Drug Treatment Court of Vancouver (DTCV)

PDF (169 KB)

ISBN: 978-0-662-05568-6

Table of Contents

The Drug Treatment Court of Vancouver (DTCV) implemented between 2001 and 2005 is based on a model for processing drug addicted offenders that has emerged in the United States and has been adapted to the Canadian context. The drug treatment courts have been linked to the growing “problem-solving approach” courts.

The goal of the court program is to reduce heroin and cocaine use in adults charged with offences motivated by drug addiction. The expected outcomes of the program included:

Persons charged under the Controlled Drugs & Substance Abuse Act are eligible for the drug treatment court program. In exchange for less severe sentences, offenders plead guilty and participate in a supervised drug treatment program which includes individual and group counseling and social activities.

In addition to the program activities, participants regularly report to the DTCV judge to review their progress. The judge provides participants with positive reinforcements for success and increasingly firm legal sanctions for lack of progress. In total, 322 adults participated in the program and the evaluation.

Project Assessment

The project evaluation consisted of process and outcome evaluations and a cost effectiveness analysis. The main goal of the evaluation was to determine if participation in the DTCV reduced charges and convictions related to drug use.

Data was collected from court staff, program staff and participants, court files and program documents prior to the start of the program, at regular intervals during the program and 6 months post program. Statistics on criminal charges, court appearances and convictions, urinalysis of program participants and interviews with staff and participants were collected.

In addition, a matched comparison group was constructed from court files based on 166 drug addicted offenders in custodial settings. The method allowed the evaluators to test the extent to which the program was successful in reducing charges and convictions for those in the program.

Key Findings

The process evaluation findings indicated that:

The outcome evaluation findings showed that:

The cost analysis revealed that:

Lessons Learned

Conclusion

Although many participants maintained patterns of criminal behaviour and substance use after the program, the data suggests that there is a modest but significant decrease in drug use and drug related crimes for those who complete the program. Participants also report that they made important improvements in overall well being as a result of participation in the program.

The evaluation of the Drug Treatment Court of Vancouver provides evidence that specialized treatment programs under court supervision as an alternative to the justice system can be cost effective and reduce crime and drug use but this is dependent on participants' full commitment to, and participation in, the program. Strategies are needed to encourage participants to complete the program for the model to be successful.

For more information or to receive a copy of the final evaluation report please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre at 1-800-830-3118 or visit our website at: www.publicsafety.gc.ca/ncpc.

If you wish to register for the NCPC mailing list to receive information from the Centre please visit the subscription page at: www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-en.aspx.

Date modified:

Tribunal de traitement de la toxicomanie de Vancouver

PDF (175 Ko)

ISBN: 978-0-662-05568-6

Table of Contents

Fondé sur un modèle américain de traitement des délinquants toxicomanes et adapté au contexte canadien, le Tribunal de traitement de la toxicomanie de Vancouver (TTTV) a été mis en place de 2001 à 2005. Les tribunaux de traitement de la toxicomanie s'inscrivent dans le phénomène croissant des tribunaux axés sur la résolution des problèmes.

L'objectif du programme judiciaire est de réduire la consommation d'héroïne et de cocaïne chez les adultes accusés d'infractions motivées par la toxicomanie. Au nombre des résultats prévus du programme, mentionnons les suivants :

Les personnes accusées en vertu de la Loi réglementant certaines drogues et autres substances peuvent suivre le programme du tribunal de traitement de la toxicomanie. En échange d'une peine d'emprisonnement moins sévère, les délinquants plaident coupables et participent à un programme supervisé de traitement de la toxicomanie, qui comprend des activités sociales et de counseling individuelles et collectives.

Outre les activités du programme, les participants se présentent régulièrement devant un juge du TTTV, qui examine les progrès qu'ils ont réalisés. Le juge fait du renforcement positif auprès des participants et impose des sanctions judiciaires de plus en plus fermes à l'endroit des participants qui ne progressent pas. Au total, 322 adultes ont participé au programme et à l'évaluation.

Évaluation du projet

L'évaluation du projet portait sur les processus et les impacts et incluait une analyse coûts-efficacité. L'objectif principal de l'évaluation était de déterminer si la participation au TTTV permettait de réduire les accusations et les condamnations liées à la consommation de drogue.

Des données ont été recueillies auprès du personnel judiciaire, du personnel responsable du programme et des participants, ainsi que dans les dossiers judiciaires et les documents du programme, et ce, avant le début du programme, à intervalles réguliers pendant le programme et six mois après la fin du programme. On a aussi recueilli des statistiques sur les accusations criminelles, les comparutions devant le tribunal et les condamnations, les analyses d'urine des participants au programme et les entrevues menées auprès des membres du personnel et des participants.

De plus, un groupe témoin a été créé à partir des dossiers du tribunal, en fonction de 166 cas de délinquants toxicomanes gardés en milieu fermé. La méthode a permis aux évaluateurs de tester dans quelle mesure le programme avait pour effet de réduire le nombre d'accusations et de condamnations des personnes inscrites au programme.

Principaux résultats

L'évaluation des processus a révélé que :

L'évaluation des résultats a révélé que :

L'analyse des coûts a révélé ce qui suit :

Leçons apprises

Conclusion

Même si de nombreux participants ont continué d'avoir un comportement criminel et de consommer de la drogue après avoir suivi le programme, les données laissent percevoir une diminution modeste, mais significative, de la consommation de drogue et du nombre de crimes liés à la drogue chez les personnes qui ont terminé le programme. Les participants indiquent également qu'ils ont amélioré leur bien-être de façon importante grâce au programme.

L'évaluation du Tribunal de traitement de la toxicomanie de Vancouver démontre que les programmes de traitement spécialisé sous supervision du tribunal en tant que solutions de rechange au système de justice peuvent être rentables et réduire la criminalité et la consommation de drogue. Toutefois, ces résultats dépendent de l'engagement total des participants à l'égard du programme. Il faut mettre en place des stratégies pour encourager les participants à suivre le programme jusqu'au bout afin que le modèle donne de bons résultats.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou un exemplaire du rapport final d'évaluation, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre national de prévention du crime
au 1-800-830-3118 ou consulter notre site Web à l'adresse suivante : www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnpc.

Pour recevoir des informations sur les activités du CNPC, nous vous invitons à vous inscrire à la liste d'envoi électronique du CNPC en visitant notre page d'enregistrement à : www.securitepublique.gc.ca.

Date de modification :