, par exemple) et à la société en général (ils engendrent notamment des coûts financiers pour les systèmes de justice et de santé). L’adoption d’un mode de vie axé sur un gang peut également entraîner des problèmes pour les membres : absence de réussite scolaire ou professionnelle; consommation de substances et exposition à cette consommation; parentalité à l’adolescence; et exposition à la violence, à la victimisation et au traumatisme.

Les facteurs de risque et de protection, même s’ils ne sont pas en soi des indicateurs de mécanismes de cause à effet, permettent de mieux comprendre l’adhésion aux gangs de jeunes. Voici quelques facteurs de risque qui sont constamment reconnus dans les études de recherche : vivre des expériences de vie négatives; afficher de façon précoce des comportements problématiques; entretenir des croyances délinquantes; faire l’objet d’une faible supervision de la part des parents; fréquenter des pairs délinquants; et s’engager auprès de ces pairs. Il existe beaucoup moins de recherches sur les facteurs de protection, mais les caractéristiques suivantes sont possibles : capacités d’adaptation et décisionnelles positives; fréquentation de pairs prosociaux et participation à des activités prosociales; aspirations au chapitre de l’éducation et engagement envers l’école; relations et soutien familiaux forts; et vivre dans un quartier où il y a une bonne cohésion entre les voisins.

Les jeunes autochtones adhèrent souvent à des gangs de rue et à des groupes « aspirants », en plus de participer à des activités criminelles moins lucratives telles que le trafic de drogues, les voies de fait et les introductions par effraction. Ils connaissent souvent des taux élevés de violence interne (comme des comportements d’automutilation). L’adhésion à un gang est associée à des facteurs précurseurs clairs remontant aux pertes historiques et culturelles, aux inégalités sociales et politiques, de même qu’aux obstacles économiques auxquels ont fait face les Autochtones pendant des générations. L’existence d’inégalités structurelles et de traumatismes collectifs nécessite une compréhension continue et représente un aspect important des interventions réalisées auprès de cette population. Tous les efforts en vue d’aider ces jeunes doivent être adaptés sur le plan culturel et tirer profit des forces culturelles et communautaires locales.

Les jeunes immigrants peuvent être confrontés à un certain nombre d’obstacles à l’acculturation et à l’intégration à la société canadienne. Ce facteur, lorsqu’il est combiné avec les autres facteurs de risque liés à l’adhésion à un gang, laisse ces jeunes aux prises avec ce qui peut sembler des problèmes insurmontables et fait du gang une option viable pour obtenir du soutien financier, se faire accepter et acquérir le sentiment de bénéficier d’un statut social et d’être respecté. La plupart des jeunes immigrants font partie d’un gang fondé sur l’origine ethnique ou d’un gang multiculturel, lequel est couramment organisé dans le but évident de mener des activités criminelles visant un gain financier. Afin d’appuyer ces jeunes, une collaboration entre divers intervenants est requise pour favoriser le développement d’identités positives et un sentiment sain d’appartenance à la maison, à l’école et dans la collectivité.

Les jeunes femmes jouaient auparavant des rôles marginaux assez stéréotypés dans les gangs. Elles occupent maintenant des positions variées et adhèrent à différents types de gangs (auxiliaires, mixtes ou indépendants). L’exposition à la violence et la victimisation sont des facteurs particuliers d’attirance vers les gangs pour les jeunes femmes, or dans le gang elles continuent à connaître l’exploitation, la vulnérabilité et la victimisation. Les efforts de prévention et d’intervention s’adressant aux jeunes femmes devraient englober les éléments suivants : créer un environnement sûr et stimulant; bâtir la résilience en vue de protéger contre la victimisation future; favoriser des relations respectueuses et positives; et lutter contre la culture des gangs qui propage des idées selon lesquelles les gangs sont un refuge.

Répercussions

Sécurité publique Canada continue de soutenir les stratégies efficaces de prévention et d’intervention auprès des gangs de jeunes qui sont reconnues pour fonctionner, selon des données empiriques et des leçons apprises découlant d’activités passées de mise en œuvre et d’évaluation. Conjointement avec les données obtenues par l’entremise du processus d’examen des documents, cette information a été et continuera d’être intégrée à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’initiatives visant les gangs de jeunes. Le travail effectué jusqu’à maintenant montre l’importance d’élaborer une approche complète de prévention et d’intervention, qui tient compte de la nature complexe de l’adhésion aux gangs de jeunes et des dimensions précises du problème pour des populations d’intérêt clés.

Source

Dunbar, L. (2017). Gangs de jeunes au Canada : Examen des questions et enjeux actuels. Ottawa (Ont.) : Sécurité publique Canada.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :