Tyler's Troubled Life - Research Summary

With targeted interventions, direct costs of up to $1.2M can be averted in the life of a prototypical adolescent offender

PDF (214 Kb)

Background

Studies have shown that the majority of Canadians engage in some form of delinquent behaviour during adolescence. While most people eventually outgrow these behaviours and go on to become responsible, productive members of society, a small portion of the population continues to commit crimes into adulthood.

Research tells us that certain characteristics increase a person's likelihood of becoming entrenched in crime. These characteristics are called risk factors. Researchers have identified a number of risk factors that have been shown to predict criminal offending later in life, such as early behavioural problems and family conflict (Piquero, Hawkins & Kazemian, 2012).

Not all individuals exposed to these factors become involved in crime. However, the more risk factors an individual presents, the greater the probability that he or she will become involved in crime. Fortunately, the identification of risk factors related to criminal offending allows us to develop and target effective interventions to reduce an individual's overall risk of becoming involved in crime.

Method

To illustrate the compounding influence of risk factors on the pathway to criminal offending, a fictional account of a young man, named Tyler, was developed. The narrative does not depict any real persons or events, but serves as an illustrative example of a prototypical adolescent offender in Canada. Tyler's experiences are used to highlight the most common risk factors that affect Canadian youth who become involved in crime, the high costs associated with chronic offending, and how such costs can be avoided if proper interventions are in place. Tyler's life path represents one of many possible outcomes commonly seen in adolescent offenders.

Costs associated with the behaviours of Tyler are sourced from various costing studies in Canada, the United States, and Australia. The events are affixed an average cost and tallied for a grand total cost of his crimes. The costs associated with Tyler's life of crime range from a court appearance by police with an approximate cost of $239 CAD to a 5-year federal prison sentence at a total cost of over $550,000 CAD. All listed costs are calculated in 2015 dollars except the Australian cost studies where only 2014 inflation data was available at the time of publication. The cost estimates considered in Tyler's narrative include only the tangible (direct) costs of crime, including criminal justice, health care, and social services costs. The intangible (indirect) costs due to pain and suffering, decreased quality of life and psychological distress are not included in the estimates due to a lack of available data.

Experiencing trouble at home, in school, and in social situations, by the age of 30, Tyler will have spent more than 10 years of his life in custody. The direct costs of his crimes total $1.4 million (M).

Tyler could have benefited from targeted, evidence-based interventions at numerous points in his life. Three possible interventions are provided in the narrative to illustrate potential cost savings by investing in crime prevention at critical junctures during Tyler's youth. These interventions include: Stop Now and Plan (SNAP®) at age 10 which could have averted a total of $1.2M in costs; the Youth Inclusion Program (YIP) at age 14 which could have averted a total of $1.1M in costs; and, Multisystemic Therapy (MST) which could have averted a total of $0.9M in costs.

Implications

Intervening early and often in the life of disadvantaged or at-risk youth significantly disrupts one's criminal career path and proves a sound investment over the long-term. This is especially true in the narrative of Tyler, whose crimes are likely undervalued as they only include the true societal impact of crime.

Source

Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Research Division. (2016). Tyler's Troubled Life. Ottawa, ON: Public Safety Canada.

Additional Sources

Piquero, A. R., Hawkins, J. D., & Kazemian, L. (2012). Criminal Career Patterns. In R. Loeber & D. P. Farrington (Eds.), From Juvenile Delinquency to Adult Crime: Criminal Careers, Justice Policy, and Prevention (pp. 14-46). New York: Oxford University Press.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:
Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Image description

This chart illustrates the escalating costs associated with Tyler's offending trajectories, broken down by age range. Tyler is a fictional character based on a prototypical chronic young offender in Canada. Tyler's story is meant to demonstrate the risk factors of criminality, the cumulative costs associated with chronic offending, and how such costs can be avoided with proper and effective interventions.

With no intervention, the cumulative costs of Tyler's criminal trajectory would total:
Age 0-2 = $20,405.43
Age 3-5 = $87,697.28
Age 6-10 = $199,069.52
Age 11-14 = $261,252.67
Age 15-17 = $510,997.38
Age 18-30 = $1,403,476.17

With the SNAP intervention at age 10, the cumulative costs of Tyler's criminal trajectory would total:
Age 0-2 = $20,405.43
Age 3-5 = $87,697.28
Age 6-10 = $199,069.52
Age 11-14 = $205,769.52
Age 15-17 = $205,769.52
Age 18-30 = $205,769.52

In the case of Tyler, an effective SNAP intervention could, therefore, avert $1.20 million in costs to society. The SNAP program costs, on average, $6,700 per participant.

With the YIP intervention at age 14, the cumulative costs of Tyler's criminal trajectory would total:
Age 0-2 = $20,405.43
Age 3-5 = $87,697.28
Age 6-10 = $199,069.52
Age 11-14 = $261,252.67
Age 15-17 = $269,737.67
Age 18-30 = $269,737,67

In the case of Tyler, an effective YIP intervention could, therefore, avert $1.13 million in costs to society. The YIP program costs, on average, $8,485 per participant.

With the MST intervention at age 17, the cumulative costs of Tyler's criminal trajectory would total:
Age 0-2 = $20,405.43
Age 3-5 = $87,697.28
Age 6-10 = $199,069.52
Age 11-14 = $261,252.67
Age 15-17 = $510,997.37
Age 18-30 = $515,740.38

In the case of Tyler, an effective MST intervention could, therefore, avert $0.89 million in costs to society. The MST program costs, on average, $4,743 per participant.

Date modified:

La vie difficile de Tyler - Sommaire de recherche

Des interventions ciblées peuvent éviter des coûts directs allant jusqu'à 1,2 M$ dans la vie d'un adolescent délinquant typique.

PDF (223 Kb)

Contexte

Des études révèlent que la majorité des Canadiens ont eu certains comportements délinquants pendant l'adolescence. La majorité des gens finissent par maîtriser ces comportements et deviennent des membres responsables et productifs de la société. Cependant, une petite portion de la population continue à commettre des infractions à l'âge adulte.

La recherche nous apprend que certaines caractéristiques augmentent la probabilité qu'une personne adopte un mode de vie criminel. Ces caractéristiques sont appelées des facteurs de risque. Les chercheurs ont cerné un certain nombre de facteurs de risque dont il a été prouvé qu'ils permettaient de prédire la délinquance future, par exemple des problèmes de comportement et des conflits familiaux tôt dans la vie (Piquero, Hawkins et Kazemian, 2012).

Ce ne sont pas toutes les personnes qui sont exposées à ces facteurs qui adoptent un mode de vie criminel. Cependant, plus une personne présente de facteurs de risque, plus la probabilité est grande qu'elle bascule dans une vie de criminalité. Heureusement, le fait d'avoir déterminé les facteurs de risque associés à la délinquance nous permet d'élaborer et de cibler des interventions efficaces, afin de réduire le risque global qu'une personne s'engage dans la voie de la criminalité.

Méthode

Pour illustrer l'influence combinée des facteurs de risque sur la trajectoire de la délinquance, on a rédigé le récit fictif d'un jeune homme nommé Tyler. Le récit dépeint des personnages et des événements purement fictifs, servant d'exemple pour illustrer le parcours d'un adolescent délinquant canadien typique. Les expériences de Tyler servent à souligner les facteurs de risque les plus fréquents chez les jeunes Canadiens qui s'engagent dans la voie de la criminalité, les coûts élevés associés à la récidive, de même que les moyens d'éviter ces coûts à l'aide des interventions appropriées. Le parcours de vie de Tyler représente un des nombreux dénouements possibles fréquemment observés chez les adolescents délinquants.

Les coûts associés aux comportements de Tyler proviennent de différentes études d'établissement des coûts menées au Canada, aux États‑Unis et en Australie. On a attribué aux événements un coût moyen et calculé la somme pour obtenir un total général des coûts de la criminalité. Les coûts associés au mode de vie criminel de Tyler varient de la comparution d'un policier (coût approximatif de 239 $ CA) à une peine d'emprisonnement de cinq ans dans une prison fédérale (coût total de plus de 550 000 $ CA). Tous les coûts mentionnés sont calculés en dollars courants de 2015, sauf dans le cas des études australiennes, où seules les données ajustées selon l'inflation de 2014 étaient disponibles au moment de la publication. Les estimations des coûts examinées dans le récit de Tyler tiennent uniquement compte des coûts tangibles (directs) de la criminalité, ce qui comprend la justice pénale, les soins de santé et les services sociaux. Faute de données disponibles, les estimations ne tiennent pas compte des coûts intangibles (indirects) liés aux souffrances et douleurs, à la diminution de la qualité de vie et à la détresse psychologique.

Éprouvant des difficultés à la maison, à l'école et dans les situations sociales, Tyler aura passé plus de 10 ans de sa vie sous garde à l'âge de 30 ans. Au total, les coûts directs de ses crimes s'élèvent à 1,4 million (M) de dollars.

