Research Summary - Deportation, Circular Migration and Organized Crime: Haiti Case Study

PDF (110 Kb)

With respect to Haiti, research suggests that the re-importation into Canada of organized crime groups made up of, or led by, deported Haitian Canadians is unlikely.

Background

Like all OECD countries, Canada has a policy of deporting immigrants who have committed certain classes of crimes back to their countries of origin. This pattern of circular migration – immigration to Canada followed by deportation – has unique implications for the development of transnational organized crime. Deportation and circular migration played a central role in the development of the maras in Central America, whose origins as Los Angeles street gangs facilitated their re-entry into the drug-trafficking market in the United States (U.S.). This research report examines the impacts of forced criminal deportation on crime and community security in Canada and in the case study country, Haiti.

The report focuses on the impact of deportation on the families of deportees, and Haitian-Canadian communities. It explores the implications of criminal deportation on delinquency, youth gangs and crime, focusing on neighbourhoods in Montreal with significant Haitian-Canadian populations. The report also looks at whether the policy of criminal deportation may have the unintended effect of establishing transnational organized crime networks – as appears to be the case with the maras in Central America.

Method

A literature review was conducted to provide a summary of the academic periodical literature, as well as open source government reports on this topic. Observations and findings from the literature were organized by theme and discussed possible parallels to the Canadian social and policy context. Data on migration between Canada and Haiti were reviewed, and interviews were conducted with senior officials from Canada and Haiti.

Analysis applied insights drawn from the literature on the formation of criminal organizations due to movement between correctional facilities and release, as well as from the literature on internal migration (e.g., region-to-region within a country, from rural to urban areas) or from studies related to general international labour migration.

Findings

The deportation of permanent residents who have committed crime in Canada has, in recent decades, been a political, as well as a policy question. Canada’s immigration legislation, the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act defines who is identified as inadmissible to Canada. Violations of the Act range from very serious crimes such as posing a threat to national security, human rights abuse, terrorism and organized crime to less serious transgressions such as working or studying without a permit. Deportation of immigrants who have committed crimes in Canada has the appeal of removing potentially dangerous elements from Canadian society, some of these criminal deportees have lived in Canada for the majority of their lives and many are unfamiliar with their country of origin.

The Faster Removal of Foreign Criminals Act of 2015 (FRFCA) redefined the criteria for inadmissibility on the grounds of serious criminality as a conviction (in Canada) of a crime for which you either could have been given a sentence of 10 years or more, or were given a sentence of 6 months or more; or if there is reason to believe that you have committed a crime outside of Canada, which, were it committed in Canada, could have carried a sentence of 10 years or more. In cases where the crimes are committed in Canada, the offender serves his or her sentence and is subsequently deported.

Haitian communities have long experience with deportation, both in Canada and the U.S. and have had difficult debates within their own communities and with the social and political institutions of their host countries. The negative impacts of deportations on the families and communities are well known. A recent study on deportation of Haitians from the U.S. to Haiti provides insights on the toll on both deportees and the family members, particularly U.S. citizen children whom they leave behind. Both the deportees and their U.S.-based families experience severe psychological and financial effects due to family separation.

The international presence of soldiers and police, which has helped to stabilize Haiti for the last decade, is winding down. The mandate of the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti was extended to   October 15, 2015, but its authorized force levels were reduced to 2370 troops (two mechanized battalions) and 2601 police (UN Security Council, 2014). Their departure leaves Haiti increasingly dependent on the Haitian National Police (HNP), the country’s only security force. In 2014, the HNP was forced to call on UN military and Formed Police Units to help restore order in over a third of public demonstrations. UN military forces were required to conduct armed patrols and operate checkpoints to deter gang activity and respond to an increase in homicides due to gang violence.

The stigma and shame criminal deportees face increases their difficulties reintegrating into their country of origin. Finding gainful employment is out of reach for many deportees. Haiti is a country with a high rate of unemployment. Deportees face additional challenges due to discrimination, lack of contacts, and language and cultural barriers. Many deportees do not speak fluent Creole or with an accent that is recognizably ‘American’.

Implications

A 2007 International Crisis Group report suggested that some deported Haitian Americans and Haitian Canadians may have played a ‘bridging’ role for drug trafficking from Haiti to the U.S. and Canada, but that their numbers were difficult to estimate. Haitian officials have stated that deportees from Canada and the U.S. have been involved in criminal activities or have joined gangs in Cité Soleil and other areas and have increased the level of insecurity in the country.

Deporting inadmissible migrants to Haiti impacts the deportees, their families and the communities left behind in Canada as well as the safety and security of their country of origin on return. In the case of Canada and Haiti, the direct threat to Canada from Haiti’s gangs appears to be minimal. The risk of deportees returning to Canada and becoming involved in criminal activity on an individual basis is higher, but has less far-reaching implications for Canada’s public security.

Source

Burt, Geoff, Sedra, Mark, Baranyi, Stephen, Couton, Philippe, Donais, Timothy & Perito, Robert. (2015). Deportation, Circular Migration and Organized Crime: Haiti Case Study, 34 p.

Additional resources

International Crisis Group. (2007). “Haiti: Justice Reform and the Security Crisis,” Latin America/Caribbean Briefing.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario 
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors’ findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche - Expulsion, migration circulaire et crime organisé : Étude de cas sur Haïti

PDF (110 Ko)

En ce qui concerne Haïti, la recherche laisse entrevoir une faible probabilité de réimportation au Canada des groupes du crime organisé composés de Canado-Haïtiens expulsés, ou dirigés par eux.

Contexte

Comme tous les pays de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, le Canada a une politique d'expulsion selon laquelle les immigrants qui commettent certains types de crimes sont renvoyés dans leur pays d'origine. Ce schéma de migration circulaire – l'immigration au Canada suivie de l'expulsion – a une incidence particulière sur l'évolution du crime organisé transnational. L'expulsion et la migration circulaire ont joué un rôle pivot dans l'essor des Maras en Amérique centrale, dont les origines en tant que gangs de rue à Los Angeles ont favorisé leur retour sur le marché de la vente de drogues aux États‑Unis. Dans le rapport de recherche, les auteurs examinent les répercussions qu'a l'expulsion forcée pour motif de criminalité sur la sécurité et la criminalité dans les collectivités canadiennes et dans le pays faisant l'objet de l'étude de cas, c'est‑à‑dire Haïti.

Le rapport porte sur les répercussions que peuvent avoir les expulsions sur les familles des personnes expulsées, et sur les collectivités canado-haïtiennes. Il explore les retombées de l'expulsion pour motif de criminalité sur la délinquance, les gangs de jeunes et la criminalité, en mettant l'accent sur les quartiers de Montréal ayant une importante population canado-haïtienne. Le rapport s'attarde également à la question de savoir si la politique d'expulsion pour cause de criminalité a pour effet involontaire de créer des réseaux transnationaux du crime organisé, comme cela semble être le cas avec les Maras en Amérique centrale.

Méthode

Les auteurs ont effectué une revue de la littérature afin de résumer les articles universitaires parus dans des journaux, ainsi que les rapports gouvernementaux de sources ouvertes sur le sujet. Ils ont regroupé par thème les observations et constatations de la littérature et abordé les parallèles possibles avec le contexte social et stratégique canadien. Les auteurs ont en outre examiné les données sur la migration entre le Canada et Haïti, en plus de mener des entrevues avec des hauts fonctionnaires du Canada et d'Haïti.

Dans leur discussion, les auteurs ont appliqué les informations tirées de la littérature concernant la formation d'organisations criminelles due au mouvement entre la détention et la mise en liberté, ainsi que de la documentation sur la migration interne (p. ex., d'une région à l'autre d'un pays, ou d'une région rurale à une région urbaine), ou encore des études portant sur la migration internationale de la main-d'œuvre en général.

Constatations

Au cours des dernières décennies, l'expulsion des résidents permanents ayant commis des crimes au Canada a constitué un enjeu à la fois politique et stratégique. La loi canadienne qui régit l'immigration, soit la Loi sur l'immigration et la protection des réfugiés, définit quelles sont les personnes interdites de territoire au Canada. Les infractions à la Loi peuvent aller de crimes très graves, comme celui de présenter une menace pour la sécurité nationale ou d'être impliqué dans le terrorisme, le crime organisé ou des cas de violation des droits de la personne, à des transgressions moins graves, comme le fait de travailler ou d'étudier sans permis. Bien que la notion d'expulser les immigrants ayant commis des crimes au Canada présente l'attrait d'extirper les éléments potentiellement dangereux de la société canadienne, certains de ces criminels ont passé la majeure partie de leur vie au Canada et bon nombre d'entre eux sont peu familiers avec leur pays d'origine.

La Loi accélérant le renvoi de criminels étrangers a redéfini les critères d'interdiction de territoire pour raison de grande criminalité comme les cas où une infraction commise au Canada est passible d'un emprisonnement de dix ans ou plus ou est punie par un emprisonnement d'au moins six mois, ou encore, les cas où il y a des raisons de croire qu'une personne a commis un crime à l'extérieur du Canada qui, s'il avait été commis au Canada, aurait été passible d'une peine d'emprisonnement de dix ans ou plus. Lorsque les crimes sont commis au Canada, les délinquants purgent leur peine puis sont expulsés.

Les communautés haïtiennes ont une longue expérience de l'expulsion au Canada et aux États‑Unis, et elles ont engagé de difficiles débats au sein de leurs propres communautés et avec les institutions sociales et politiques de leur pays d'accueil. Les répercussions négatives de l'expulsion sur les familles et les communautés sont bien connues. Une étude récente sur l'expulsion des Haïtiens des États‑Unis vers Haïti fait la lumière sur les conséquences néfastes pour les personnes expulsées et les membres de leurs familles, en particulier les enfants laissés derrière par les citoyens américains. La séparation familiale cause d'importantes séquelles psychologiques et difficultés financières tant aux personnes expulsées qu'à leurs familles vivant aux États‑Unis.

La présence internationale de soldats et d'agents de police, qui a contribué à stabiliser Haïti au cours de la dernière décennie, touche à sa fin. Le mandat de la mission des Nations Unies en Haïti a été prolongé jusqu'au 15 octobre 2015, mais ses effectifs ont été réduits à 2 370 soldats (deux bataillons mécanisés) et 2 601 agents de police (Conseil de sécurité de l'ONU, 2014). Leur retrait rendra Haïti de plus en plus dépendant de la Police nationale d'Haïti (PNH), qui est l'unique force de sécurité du pays. Or, en 2014, la PNH s'est vue obligée de faire appel aux contingents et aux unités de police constituées des Nations Unies pour aider à rétablir l'ordre dans plus du tiers des manifestations publiques. Les forces militaires des Nations Unies ont dû effectuer des patrouilles armées et maintenir des postes de contrôle afin de réprimer l'activité des gangs et de faire face à l'augmentation des homicides attribuable à la violence liée aux gangs.

La stigmatisation et la honte auxquelles font face les criminels expulsés accroissent leur difficulté à se réinsérer dans leur pays d'origine. Il est impossible de trouver un emploi lucratif pour de nombreuses personnes expulsées en Haïti, dont le taux de chômage est élevé. Les personnes expulsées sont aussi confrontées à des difficultés découlant de la discrimination, du manque de contacts et d'obstacles langagiers et culturels. Bon nombre d'entre elles ne parlent pas couramment le créole ou le parlent avec un accent typiquement « américain ».

Répercussions

Un rapport de l'International Crisis Group publié en 2007 laisse entendre que certains Haïtiens-Américains et Canado-Haïtiens ayant fait l'objet d'une expulsion peuvent avoir joué un rôle de passerelle dans le trafic de drogues d'Haïti vers les États‑Unis et le Canada, mais que leur nombre est difficile à estimer. Les responsables haïtiens soutiennent que les personnes expulsées du Canada et des États‑Unis ont été impliquées dans des activités criminelles ou ont adhéré à des gangs à Cité Soleil et à d'autres endroits, faisant augmenter le niveau d'insécurité dans le pays.

L'expulsion de migrants interdits de territoire vers Haïti a une incidence sur les personnes expulsées, leurs familles et les communautés laissées derrière au Canada, de même que sur la sécurité de leur pays d'origine à leur retour. Dans le cas du Canada et d'Haïti, la menace directe que les gangs d'Haïti peuvent poser pour le Canada semble être minime. Le risque que les personnes expulsées revenant au Canada se livrent de nouveau à des activités criminelles de manière individuelle est plus élevé, mais les conséquences sont de moindre ampleur pour la sécurité publique du Canada.

Source

Burt, Geoff, Sedra, Mark, Baranyi, Stephen, Couton, Philippe, Donais, Timothy et Perito, Robert. (2015). Expulsion, migration circulaire et crime organisé : Étude de cas sur Haïti, 34 p.

Ressources additionnelles

International Crisis Group. (2007). Haiti: Justice Reform and the Security Crisis, Latin America/Caribbean Briefing.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :