Research Summary: Illustrative Case Studies of First Nations Policing Program Models

The First Nations Policing Program needs modernization to better serve the public safety needs of Indigenous communities across Canada

PDF (104 Kb)

BACKGROUND

The First Nations Policing Program (FNPP) funds primarily two policing service models: 1) Self-Administered (SA) Agreements; and 2) Community Tripartite Agreements (CTAs). Under the SA model, a First Nation or Inuit community, or group of communities, negotiates a tripartite agreement with the federal government and a provincial/territorial government to administer its own police service. Under the CTA model, a First Nation or Inuit community, or group of communities, negotiates with the federal and provincial or territorial government to be policed by its own dedicated contingent of police officers from an existing police service (e.g., the Royal Canadian Mounted Police [RCMP]).

The primary purpose of this study was to provide an in-depth exploration of these two policing models and to discuss their respective successes and challenges. This report was not intended to be a comparative evaluation, but rather, an historical overview of the development and implementation of each FNPP model, challenges related to funding, the role of CTA and SA officers, and their respective resourcing needs.

METHOD

Quantitative and qualitative data were collected from a purposive sample of 10 CTA and 10 SA police services across all national regions.

In addition to requesting crime statistics, costing information, and number of police personnel, questionnaires were distributed to all agencies sampled to examine their respective experiences and needs. Finally, follow-up interviews were conducted with selected police service providers and government officials.

FINDINGS

Available crime statistics show that, for most communities with SA services, crime rates and the Crime Severity Index (CSI) have declined. While there is a decline in the number of criminal code incidents, this may not necessarily reflect overall workload, but rather changes in deployment as in the case of police officers spending more time on mental health or substance abuse, or public order maintenance activities that are not readily measured. The rate of police officers per 1,000 residents is 4.95 for SAs and 1.80 for CTAs (the rate for CTAs includes the Aboriginal Community Constable Program). Nationally, the rate of police officers per 1,000 off-reserve residents is 1.92 officers.

The SA and CTA respondents identified their successes in establishing relationships with the communities they serve. However, while the CTAs sampled in this study can draw upon resources from RCMP headquarters to provide detachments with technical support or information on specific programs, SA police services are basically left on their own to develop programs.

This study also revealed substantial variation in funding across services; however, it does not appear that some key indicators of police budgets (e.g., degree of geographic isolation) account for this variation. The differences in the budgets of SA police services may be attributed largely to the tripartite agreement process where each agreement is independently negotiated rather than being based on any set police performance standards. While their policing budgets are, to some extent, based on negotiations, they are also likely influenced by the availability of FNPP monies for policing services at a given point in time. In some instances, limits on eligible expenses were exceeded for a variety of legitimate policing-related reasons.

Information on the CTAs reveals a similar and on-going funding problem. A review of the funds allocated to the RCMP for CTAs revealed expenditures that are ineligible for reimbursement, but necessary to provide policing services to First Nation and Inuit communities. These ineligible expenses include overtime costs for policing such as criminal investigation activities, court attendance, or the transportation of prisoners. In the 2015-16 fiscal year, there were ineligible expenses of around $7.4 million.

The SAs and CTAs sampled were given an opportunity to provide personal accounts concerning resources and funding. Many told similar stories of the difficulties policing often large and rural areas (e.g., the amount of time allocated to transporting prisoners); limited resources; police stations in need of repair; a lack of adequate prisoner lockup areas; and inadequate housing for police officers. Concerns over police stations in need of repair, financial hardships, and staff shortages were expressed more frequently by SA police services. There was a general belief by both SA and CTA respondents that the FNPP should be making a significant contribution to the costs of police detachments and related facilities. This is a major gap in the current FNPP funding model.

IMPLICATIONS

Based on the literature review, a review of previous reports and audits, questionnaire responses received from SA and CTA police services, and interviews, the following considerations for future policy development have been identified:

  1. Establish a new funding model that provides more long-term, stable funding to police services;
  2. Incorporate funding for infrastructure into a renewed funding approach;
  3. Examine the feasibility of establishing multi-functional single space facilitates that may combine police, fire, healthcare, and social services into a single building or a common physical space to promote collaboration between government agencies within Indigenous communities;
  4. Review the impact of prisoner transportation policies and procedures on SA and CTA police service providers;
  5. Establish a partnership with other organizations to provide additional support for mental health crisis training for FNPP police service providers;
  6. Change the name of the program from First Nations Policing Program (FNPP) to Indigenous Policing Strategy (IPS) to better reflect the diverse nature of the communities served, which may include Inuit and Métis peoples, as well as, First Nations; and
  7. Assess the impact of modern Indigenous treaties (i.e., comprehensive land claims and self-government agreements) on the FNPP.

