Research Summary: Towards No Drug Abuse

PDF (105 KB)

Background

Towards No Drug Abuse (TND) is an evidence-based program designed to help youth reduce their tobacco, alcohol or drug use, and violent behaviour.

The program was implemented in Canada to determine if the intervention could contribute to changes in drug abuse patterns in Canada. The John Howard Society of Hamilton, Ontario implemented TND between July 2009 and September 2014 in at risk schools within the Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board and the Hamilton-Wentworth District Catholic School Board. The National Crime Prevention Centre (NCPC) provided $1,556,000 in funding for the program.

The project's aim was to target youth in schools and in the community who were at a high risk of committing crimes related to substance abuse.

The objective of the evaluation was to assess the program's ability to increase participants' knowledge of the consequences of tobacco and substance abuse, and to increase participants' social skills, decision-making, self-control and coping ability. The evaluation also aimed to assess the program's ability to reduce the risk factors associated with drug-related crimes including cigarette use, hard drug/substance use, weapons carrying, and victimization.

Method

The evaluation for the school-based component used a quasi-experimental, repeated measures between-group design. The comparison group used classes from schools that were not participating in TND during the semester. The within-group repeated measures involved the administration of self-reported questionnaires at four stages: pre-intervention (T1); immediately post-intervention (T2); 6 months post-intervention (T3); and 12 months post-intervention (T4).

The evaluation design for the community-component was a within-group repeated measures design similar to the school-based component, but with no comparison group. This type of design tests changes in the target group before the program and at various follow-up points after the completion of the intervention.

Data sources included pre- and post-intervention questionnaires administered in the school and community-based programs, 6- and 12-month follow-up online surveys, focus groups with school-based program participants, and key informant interviews with TND program stakeholders (i.e., teachers, principals, a representative from each school board, and community partners).

For the final analysis, the data from the school and community groups were pooled to allow for a more comprehensive multivariate analysis (ANOVA) that would that would allow for an analysis of how gender and risk levels were impacted by the intervention.

Findings

The overall summary of findings for anticipated outcomes is that approximately six months after participating in the program, TND participants look quite similar to the comparison group on many of the outcomes. This indicates that participation in TND is having a limited impact on the anticipated skills and behaviour outcomes at six months post-program. One exception is that on the knowledge outcome TND participants continued to have higher test scores than the comparison groupFootnote1 indicating that TND participation had a positive impact on knowledge. However, this increased level of knowledge does not appear to have been translated into similar positive changes in skills or behaviour.

Statistical tests were also conducted to determine if there were any differences between the original and modified versions of the model—findings indicated that compressing the module to fit within the Canadian semester system did not have an impact on the results.

Implications

Given the lack of demonstrated incremental impacts on identified outcomes for TND within the context provided, expanded or additional implementation of the TND Program within the Canadian context should be undertaken with caution. Although there were high levels of satisfaction with the program among students, facilitators, and stakeholders, the program would likely need to be further adapted and/or changed to obtain the intended impact among Canadian youth. 

Source

Goss Gilroy Inc. (2014). Towards No Drugs (TND) Impact Evaluation: Final Report. Submitted to: Donna Smith-Moncrieffe, Technical Authority, Public Safety Canada.

For more information on research at the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada, to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division, Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors' findings and do not necessarily reflect those of the Department of Public Safety Canada.

Footnotes

  1. 1

    At post-test: F=323.52, p<.001; at 6-months: F=8.64, p<.01; at 12-months: F=5.95, p<.05

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche : Programme Towards No Drug Abuse

PDF (105 KB)

Contexte

Le programme Towards No Drug Abuse (TND) est un programme fondé sur des données probantes conçu pour aider les jeunes à réduire leur consommation de tabac, d'alcool ou de drogues ainsi que leurs comportements violents.

On a mis en œuvre le programme au Canada pour déterminer s'il pourrait entraîner des changements dans les habitudes de consommation de drogues au pays. La Société John Howard de Hamilton a mis en œuvre le programme TND entre juillet 2009 et septembre 2014 dans des écoles désignées à risque du conseil scolaire du district de Hamilton-Wentworth et du conseil scolaire catholique du district de Hamilton-Wentworth. Le Centre national de prévention du crime (CNPC) a versé un financement de 1 556 000 $ pour le programme.

