Healthy Families Project and Kwanlin Dun First Nation's Project

PDF Version (218 KB)

The Healthy Families model, which is based on the Healthy Families America program, was tested in five sites across Canada: three sites in Edmonton (Norwood Child and Family Resource Centre, Bent Arrow Traditional Healing Society, and Terra Association), the Kwanlin Dun First Nation Healthy Families Program in Whitehorse, Yukon, and Best Start Healthy Families in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. The Kwanlin Dun First Nation Healthy Families Program (Yukon site) focused primarily on Aboriginal children.

Each site targeted parents with children aged 0-6 who were considered at high risk for future criminal behaviour and victimization. The aim was to reduce the risk factors associated with anti-social behaviour, such as delinquency and criminal behaviour, child abuse and neglect, poor parenting skills, exposure to domestic violence and parental criminality.

The projects utilized an intensive family home visitation program to provide parents with the support they need to get their children off to a healthy start in life. The home visits were tailored to the needs of each family and were conducted by family support workers. Each visit consists of three major components: parenting, child development and parent-child interaction. The aim was to reduce the multiple risk factors associated with anti-social behaviour, delinquency and criminal behaviour, child abuse, neglect, poor parenting skills, exposure to domestic violence and parental criminality.

Project assessment

Process and outcome evaluations were conducted. Standardized instruments were used to collect data. Administered over a 32-month period, they provided pre- and post-information on participants in the study.

Evaluation findings reported on the number of clients who completed the standardized measures in five sites across Canada. Between July 1999 and December 2001, outcome data was collected from 370 clients across these five sites. The comparison group was based on Prince Edward Island's families (n=18 control families).

Key findings

The process evaluation showed that:

More specific to Kwanlin Dun Project, the process evaluation found that:

Overall, the outcome evaluation showed that:

Lessons learned

Lessons learned included:

Conclusion

The Healthy Families Project was successful in working in partnership with parents and connecting them and their children with culturally-relevant services in their community. Knowledge about the Healthy Families model has been gained in a First Nation Community and follow-up assessments will provide useful information on how well the Healthy Families curriculum can be adapted to First Nations communities.

Early intervention programs, such as 'Healthy Families', have been found to be successful for supporting families at-risk and providing a healthy and safe environment for their children.

For more information or to receive a copy of the final evaluation report please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre at 1-800-830-3118, or visit our website.

You can also visit the website of the Healthy Families Canada at: www.healthy-families.ca.

Register for the NCPC mailing list to receive information from the Centre.

Date modified:

Projet Healthy Families et projet de la Première nation de Kwanlin Dun

Version PDF (250 Ko)

Le modèle Healthy Families, inspiré du programme Healthy Families America, a été mis à l'essai à cinq endroits au Canada : à Edmonton (le Norwood Child and Family Resource Centre, la Bent Arrow Traditional Healing Society et la Terra Association), à Whitehorse au Yukon (le Kwanlin Dun First Nation Healthy Families Program) et à Charlottetown, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (Best Start Healthy Families). Le Kwanlin Dun First Nation Healthy Families Program (Yukon) est principalement axé sur les enfants autochtones.

Le programme ciblait, à tous les endroits, des parents d'enfants de 0 à 6 ans présentant un risque élevé d'adopter un comportement criminel ou d'être victimes d'un acte criminel. On voulait ainsi réduire les facteurs de risque associés au comportement antisocial, comme la délinquance, les comportements criminels, y compris la violence et la négligence à l'égard des enfants, les mauvaises aptitudes parentales, ainsi que l'exposition à la violence familiale et la criminalité des parents.

On s'est appuyé sur un programme intensif de visites à domicile afin de fournir aux parents le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour offrir à leurs enfants un bon départ. Des préposés rendaient visite aux familles et leur apportaient une aide en fonction de leurs besoins. Chacune des visites est axée sur trois éléments essentiels : le rôle parental, le développement de l'enfant et l'interaction entre les parents et les enfants. On voulait ainsi réduire les facteurs de risque associés au comportement antisocial, comme la délinquance, les comportements criminels, la violence et la négligence à l'égard des enfants, les mauvaises aptitudes parentales, ainsi que l'exposition à la violence familiale et la criminalité des parents.

Évaluation de projet

On a procédé aux évaluations du processus et des résultats, et utilisé des mesures normalisées afin de recueillir des données. Les données recueillies sur une période de 32 mois ont permis d'obtenir des renseignements relatifs aux participants avant et après l'étude.

Les résultats de l'évaluation reposent sur le nombre de participants qui ont complété les mesures normalisées à cinq endroits au Canada. De juillet 1999 à décembre 2001, on a recueilli des données sur les résultats auprès de 370 participants, et ce, à ces cinq endroits. Le groupe témoin était composé de familles de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (n = 18 familles).

Principales conclusions

L'évaluation du processus a permis de tirer les conclusions suivantes :

En ce qui concerne plus particulièrement le projet de Kwanlin Dun, l'évaluation du processus a permis de tirer les conclusions suivantes :

De façon générale, les résultats de l'évaluation ont révélé ce qui suit :

Leçons tirées

De nombreuses leçons ont été tirées du projet, notamment :

Conclusion

Le projet Healthy Families a permis d'établir des liens de coopération avec les parents et de leur offrir, à eux et à leurs enfants, des services adaptés sur le plan culturel dans leur collectivité. Le modèle Healthy Families est maintenant mieux connu dans une collectivité des Premières nations, et des évaluations de suivi permettront de recueillir des renseignements utiles sur la façon dont le programme peut être adapté aux collectivités des Premières nations.

Les programmes d'intervention précoces, tels que le programme Healthy Families, se sont avérés efficaces pour fournir un soutien aux familles à risque et favoriser un milieu sain et sécuritaire pour les enfants.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou recevoir un exemplaire du rapport final d'évaluation, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre national de prévention du crime au 800-830-3118, ou consulter notre site Web.

Vous pouvez également consulter le site Web (en anglais) du programme Healthy Families Canada à l'adresse suivante : www.healthy-families.ca.

Pour recevoir des informations sur les activités du CNPC, nous vous invitons à vous inscrire à la liste d'envoi électronique du CNPC en visitant notre page d'enregistrement.

Date de modification :