SOURCE

Kiedrowski, J., Petrunik, M., & Ruddell, R. (2016). Illustrative Case Studies of First Nations Policing Program Models. Ottawa, Canada: Public Safety Canada.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:
Research Division
Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@ps-sp.gc.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche : Modèles du Programme des services de police des Premières nations – Études de cas représentatives

Le Programme des services de police des Premières nations doit être modernisé pour mieux répondre aux besoins en matière de sécurité publique des collectivités autochtones partout au Canada

PDF (141 Kb)

CONTEXTE

Le Programme des services de police des Premières nations (PSPPN) finance principalement deux modèles de services de police : 1) les ententes sur les services de police autogérés (SPA); et 2) les ententes communautaires tripartites (ECT). Dans le cadre d'une entente sur les SPA, une collectivité (ou un groupe de collectivités) des Premières Nations ou inuite négocie une entente tripartite avec le gouvernement fédéral et un gouvernement provincial ou territorial afin de pouvoir administrer son propre service de police. Dans le cadre d'une ECT, une collectivité (ou un groupe de collectivités) des Premières Nations ou inuite négocie avec le gouvernement fédéral et un gouvernement provincial ou territorial afin de se voir accorder un contingent de policiers issus d'un service de police existant (p. ex. la Gendarmerie royale du Canada [GRC]).

L'étude avait pour but premier d'effectuer un examen approfondi de ces deux modèles de services de police, ainsi que d'analyser les réussites et les difficultés de chacun. Elle a été conçue non pas pour établir une évaluation comparative, mais plutôt pour donner un aperçu historique de l'élaboration et de la mise en œuvre de chaque modèle du PSPPN, des difficultés liées au financement, du rôle des agents des détachements visés par une ECT et des SPA, ainsi que de leurs besoins en ressources respectifs.

MÉTHODE

Les auteurs ont recueilli des données quantitatives et qualitatives auprès d'un échantillon choisi à dessein de dix détachements de police visés par une ECT et de dix SPA de toutes les régions nationales. En plus de demander des statistiques sur la criminalité, de l'information sur les coûts et des données sur le nombre d'employés des services de police, les auteurs ont distribué un questionnaire à tous les organismes faisant partie de l'échantillon afin d'examiner leurs expériences et leurs besoins respectifs. Ils ont également réalisé des entrevues de suivi avec des fournisseurs de services de police et des représentants gouvernementaux choisis.

CONSTATATIONS

Les statistiques disponibles sur la criminalité montrent que, pour la plupart des collectivités bénéficiant de SPA, le taux de criminalité et l'Indice de gravité de la criminalité (IGC) ont tous deux décliné. Malgré une diminution du nombre d'incidents en contravention du Code criminel, cela pourrait ne pas nécessairement avoir une incidence sur la charge de travail dans l'ensemble, mais plutôt refléter des changements au chapitre du déploiement d'agents de police qui consacrent plus de temps à des incidents liés à la santé mentale ou à la toxicomanie, ou à des activités de maintien de l'ordre public qui ne sont pas facilement mesurées. Le nombre d'agents de police par tranche de 1 000 résidents s'élève à 4,95 agents dans les SPA, et à 1,80 agent dans les services de police visés par une ECT (ce dernier taux comprend le Programme des gendarmes communautaires autochtones). À l'échelon national, le taux d'agents de police par tranche de 1 000 résidents à l'extérieur des réserves est de 1,92 agent.

Les répondants des SPA et des services de police visés par une ECT ont cerné leurs réussites au chapitre de l'établissement de relations avec les collectivités qu'ils servent. Cependant, si les services de police visés par une ECT faisant partie de l'étude peuvent tirer parti des ressources de la direction générale de la GRC pour fournir aux détachements du soutien technique ou de l'information sur des programmes particuliers, les SPA sont essentiellement laissés à eux-mêmes pour élaborer des programmes.