Le programme visait à cibler les jeunes dans les écoles et dans la collectivité qui présentaient un risque élevé de commettre des crimes liés à la consommation de drogues.

L'évaluation a été menée afin de mesurer la capacité du programme d'approfondir les connaissances des participants sur les conséquences du tabagisme et de la toxicomanie, ainsi que sa capacité d'améliorer les aptitudes sociales des participants et leurs compétences en matière de prise de décisions, de maîtrise de soi et d'adaptation. L'évaluation servait aussi à mesurer la capacité du programme de réduire les facteurs de risque associés aux crimes liés à la drogue, dont le tabagisme, la consommation de drogues dures et d'autres substances, le port d'armes et la victimisation.

Méthode

L'évaluation de la composante scolaire reposait sur un devis quasi-expérimental à mesures répétées d'analyse comparative entre les groupes. Le groupe témoin se composait d'élèves provenant d'écoles qui ne participaient pas au programme pendant le semestre. Dans le cadre de l'application du devis à mesures répétées d'analyse au sein du groupe, les participants ont rempli des questionnaires d'autoévaluation à quatre étapes : avant l'intervention (T1); immédiatement après l'intervention (T2); 6 mois après l'intervention (T3); et 12 mois après l'intervention (T4).

Pour la composante communautaire, les évaluateurs ont utilisé un devis à mesures répétées d'analyse au sein du groupe, qui ressemble au devis utilisé pour la composante scolaire, mais sans groupe témoin. Ce type de devis permet d'éprouver les changements au sein du groupe cible avant le programme et à divers points de suivi après la fin de l'intervention.

Les sources de données comprenaient des questionnaires remplis par les participants des composantes scolaire et communautaire avant et après l'intervention, des enquêtes de suivi remplis en ligne 6 mois et 12 mois après l'intervention, des groupes de discussion formés des participants à la composante scolaire, et des entrevues avec les principaux intervenants du programme (des enseignants, des directeurs d'école, un représentant de chaque conseil scolaire et des partenaires communautaires).

Pour l'analyse finale, on a regroupé les données des composantes scolaire et communautaire en vue de réaliser une analyse multivariables complète (analyse de la variance), permettant d'analyser les répercussions de l'intervention en fonction du sexe et des niveaux de risque.

Consultations

De façon générale, les constatations liées aux effets attendus se résument au fait qu'environ six mois après leur participation au programme TND, les jeunes obtenaient bien souvent des résultats semblables à ceux des membres du groupe témoin. Cette observation révèle que la participation au programme a une incidence limitée sur les compétences et les comportements attendus six mois après le programme. Les participants au programme ont tout de même continué à obtenir de meilleurs résultats de test que les membres du groupe témoin au chapitre des connaissancesFootnote1, ce qui indique que la participation au programme permet d'accroître ses connaissances. Malheureusement, ces connaissances accrues ne semblent pas avoir mené à des changements positifs similaires en ce qui a trait aux compétences et aux comportements.

On a aussi mené des tests statistiques pour déterminer s'il y avait des différences entre la version originale et la version modifiée du modèle. On n'a trouvé aucune différence, ce qui indique que le fait de comprimer le module afin qu'il corresponde aux semestres scolaires canadiens n'a eu aucune incidence sur les résultats.

Répercussions

En raison du manque de répercussions différentielles démontrées sur les effets ciblés par le programme TND dans le contexte donné, il faut faire montre de prudence avant d'élargir ou de renforcer l'application du programme en milieu canadien. Bien que les élèves, les facilitateurs et les intervenants se soient dit très satisfaits du programme, il serait probablement nécessaire de l'adapter ou de le modifier davantage pour qu'il ait l'incidence voulue sur les jeunes Canadiens. 

Source

Goss Gilroy Inc. Towards No Drugs (TND) Impact Evaluation: Final Report, présenté à Donna Smith‑Moncrieffe, responsable technique, Sécurité publique Canada, 2014.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements sur la recherche effectuée au Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime de Sécurité publique Canada, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution, veuillez communiquer avec :

Division de la recherche, Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées dans le présent sommaire sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Footnotes

  1. 1

    Au post-test : F=323,52, p<0,001; au suivi de 6 mois : F=8,64, p<0,01; au suivi de 12 mois : F=5,95, p<0,05

Date de modification :