Tyler aurait pu bénéficier d'une intervention ciblée fondée sur des données probantes à plusieurs moments de sa vie. Le récit mentionne trois interventions possibles illustrant les économies qui auraient pu être réalisées si l'on avait investi dans la prévention du crime à des moments critiques de la jeunesse de Tyler. Ces interventions sont le programme Stop Now and Plan (SNAPMD), qui aurait permis d'économiser un total de 1,2 M$ si Tyler en avait bénéficié à l'âge de 10 ans; le Youth Inclusion Program (YIP), qui aurait permis d'économiser un total de 1,1 M$ si Tyler en avait bénéficié à l'âge de 14 ans, et le programme de thérapie multisystémique (TMS), qui aurait permis d'économiser un total de 0,9 M$.

Répercussions

Le fait d'intervenir tôt et fréquemment dans la vie d'un jeune défavorisé ou à risque perturbe considérablement sa trajectoire criminelle et s'avère être un bon investissement à long terme. C'est particulièrement vrai dans le cas de Tyler, dont les coûts de la criminalité sont sans doute sous-estimés parce qu'ils ne tiennent compte que du véritable impact sur la société.

Source

Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Division de la recherche. (2016). La vie difficile de Tyler. Ottawa (Ontario) : Sécurité publique Canada.

Sources additionnelles

Piquero, A. R., Hawkins, J. D. et Kazemian, L. (2012). Criminal Career Patterns. Dans R. Loeber et D. P. Farrington (dir.), From Juvenile Delinquency to Adult Crime: Criminal Careers, Justice Policy, and Prevention (p. 14‑46). New York : Oxford ‘University Press'.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :
Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Description de l'image

Ce graphique illustre les coûts croissants associés à la trajectoire criminelle de Tyler, répartis par groupe d'âge. Tyler est un personnage fictif inspiré du jeune récidiviste canadien typique. L'histoire de Tyler vise à illustrer les facteurs de risque associés à une carrière criminelle, les coûts cumulatifs de la récidive, et la façon dont ces coûts peuvent être évités si les bonnes interventions efficaces sont réalisées.

Si aucune intervention n'était réalisée, les coûts cumulatifs de la trajectoire criminelle de Tyler totaliseraient :
De 0 à 2 ans = 20 405,43 $
De 3 à 5 ans = 87 697,28 $
De 6 à 10 ans = 199 069,52 $
De 11 à 14 ans = 261 252,67 $
De 15 à 17 ans = 510 997,38 $
De 18 à 30 ans = 1 403 476,17 $

Si une intervention SNAP était réalisée à l'âge de 10 ans, les coûts cumulatifs de la trajectoire criminelle de Tyler totaliseraient :
De 0 à 2 ans = 20 405,43 $
De 3 à 5 ans = 87 697,28 $
De 6 à 10 ans = 199 069,52 $
De 11 à 14 ans = 205 769,52 $
De 15 à 17 ans = 205 769,52 $
De 18 à 30 ans = 205 769,52 $

Par conséquent, dans le cas de Tyler, une intervention SNAP efficace pourrait épargner 1,20 million de dollars à la société. Le programme SNAP coûte en moyenne 6 700 $ par participant.

Si une intervention YIP était réalisée à l'âge de 14 ans, les coûts cumulatifs de la trajectoire criminelle de Tyler totaliseraient :
De 0 à 2 ans = 20 405,43 $
De 3 à 5 ans = 87 697,28 $
De 6 à 10 ans = 199 069,52 $
De 11 à 14 ans = 261 252,67 $
De 15 à 17 ans = 269 737,67 $
De 18 à 30 ans = 269 737,67 $

Par conséquent, dans le cas de Tyler, une intervention YIP efficace pourrait épargner 1,13 million de dollars à la société. Le programme YIP coûte en moyenne 8 485 $ par participant.

Si une intervention de TMS était réalisée à l'âge de 17 ans, les coûts cumulatifs de la trajectoire criminelle de Tyler totaliseraient :
De 0 à 2 ans = 20 405,43 $
De 3 à 5 ans = 87 697,28 $
De 6 à 10 ans = 199 069,52 $
De 11 à 14 ans = 261 252,67 $
De 15 à 17 ans = 510 997,37 $
De 18 à 30 ans = 515 740,38 $

Par conséquent, dans le cas de Tyler, une intervention de TMS efficace pourrait épargner 0,89 million de dollars à la société. Le programme de TMS coûte en moyenne 4 743 $ par participant.

Date de modification :