Les auteurs ont constaté des écarts importants au chapitre du financement entre les services de police; toutefois, ces écarts ne semblent pas être liés à certains indicateurs clés relatifs aux budgets consacrés aux services de police (p. ex. degré d'isolement géographique). Les écarts dans les budgets des SPA peuvent être attribués en grande partie au processus de conclusion des ententes tripartites, où chaque entente est négociée de façon indépendante, plutôt qu'en fonction de normes du rendement des services de police établies. Même si les budgets de maintien de l'ordre de ces services de police sont, dans une certaine mesure, déterminés par des négociations, ils sont sans doute aussi influencés par la disponibilité de fonds dans le cadre du PSPPN pour les services de police à un moment donné. Dans certains cas, les limites quant aux dépenses admissibles ont été dépassées pour diverses raisons légitimes liées au maintien de l'ordre.

Les renseignements relatifs aux ECT dénotent un problème de financement similaire et permanent. Un examen des fonds alloués à la GRC pour les ECT a révélé la présence de dépenses non admissibles à un remboursement, mais nécessaires pour fournir des services de police aux collectivités des Premières Nations et inuites. Ces dépenses non admissibles comprennent le coût des heures supplémentaires découlant d'activités policières comme les activités d'enquête criminelle, la comparution devant les tribunaux ou le transport de prisonniers. À l'exercice 2015‑2016, les dépenses non admissibles s'élevaient à quelque 7,4 millions de dollars.

Les répondants des SPA et des services de police visés par une ECT ont eu l'occasion de formuler leurs observations personnelles concernant les ressources et le financement. Bon nombre d'entre eux ont fait état de façon similaire des difficultés à assurer le maintien de l'ordre dans des régions souvent vastes et rurales (p. ex. le temps consacré au transport des prisonniers); de ressources limitées; de postes de police devant faire l'objet de travaux de réparation; de manque de cellules adéquates pour les prisonniers; et de logements inadéquats pour les agents de police. Les SPA ont soulevé plus souvent des préoccupations concernant l'état de délabrement des postes de police, les difficultés financières et la pénurie de personnel. Les répondants des SPA et des services de police visés par une ECT étaient généralement d'avis que le PSPPN devrait contribuer de manière significative aux coûts liés aux détachements de police et aux installations connexes. Il s'agit d'une lacune majeure du modèle de financement actuel du PSPPN.

RÉPERCUSSIONS

En fonction de la revue de la littérature, de l'examen de vérifications et de rapports précédents, des réponses au questionnaire données par les SPA et les services de police visés par une ECT ainsi que des entrevues, les auteurs ont cerné les considérations suivantes à des fins d'élaboration des politiques :

  1. établir un nouveau modèle de financement qui offre un financement stable à long terme aux services de police;
  2. intégrer des fonds destinés aux infrastructures à une nouvelle approche de financement;
  3. examiner la faisabilité de construire des installations multifonctionnelles dans un seul endroit pouvant regrouper les services sociaux, de police, d'incendie et de santé dans un seul bâtiment ou un espace physique commun, afin de favoriser la collaboration entre les organismes gouvernementaux d'une collectivité autochtone;
  4. examiner l'incidence des politiques et des procédures relatives au transport des prisonniers sur les SPA et les services de police visés par une ECT;
  5. conclure un partenariat avec d'autres organismes en vue d'offrir un soutien supplémentaire pour une formation sur l'intervention d'urgence en santé mentale à l'intention des fournisseurs de services de police dans le cadre du PSPPN;
  6. changer le nom du Programme des services de police des Premières nations pour celui de « Stratégie des services de police autochtones » afin de mieux refléter la nature variée des collectivités servies, qui peuvent être habitées par des Inuits, des Métis et des membres des Premières Nations;
  7. évaluer l'incidence des traités autochtones modernes (c.‑à‑d. les revendications territoriales globales et les ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale) sur le PSPPN.

SOURCE

Kiedrowski, J., Petrunik, M. et Ruddell, R. (2016). Modèles du Programme des services de police des Premières nations. Ottawa, Canada : Sécurité publique Canada.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :
Division de la recherche
Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@ps-sp.gc.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :