Canada’s Critical Infrastructure

Critical infrastructure (CI) refers to processes, systems, facilities, technologies, networks, assets and services essential to the health, safety, security or economic well-being of Canadians and the effective functioning of government. CI can be stand-alone or interconnected and interdependent within and across provinces, territories and national borders. Disruptions of CI could result in catastrophic loss of life, adverse economic effects and significant harm to public confidence.

The Government of Canada uses a risk-based approach for strengthening the resiliency of Canada's vital assets and systems such as our food supply, electricity grids, transportation, communications and public safety systems.

Enhancing Critical Infrastructure Resilience

Enhancing the resilience of CI can be achieved through the appropriate combination of security measures to address intentional and accidental incidents; business continuity practices to deal with disruptions and ensure the continuation of essential services; and emergency management planning to ensure adequate response procedures are in place to deal with unforeseen disruptions and natural disasters.

Learn more about legislative approaches, best practices, and information products by referencing our Critical Infrastructure Information Resources.

Contact us to find out more about any of our programs or services.

Date modified:

Infrastructures essentielles du Canada

On entend par infrastructures essentielles (IE)  les processus, les systèmes, les installations, les technologies, les réseaux, les biens et les services qui sont essentiels à la santé, à la sécurité ou au bien-être économique des Canadiens et des Canadiennes, ainsi qu'au fonctionnement efficace du gouvernement. Les IE peuvent être autonomes ou interconnectées et interdépendantes dans les administrations provinciales, territoriales ou nationales ou entre celles-ci. La perturbation de ces IE pourrait se traduire en pertes de vie et en effets économiques néfastes, et pourrait considérablement ébranler la confiance du grand public.

Le Gouvernement du Canada utilise une approche de gestion tous risques pour accroître la résilience des actifs et systèmes intégrale tel que l'alimentation, les réseaux électriques, transports, communications, et systèmes de sécurité publique.

Résilience des infrastructures essentielles

La reconnaissance du fait qu'il est possible d'accroître la résilience des IE en adoptant une combinaison appropriée : de mesures de sécurité pour s'occuper des incidents délibérés ou accidentels; de pratiques en matière de continuité des opérations visant à régler les interruptions et à assurer la prestation des services essentiels; de mesures de planification de la gestion des urgences afin de veiller à ce que les procédures d'intervention adéquates soient en place de manière à faire face aux perturbations imprévues et aux catastrophes naturelles.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les approches législatives, les meilleures pratiques et les produits d'information en faisant référence à nos ressources sur les infrastructures essentielles.

Contactez-nous pour en savoir davantage sur l'un de nos programmes ou services.

Date de modification :