Summary of the Atlantic Youth Inclusion Program Evaluation

PDF (115 KB)

Background

Developed in 2000 by the Youth Justice Board for tackling youth crime in England and Wales, the neighbourhood-based Youth Inclusion Program (YIP) aims to reduce youth crime and anti-social behaviour by creating a safe place where they can learn new skills, participate in activities with others, and receive educational support. More evidence was needed to determine the YIP’s effectiveness in a variety of socio-cultural contexts. Public Safety Canada (PS) contracted NRG Research Group to conduct a multi-site impact evaluation of three projects implemented in the Atlantic region: Northside YIP in North Sydney, Nova Scotia (January 2010 - June 2013); Seeds of Change YIP in Spryfield, Nova Scotia (September 2010 - November 2012) and ONE Change YIP in St. John, New Brunswick (April 2010 - January 2014)Footnote1. This final evaluation summary provides an overview of the evaluation study which began in August 2010 and ended in March 2014. The main objectives of this impact evaluation were to assess whether the intended outcomes were achieved and if there were any unintended outcomes; to identify lessons learned, exploring what worked well in the program and what did not work as well; to make recommendations to strengthen the program; to assess the extent to which the program was implemented as planned; to conduct a descriptive cost analysis and a cost-effectiveness studyFootnote2.

Method

A single-group repeated measures design was implemented for each site. The quantitative component of the evaluation was based on data collected before (pre-program), during (program), one year (post-year 1) and two years (post-year 2) after the intervention. The evaluators used project data collected by staff with a risk assessment tool called ONSET, official police data and school records. Across the three sites, 83 semi-structured interviews were conducted. A stakeholder survey was undertaken at the Northside site. Quantitative analyses were exclusively descriptive.

Findings

The study found that 67% of all participants decreased their total risk between the pre and post-program ONSET measures. For each risk factor, there were always more participants who made positive changes than youth with unfavorable changes; moreover, for 8 risk factors, the percentage of participants with a favorable change was at least 40%. The risk factors that had the largest number of youth improving were Lifestyle (53%), Thinking and behaviour (49%), School and education (48%), and Family and personal relationships (46%). The analysis of risk in relation to dosage suggests that youth who participated more intensely in the Northside and ONE Change sites derived greater benefit from the YIP interventions.

Overall, the ONE Change program showed positive changes in youth grades. About 55% (n=44) of the ONE Change participants increased their GPA by 9% during the YIP, and 47% (n= 17) improved their grades by 5% in the year following the program. At the Northside site, 40% (n= 10) of participants showed a 25% increase in GPA in the year after the program. Approximately 28% (n= 32) of the Seeds of Change participants improved their GPA by 12% one year after the YIP. Across all sites and all comparison periods, at least one quarter (27%) of the youth reduced their absenteeism from the start and end of the comparison period. Attendance was higher for those in the high dosage group compared to those in the low dosage group at the Northside and ONE Change sites. For all three sites, frequency and length of suspensions increased from the program year to the year following the YIP although there were some youth with decreases in frequency of suspensions.

According to police records, the percentage of youth with a decrease in the number of times they were suspected to be involved in criminal incidents and charged (or not) by the police (suspected/charged contacts)Footnote3 was always equal to or higher than the proportion of youth with an increase at the Seeds of Change site. In this site, 50% of participants saw a decrease two years after the YIP. At the Northside site, positive outcomes were delayed to the year after the YIP (60% youth had a decrease). The ONE Change YIP saw a general increase in suspected/charged police contacts; that is, 63% of youth faced an increase in suspected/charged police contacts one year after their participation in the program. The Northside and the ONE Change youth who engaged with the YIP had fewer contacts and suspected/charged contacts per youth across all periods of measurement than those who did not engage to the same extent. The average number of suspected/charged incidents per youth was also analyzed, showing a reduction of criminal offending in the Northside and Seeds of Change sites between the pre-program year and the 2-year post-program periods. It should be noted that the average number of contacts per youth was lower during the YIP than before in Seeds of Change as well as ONE Change.

Eight of the 25 businesses (32%) who completed a Stakeholders Survey in 2013 did not experience any incidents of the types listed. When a similar survey was conducted in 2010, all the businesses reported experiencing some type of incident. According to the results of the survey conducted in 2013, there were not as many youth hanging around with nothing to do during the YIP compared to before the YIP. Eighty-six percent of the businesses who were aware of the YIP felt that the program was somewhat or entirely responsible for decreasing the amount of youth antisocial activity in the area.

The descriptive cost analysis was completed in two of the three sites as a result of incomplete data in the Seed of Change site. The average cost per participant in Northside was $11,755.45 and $5,855.56 at the ONE Change site. The average cost per hour of programming was $84.72 at Northside and $23.65 at the ONE Change site.

Implications

Progress made regarding short-term outcomes, school related indicators and criminal offending confirmed the utility of this program.  

Source

Gagnon, Nathalie and Lesley Duncan (2014). Youth Inclusion Program Evaluation: Final Report. Includes Stakeholder Survey Results, submitted in March 2014 to Danièle Laliberté, Technical Contract Authority, Public Safety Canada.

Additional Sources

Public Safety Canada, Youth Inclusion Program in Canada ONSET: A Risk Assessment Tool.


  1. 1

    The project implementation agencies were the Island Community Justice Society, the Chebucto Communities Development Association and The O.N.E. Change Inc.

  2. 2

    The cost-effectiveness study was not feasible so was not conducted.

  3. 3

    The term « suspected/charged » is used when referring to youth who were suspected to be involved in criminal incidents and charged or not by the police.


For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:
Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Évaluation du « Youth Inclusion Program » – Canada atlantique

PDF (110 Ko)

Contexte

Conçu en 2000 par le Youth Justice Board dans le but de s’attaquer à la criminalité chez les jeunes en Angleterre et au pays de Galles, le Youth Inclusion Program (YIP) est un programme de quartier qui vise à réduire la criminalité et les comportements antisociaux chez les jeunes, en créant un lieu sécuritaire où ceux-ci peuvent acquérir de nouvelles compétences, prendre part à des activités sociales et obtenir de l’aide pédagogique. Il fallait recueillir plus de données probantes pour déterminer l’efficacité du YIP dans divers contextes socio-culturels. C’est pourquoi Sécurité publique Canada a retenu les services de l’entreprise NRG Research Group pour qu’elle effectue une évaluation d’impact de trois projets du YIP mis en œuvre dans la région de l’Atlantique : le Northside YIP à Sydney Nord, en Nouvelle‑Écosse (de janvier 2010 à juin 2013), le Seeds of Change YIP à Spryfield, en Nouvelle‑Écosse (de septembre 2010 à novembre 2012) et le ONE Change YIP à Saint John, au Nouveau‑Brunswick (d’avril 2010 à janvier 2014)Footnote1. Ce sommaire d’évaluation final fait un survol de l’étude d’évaluation qui a débuté en août 2010 et a pris fin en mars 2014. Les principaux objectifs de l’évaluation d’impact étaient les suivants : déterminer si les effets attendus ont été occasionnés et si des effets imprévus se sont produits; cerner les leçons retenues en examinant ce qui a bien fonctionné et ce qui n’a pas bien fonctionné dans le programme; formuler des recommandations pour renforcer le programme; évaluer dans quelle mesure le projet a été mis en œuvre comme prévu; et réaliser une analyse descriptive des coûts du programme de même qu’une analyse coût-efficacitéFootnote2.

Méthode

On a adopté un devis à mesures répétées faisant appel à un seul groupe pour chacun des sites. Le volet quantitatif de l’évaluation se fondait sur les données recueillies avant l’intervention (pré-programme), durant l’intervention (programme), un an après l’intervention (1re année subséquente) et deux ans après l’intervention (2e année subséquente). Les évaluatrices ont utilisé les données de projet recueillies par le personnel au moyen de l’outil d’évaluation des risques ONSET, et dans les dossiers judiciaires et scolaires. Pour l’ensemble des sites, elles ont mené 83 entrevues semi-structurées. Elles ont également procédé à une enquête auprès des parties prenantes à l’emplacement Northside. Les analyses quantitatives étaient exclusivement descriptives.

Constatations

D’après les mesures de l’outil ONSET, on peut voir que le risque total de 67 % de tous les participants a diminué entre la période précédant le programme et la période subséquente à celui-ci. Pour chaque facteur de risque, il y a toujours eu plus de participants affichant un changement positif que de jeunes affichant des changements négatifs; qui plus est, dans le cas de huit facteurs de risque, le pourcentage des participants affichant un changement positif a été d’au moins 40 %. Les facteurs de risque pour lesquels le plus grand nombre de jeunes ont manifesté une amélioration sont les suivants : Style de vie (53 %), Pensées et comportements (49 %), École et éducation (48 %) et Relations familiales et personnelles (46 %). L’analyse des risques par rapport à l’intensité de l’intervention laisse entendre que les jeunes ayant participé le plus intensément à Northside et à ONE Change ont bénéficié le plus des interventions du YIP.

Dans l’ensemble, à l’emplacement ONE Change, le programme a produit des changements positifs dans les notes des jeunes. Environ 55 % (n=44) des participants à ONE Change ont augmenté leur moyenne pondérée cumulative (MPC) de 9 % durant le programme, et 47 % (n=17) ont affiché une amélioration de 5 % de leurs notes au cours de l’année suivant le YIP. À l’emplacement Northside, 40 % (n=10) des participants ont affiché une augmentation de 25 % de leur MPC au cours de l’année suivant le programme. Quelque 28 % (n=32) des participants à Seeds of Change avaient amélioré leur MPC de 12 % un an après le YIP. À tous les emplacements et durant toutes les périodes de comparaison, au moins un quart (27 %) des jeunes ont réduit leur absentéisme du début à la fin de la période de comparaison. Aux emplacements Northside et ONE Change, l’assiduité a été plus marquée chez les participants à intensité d’intervention élevée comparativement à ceux à moindre intensité. Aux trois emplacements, il y a eu augmentation de la fréquence et de la durée des suspensions de l’année du YIP à l’année subséquente, bien qu’on ait noté chez certains jeunes une réduction de la fréquence des suspensions.

Selon les dossiers de la police, le pourcentage de jeunes qui ont affiché une réduction du nombre de fois où ils étaient soupçonnés d’avoir participé à des activités criminelles et contre qui la police avait déposé (ou pas) des accusations (soupçons/accusations)Footnote3 , a été toujours égal ou supérieur à celui des jeunes ayant affiché une augmentation à l’emplacement Seeds of Change, où 50 % des participants ont connu une diminution deux ans après le YIP. À l’emplacement Northside, il y a eu diminution chez 60 % des jeunes une année après le YIP. Chez les participants du YIP à ONE Change, il y a eu une augmentation générale des démêlés (soupçons/accusations) avec la police; autrement dit, 63 % des jeunes ont connu une augmentation des démêlés avec la police (soupçons/accusations) un an après leur participation au programme. Les jeunes aux emplacements Northside et ONE Change qui ont participé intensément au YIP ont affiché un nombre inférieur de démêlés (soupçons/accusations) durant toutes les périodes de mesure comparativement à ceux qui n’ont pas eu le même degré de participation. On a également analysé le nombre moyen d’incidents soupçons/accusations par jeune, montrant une réduction des infractions criminelles aux emplacements Northside et Seeds of Change, au cours de la période allant de l’année précédant le programme à la deuxième année subséquente. Il convient de noter que le nombre moyen d’incidents soupçons/accusations par jeune a été inférieur au cours de l’année du programme aux emplacements Seeds of Change et ONE Change.

Huit des 25 entreprises (32 %) qui ont participé à l’enquête dans la collectivité en 2013 n’ont connu aucun des incidents énumérés. Lors d’une enquête semblable en 2010, toutes les entreprises ont déclaré avoir subi certains des incidents. Selon l’enquête de 2013, le nombre de jeunes flânant était moins élevé que les chiffres recueillis avant l’intervention. Quatre‑vingt‑six pour cent des entreprises qui connaissaient l’existence du YIP estimaient que le programme était quelque peu ou entièrement responsable de la réduction des activités antisociales des jeunes dans la région.

L’analyse descriptive des coûts n’a été réalisée que dans deux emplacements en raison de données incomplètes au site Seeds of Change. Le coût moyen par participant s’est chiffré à 11 755,45 $ au site Northside et à 5 855,56 $ au site ONE Change. Pour sa part, le coût moyen par heure d’intervention s’est chiffré à 84,72 $ au site Northside et à 23,65 $ au site ONE Change.

Répercussions

Les progrès réalisés en ce qui concerne les effets à court terme, les indicateurs scolaires et les comportements criminels, ont confirmé l’utilité du programme.

Source

Gagnon, Nathalie et Duncan, Lesley. (2014). Évaluation du « Youth Inclusion Program » – Canada atlantique : rapport final, présenté en mars 2014 à Danièle Laliberté, responsable technique du contrat, Sécurité publique Canada.

Sources additionnelles

Sécurité publique Canada. Youth Inclusion Program au Canada : Un outil d’évaluation des risques.


  1. 1

    Les organismes qui ont mis en œuvre les projets du programme sont les suivants : Island Community Justice Society, Chebucto Communities Development Association et ONE Change Inc.

  2. 2

    On n’a pu réaliser d’analyse coût-efficacité.

  3. 3

    On utilisera l’expression « soupçons/accusations » lorsqu’il s’agit de jeunes qui étaient soupçonnés d’avoir participé à des activités criminelles et contre qui la police avait porté (ou pas) des accusations.


Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :
Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :