Downtown Eastside Project

PDF (1.7 MB)

ISBN: 978-0-662-69768-8

Table of Contents

Downtown Eastside in Vancouver is a community facing serious crime and social problems. The Downtown EastsideProject was launched in 1999 to address the roots of crime and victimization. This project involved many partners working in collaboration. The official project ended in 2004 and its legacy continues through the on-going collaborative work by the City of Vancouver.

The purpose of the project was to mobilize the Downtown Eastside community and build capacity among residents, agencies, and business representatives to address some of the known risk factors for involvement in crime and victimization such as alcohol and drug use, inadequate and unsafe housing, lack of appropriate role models for youth, poverty and family issues.

The Downtown Eastside Project was designed for Aboriginal people, children, youth and women who were living in this inner-city neighborhood, as well as the service providers working there. It consisted of five main components, each with specific goals:

Project assessment

Both process and outcome evaluations were conducted. The evaluation sought to assess the contribution of community development and mobilization in building capacity among residents and at-risk populations living in this inner-city neighborhood. The hypothesis was that increased community capacity would lead to more integration of at-risk populations and more opportunities for social inclusion and the reduction of crime and victimization.

The evaluation followed a participatory model. The evaluator facilitated planning with an Evaluation Advisory Committee made up of community representatives. A crime and victimization survey was administered which involved 1,281 residents and visitors. Focus groups comprising approximately sixty participants were held. Interviews were also conducted with 150 community and government representatives and 158 residents completed a community perceptions survey.

Key findings

The process evaluation revealed that:

The outcome evaluation found that:

Lessons learned

The Downtown Eastside Project generated a number of important lessons, for example:

Conclusion

Although community capacity building projects are difficult to evaluate rigorously, the results of the Downtown Eastside Project indicate that many residents felt that the Project had successfully addressed many of the risk factors associated with crime and victimization.

Overall the Downtown Eastside Project has been effective inincreasing resident's involvement in community decision-making and First Nation's participation in activities to increase community safety and well-being.

For more information or to receive a copy of the final evaluation report please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre at 1-800-830-3118.

You can also visit the City of Vancouver's website.

Date modified:

Projet Downtown Eastside

PDF (1,07 Mo)

ISBN: 978-0-662-69768-8

Table des matières

Le quartier Downtown Eastside à Vancouver est aux prises avec de sérieux problèmes sociaux et de criminalité. Le projet Downtown Eastside, dont la réalisation a mis à contribution de nombreux partenaires, a été lancé en 1999 afin de remédier aux causes profondes du crime et de la victimisation. Le projet a pris fin en 2004, mais des efforts de collaboration et de mobilisation de la Ville de Vancouver se poursuivent toujours dans le quartier Downtown Eastside.

Ce projet avait pour but de mobiliser la collectivité et de développer les capacités des résidants, des organismes et des responsables d'entreprises en vue de s'attaquer à quelques-uns des facteurs de risque connus qui mènent à la victimisation et aux actes criminels. Parmi ces facteurs, on compte la consommation d'alcool et de drogues, le logement insalubre et peu sécuritaire, l'absence de modèles positifs à qui les jeunes peuvent s'identifier, la pauvreté et les problèmes familiaux.

Le projet s'adressait aux Autochtones, aux enfants, aux jeunes et aux femmes demeurant dans ce quartier défavorisé, de même qu'aux fournisseurs de service travaillant dans ce secteur. Le projet comportait cinq volets assortis d'objectifs distincts :

Évaluation du projet

On a mené une évaluation des processus et des résultats. L'éva-luation du projet visait à établir la contribution du développement et de la mobilisation communautaires pour renforcer les capacités des collectivités locales. Le projet reposait sur l'hypothèse suivante: l'accroissement des capacités de la collectivité favorise l'intégration des populations à risque, l'inclusion sociale, la réduction de la criminalité et de la victimisation.

L'évaluation était fondée sur une approche participative. L'évaluateur a facilité la planification en collaborant avec un comité consultatif de l'évaluation composé de représentants de la collectivité. Un sondage sur le crime et la victimisation a été mené auprès de 1 281 résidants et visiteurs. Une soixantaine de personnes ont participé à des groupes de discussion. Par ailleurs, des entrevues ont été menées auprès de 150 représentants de la collectivité et du gouvernement et 158 résidants ont rempli un questionnaire sur les perceptions de leur voisinage.

Principaux résultats

L'évaluation des processus indique que :

L'évaluation des résultats montre que :

Leçons apprises

Le projet Downtown Eastside a permis de tirer des leçons importantes, par exemple :

Conclusion

Les projets visant à accroître les capacités au sein d'une collectivité sont difficiles à évaluer de manière rigoureuse. Toutefois, selon les résultats obtenus, plusieurs résidants du quartier Downtown Eastside estiment que le projet a contribué à remédier, de manière efficace, à plusieurs facteurs de risque associés au crime et à la victimisation.

De manière générale, le projet Downtown Eastside a permis d'augmenter la participation des résidants à la prise de décisions et d'améliorer la participation des Premières nations pour accroître la sécurité du quartier et le bien-être des résidants.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou un exemplaire du rapport final d'évaluation, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre national de prévention du crime au 800-830-3118.

Vous pouvez également consulter le site Web de la Ville de Vancouver.

Date de modification :