National Art and Youth Demonstration Project

PDF (221 KB)

ISBN: 978-0-662-69980-4

Table of Contents

The National Art and Youth Demonstration Project (NAYDP) was created as an alternative method for child and youth to prevent behaviour problems. The project was implemented in five sites (Vancouver, Winnipeg, Toronto, Montreal and one rural location) to reflect the diversity among rural and urban communities. At each site, the project involved 30 to 35 children, aged 10 to 15, enrolled in a structured art program, which was held twice a week during a nine-month period.

This three-year demonstration project aimed to determine the effectiveness of art programs on positive outcomes for children and youth, such as staying in school, improving academic performance, improving self-esteem, instilling hope for the future, encouraging a focus on career development, and inhibiting their involvement in negative social situations such as substance use, crime and violence.

Project assessment

Process and outcome evaluations were conducted. Data was collected from parents, children and school personnel regarding 183 children who attended the project over its duration.

The design of the evaluation was a pre- and post-test method, with a six-month follow-up. Additionally, a comparison group was established, based on matched cases from the National Longitudinal Survey on Children and Youth (NLSCY).

The process evaluation included information on project implementation, community mapping to identify appropriate locations for outreach, and recruitment strategy forms. The outcome evaluation included the collection of pre- and post-test data from standardized instruments that measured self-esteem, pro-social behaviour, conduct disorder, hyperactivity, depression and family functioning.

Key findings

The process evaluation showed:

The outcome evaluation showed that:

Lessons learned

Lessons learned included:

Conclusion

The National Arts and Youth Demonstration Project showed sustained attendance in the art programs and improvement in the children's behavioural and emotional well-being. Because they can reach children and youth at-risk, arts activities and performance can be effective ways to prevent or reduce crime with the involvement of youth at risk of drug use, dropping out of school and criminal involvement.

It is relevant to assess the impact of art instruction on the psychosocial functioning of children and youth and their involvement in drugs, crime and violence.

For more information or to receive a copy of the final evaluation report please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre at 1-800-830-3118, or visit our website.

You can also visit the website of National Arts and Youth Demonstration Project at: www.mcgill.ca/naydp/.

Register for the NCPC mailing list to receive information from the Centre.

Date modified:

Projet national de démonstration sur les arts et les jeunes

PDF (222 KB)

ISBN: 978-0-662-69980-4

Table des matières

Le Projet national de démonstration sur les arts et les jeunes (PNDAJ) est une initiative pour prévenir les problèmes de comportement chez les enfants et les adolescents. Le projet a été mis en œuvre à cinq endroits (Vancouver, Winnipeg, Toronto, Montréal et une localité rurale) afin de refléter la diversité dans les collectivités rurales et urbaines. À chaque endroit, de 30 à 35 enfants âgés entre 10 à 15 ans ont participé aux activités artistiques à raison de deux séances par semaine, pendant une période de neuf mois.

D'une durée de trois ans, ce projet visait à déterminer dans quelle mesure les programmes artistiques destinés aux enfants et aux adolescents peuvent donner des résultats positifs dans les domaines suivants : prévenir le décrochage scolaire, améliorer les résultats scolaires, renforcer l'estime de soi, développer une vision d'avenir, promouvoir une carrière future et prévenir l'implication des jeunes dans des situations sociales négatives, telle que la consommation de drogues, la criminalité et la violence.

Évaluation du projet

Une évaluation des processus et des résultats a été menée. Les données ont été recueillies auprès des 183 enfants ayant participé au projet, leur parent et le personnel scolaire en charge.

L'évaluation reposait sur des tests effectués avant et après le projet et sur des suivis aux 6 mois. Le groupe de comparaison a été établi à partir d'un groupe semblable de jeunes ayant participé à l'Enquête longitudinale nationale sur les enfants et les jeunes (ELNEJ).

L'évaluation du processus portait sur la mise en œuvre du projet, le profil et le choix des collectivités ainsi que sur les stratégies de recrutement des participants.

L'évaluation des résultats, réalisée à partir de tests normalisés effectués avant et après le projet, mesurait l'estime de soi, le comportement prosocial, les troubles de conduite, l'hyperactivité, la dépression et le fonctionnement de la famille.

Principaux résultats

L'évaluation du processus a révélé que :

Les résultats de l'évaluation ont révélé que :

Leçons apprises

Au nombre des leçons apprises lors du projet, mentionnons les suivantes :

Conclusion

Le Projet national de démonstration sur les arts et les jeunes a démontré la possibilité d'une participation soutenue des enfants aux programmes artistiques et l'amélioration de leur comportement et de leur bien-être émotionnel. Comme elles peuvent être un moyen d'atteindre les jeunes à risque, les activités artistiques peuvent constituer des moyens efficaces pour prévenir ou réduire la criminalité associée aux jeunes susceptibles de consommer de la drogue, de vivre du décrochage scolaire et d'être impliqués dans des actes criminels.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou recevoir un exemplaire du rapport final d'évaluation, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre national de prévention du crime au 800-830-3118, ou consulter notre site Web.

Il est aussi possible de consulter le site Web du Projet national de démonstration sur les arts et les jeunes à l'adresse suivante : www.mcgill.ca/naydp/.

Pour recevoir des informations sur les activités du CNPC, nous vous invitons à vous inscrire à la liste d'envoi électronique du CNPC en visitant notre page d'enregistrement.

Date de modification :