Projet de qualification des jeunes (PQJ)

PDF (173 KB)

ISBN: 978-0-662-05569-3

Table of Contents

The intensive intervention project (PQJ) to prepare young people for the transition to independent living and ensure that those attending youth centres are qualified is an initiative of the Association des centres jeunesse du Québec. The project was implemented in four regions around Quebec: Abitibi-Témiscamingue, Laval, Outaouais and Montreal. It reached 80 young people 16 or younger at the time they joined who had significant placement histories and who presented a number of risk factors.

The objective of the project is to prevent the marginalization of the young people who come to the youth centres on the cusp of their age of majority—18, when services are no longer offered—to reduce their chances of being marginalized and slipping progressively into the criminal world. The intervention project focuses on young people's personal and social development and changes in their living environment to help them integrate into society and the workplace, leading to independent adult life.

As part of the project, an assessment protocol was put in place for each of the young participants to guide the intervention. Two tools, the Profile of Youths and Their Families and the Ansell-Casey Life Skills Assessment (ACLSA), were used. Following a discussion on the results of the analysis with these tools, social workers and young people develop an action plan specifically for obtaining qualifications and preparing for independent living. The frequency and intensity of the meetings depend on the young people's needs. The meetings continue for one year after the young people have left the youth centres.

Project Assessment

A quasi-experimental evaluation (by an independent third party) was conducted to analyze the program's implementation and results. The implementation analysis aims to describe the program's components and mechanisms and to obtain more information on the characteristics of the young people being observed.

The evaluation also aims to describe the program's results and effects. To do this, the development of 75 of the 80 young participants was measured seven times during the project. The analysis of the young people's development was compared to the social workers' analysis and the documentation (young people's social records). The participants' situation was compared to that of a control group made up of 26 young people, who had never taken part in the PQJ, at the time they left the youth centres. A comparative analysis with 96 young people from the general population (recruited in CEGEPs) was also conducted.

Key Findings

The implementation assessment findings show that:

Findings from the results evaluation

Lessons Learned

Conclusion

The Projet de qualification des jeunes (PQJ) intervention definitely and significantly helped build a space for acquiring qualifying knowledge and skills, and assisted the young people taking part in the project in gaining some work experience.

The innovative aspect of the project is recognized beyond the youth centres network. The Government of Quebec has confirmed funding for gradual implementation of the PQJ to all youth centres as part of the unveiling of the Youth Action Strategy 2006-2009.

For more information on this project or to obtain a copy of the final evaluation report, please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre at 1-800-830-3118 or go to our Web site at www.publicsafety.gc.ca/ncpc.

If you wish to register for the NCPC mailing list to receive information from the Centre please visit the subscription page at: www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-en.aspx.

You can also go to the Association des centres jeunesse du Québec Web site (in French only) at http://www.acjq.qc.ca/.

Date modified:

Projet de qualification des jeunes (PQJ)

PDF (173 Ko)

ISBN: 978-0-662-05569-3

Table des matières

Le projet d'intervention intensive en vue de préparer le passage à la vie autonome et d'assurer la qualification des jeunes des centres jeunesse (PQJ) est une initiative de l'Association des centres jeunesse du Québec. Le projet a été implanté dans quatre régions du Québec, soit : Abitibi-Témiscamingue, Laval, Outaouais et Montréal. Le projet a rejoint 80 jeunes âgés de 16 ans au moment de leur adhésion au programme, qui ont connu au cours de leur vie une histoire de placement importante et qui cumulent plusieurs facteurs de risque.

Le but du projet est de prévenir la marginalisation des jeunes usagers des centres jeunesse à la veille de leur majorité (18 ans), moment auquel cessent les prestations de services, pour réduire les risques qu'ils s'intègrent au monde de la marginalité et progressivement au monde criminel. Il s'agit donc d'un projet d'intervention qui mise sur le développement personnel et social des jeunes et des changements dans leur milieu de vie en vue de favoriser une insertion socioprofessionnelle permettant le passage à une vie d'adulte autonome.

Dans le cadre du projet, un protocole d'évaluation est mis en place pour chacun des jeunes participants, ce dernier servant à guider l'intervention. Pour ce faire, deux outils sont utilisés : le «Portrait synthèse du jeune et de sa famille» et le «ACLSA» (Ansell-Casey Life Skills Assessment). Après avoir discuté des résultats de l'analyse de ces instruments, l'intervenant et le jeune élaborent un plan d'action spécifique à la démarche de qualification et de préparation à la vie autonome. La fréquence et l'intensité de l'intervention repose sur les besoins des jeunes. L'intervention se poursuit jusqu'à un an après la sortie des centres jeunesse.

Évaluation du projet

Une évaluation quasi-expérimentale (par un tiers indépendant) a été réalisée en vue d'analyser l'implantation et les résultats du programme. L'analyse de l'implantation vise à décrire les composantes du programme et son fonctionnement et à mieux connaître les caractéristiques des jeunes à l'étude.

L'évaluation vise également à décrire les résultats et impacts du programme. Pour ce faire, l'évolution de 75 des 80 jeunes participants a été mesurée à sept reprises du début à la fin du projet. L'analyse de l'évolution des jeunes a été comparée à l'analyse du point de vue des intervenants et de la documentation (dossier social des jeunes). La situation des jeunes participants a été comparée à celle d'un groupe témoin constitué de 26 jeunes en situation de sortie des centres jeunesse qui n'ont jamais participé au PQJ. Une analyse comparative avec 96 jeunes de la population générale (recrutés dans des cégeps) a également été effectuée.

Principaux résultats

Les résultats tirés de l'évaluation de l'implantation montrent que :

Constatations tirées de l'évaluation des résultats:

Leçons apprises

Conclusion

L'intervention du Projet de qualification des jeunes (PQJ) a définitivement et significativement servi à construire un espace d'acquisition des connaissances et de compétences qualifiantes et a favorisé le développement d'une certaine expérience de travail chez les jeunes participants au projet.

L'aspect novateur du projet est reconnu au-delà même du réseau des centres jeunesse. Le Gouvernement du Québec a confirmé le financement de la généralisation graduelle du PQJ à l'ensemble des centres jeunesse dans le cadre du dévoilement de la Stratégie d'action jeunesse 2006-2009.

Pour de plus amples détails au sujet de ce projet, ou pour obtenir une copie du rapport final d'évaluation, veuillez contacter le Centre national de prévention du crime au
1-800-830-3118 ou consulter notre site Internet à l'adresse suivante : www.securitepublique.gc.ca/CNPC.

Pour recevoir des informations sur les activités du CNPC, nous vous invitons à vous inscrire à la liste d'envoi électronique du CNPC en visitant notre page d'enregistrement à : www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-fra.aspx.

Vous pouvez également consulter le site Internet de l'Association des centres jeunesse du Québec à l'adresse suivante : http://www.acjq.qc.ca/

Date de modification :