The Breaking the Cycle Youth Gang Exit and Ambassador Leadership Program

PDF (151 KB)

ISBN: 978-1-100-13360-7

The Breaking the Cycle Youth Gang Exit and Ambassador Leadership Program (hereinafter referred to as BTC) is operated by the Canadian Training Institute (CTI) in the communities of Rexdale (Jamestown) and Scarborough, both deemed by the City of Toronto and the Province of Ontario as “priority”, high-risk communities from the perspective of gang activity. The BTC is designed to address risk factors for youth at risk of joining gangs and gang involved youth. The program works with youth for a total of approximately 1000 hours over a twenty-eight week period.

The program consists of a two week intensive personal development program, a one week case management program and a twenty-five week Youth Ambassador Leadership Employment program. During the intervention, the case manager focuses on promoting social, cognitive, behavioral and moral competencies.

The expected outcomes of the BTC program include:

Evaluability Assessment Objectives

The purpose of the evaluability assessment (EA) was to assess and make a determination of whether the BTC program was in a state of program readiness to undergo a rigorous impact and cost-effectiveness evaluation. The EA objectives were to:

  1. Provide a detailed description of the project, identifying required dosage for achieving outcomes.
  2. Develop a program logic model and a narrative that specifies the theory of change.
  3. Develop SMART (specific, measureable, achievable, relevant and timely) program outcomes.
  4. Determine the program's fit with other promising gang prevention programs.
  5. Develop an evaluation plan including the evaluation design, instruments, indicators, frequency of measurements and a statistical analytical plan.
  6. Develop a draft intake/risk assessment tool to help the program systematically identify the appropriate target group.

Evaluability Assessment Methods

To achieve the EA objectives, a document review (n=190), a key informant on-line survey (n=29), key informant interviews (n=27) and a literature review were used to substantiate the findings and recommendations in the study.

Findings

  1. Target Group: Stakeholders felt strongly that BTC was reaching the appropriate target group (those at risk of gang involvement and gang affiliated/involved youth). Findings from the document review indicated that just under half of the participants were either previously gang affiliated (32.6%), or currently gang affiliated (17.9%). Just under two-thirds were previously arrested/charged (32.6%), on probation (20.5%) or awaiting trial/sentencing (15.3%). The Principal Investigator also reviewed the various intake assessment tools and found that there were many different tools used over the years that potentially increased the inconsistent identification of the appropriate target group.
  2. Clarity of Intervention: The EA documented 3 distinct phases in the BTC program and was able to identify a breakdown of the specific activities, their frequency and the overall time period required for participants to complete the program and graduate. However, a minimum dosage (at minimum, what number of hours, weeks and type of activities had to be completed to be considered completing the program) still needed to be articulated prior to a rigorous evaluation.
  3. Theory of Change: The EA provided a logic model and a clear theory of change for the program, confirming that the intensity of the interventions had strong potential to contribute to the key immediate and intermediate outcomes.  All of the BTC program activities were reviewed against activities of promising/model gang projects. BTC had 90% of the same activities as those used in the promising/model gang projects such as Boston Gun Project and Operation Ceasefire, Boys and Girls Club of America Gang Prevention through Targeted Outreach, The Spergel Model and Gang Reduction Partnership.
  4. Data collection/Documentation: The file reviews indicated that attendance information, case notes regarding program activities and intensity, proof of program completion, outcome data, and reasons for attrition were some key items that were inconsistently identified in the records. This area was flagged as needing the most attention prior to conducting a rigorous evaluation.

Key Recommendations

To increase the program's readiness for evaluation, the following key recommendations should be addressed to accurately attribute BTC initiatives to the stated outcomes of interest:

  1. Adopt the use of one standardized risk assessment tool. Utilize an evidence-based risk assessment tool to ensure the appropriate target group is reached. Clarify the project's agreed upon definition of “gang” and incorporate into the risk assessment tool.
  2. Create a comprehensive operating manual and resource guide to ensure that the core activities are clear and are consistently implemented as planned.
  3. Allocate funding to enhance record keeping and data collection activities with a focus on strengthening the monitoring of key activities and their frequency.
  4. Utilize the newly developed logic model as a blueprint for program implementation and as a communication tool.
  5. Adopt the revised outcomes in the logic model to ensure the program is measureable. Utilize the priority system in the logic model to ensure that objectives that are most likely to be addressed by the program are given priority.
  6. Continue to strengthen protocols with police, schools and health units to be able to verify self-reported changes among participants.
  7. Continue to solicit funding from the appropriate sources to increase program stability and to help plan for a rigorous impact and cost-effectiveness evaluation.

Overall Conclusions

The EA resulted in useful program delivery tools and recommendations that, if implemented, would make the BTC program more amenable to an impact evaluation. BTC could be more accurately evaluated if the program focused on consistent program documentation, use of a comprehensive manual, adopting the logic model, utilizing SMART outcomes, and using a standardized risk assessment tool. The BTC program is in line with other model and promising gang prevention programs and therefore has the potential to realize similar outcomes.

Conducting an impact and cost-effectiveness analysis would contribute significantly to the body of knowledge of “what works” in gang prevention interventions in Canada.

For more information or to receive a copy of the final evaluation report please contact the National Crime Prevention Centre at 1-800-830-3118 or visit our website at: www.publicsafety.gc.ca/NCPC

If you wish to register for the NCPC mailing list to receive information from the Centre please visit the subscription page at: http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-eng.aspx

Date modified:

Le programme Breaking the Cycle Youth Gang Exit and Ambassador Leadership

PDF (159 Ko)

ISBN: 978-1-100-92288-1

Le programme Breaking the Cycle Youth Gang Exit and Ambassador Leadership (ci-après appelé le BTC) est administré par l'Institut canadien de formation au sein des collectivités de Rexdale (Jamestown) et de Scarborough, toutes deux considérées par les responsables de la ville de Toronto et de la province de l'Ontario comme étant des collectivités « prioritaires » et à risque, en ce qui concerne les activités des gangs. Le BTC vise à réduire les facteurs de risque chez les jeunes qui sont susceptibles d'entrer dans un gang ou qui sont déjà membres d'un gang. Dans ce programme, des intervenants interviennent auprès de jeunes pendant environ 1000 heures au total, réparties sur une période de vingt-huit semaines.

Le programme comprend un volet intensif de développement personnel d'une durée de deux semaines, un volet de gestion des cas d'une durée d'une semaine, ainsi qu'un volet Youth Ambassador Leadership Employment de vingt-cinq semaines. Pendant le programme, l'agent de gestion des cas s'attache principalement à amener les jeunes à accroître leurs habiletés sociales, cognitives, comportementales et morales.

Les résultats escomptés du programme BTC sont les suivants :

Objectifs de l'étude de l'évaluabilité

L'étude de l'évaluabilité a été effectuée afin d'évaluer et de déterminer si le programme est prêt à être soumis à une évaluation rigoureuse de l'incidence et de la rentabilité. Plus précisément, il s'agissait :

  1. de fournir une description détaillée du projet, et de préciser l'intensité des interventions requises pour réaliser les objectifs;
  2. d'élaborer un modèle logique de programme ainsi qu'un exposé des faits précisant la théorie du changement;
  3. d'élaborer des résultats de programme précis, mesurables, réalisables, pertinents et rapides;
  4. de déterminer si le programme s'harmonise avec d'autres programmes prometteurs de lutte contre les activités des gangs;
  5. d'élaborer un plan d'évaluation comprenant la conception de l'évaluation, les instruments, la fréquence des mesures à effectuer et un plan analytique statistique;
  6. d'élaborer un outil provisoire d'admission/d'évaluation du risque pour aider les responsables du programme à déterminer de façon systématique le groupe cible approprié.

Méthodes d'évaluation de l'évaluabilité

Pour réaliser cette analyse de l'évaluabilité, on a procédé à une étude des documents (n=190), à un sondage en ligne auprès du projet d'informateurs clés (n=29), à des entrevues auprès d'informateurs clés (n=27) ainsi qu'à une analyse documentaire pour corroborer les constatations et les recommandations formulées dans l'étude.

Constatations

  1. Groupe cible : Les intervenants estiment que le BTC atteint le groupe cible approprié (les jeunes qui risquent de joindre un gang et les jeunes déjà membres d'un gang ou affiliés à un gang). Dans l'analyse documentaire, on a constaté qu'un peu moins de la moitié des participants avaient déjà été affiliés à un gang (32,6 %), ou étaient encore affiliés (17,9 %). Un peu moins des deux tiers des participants ont déjà été arrêtés ou accusés (32,6 %), 20,5 % sont sous probation et 15,3 % attendent leur procès ou leur sentence. Le chercheur principal a également analysé les divers outils d'admission et constaté que l'utilisation d'un grand nombre d'outils distincts au cours des années a accru la possibilité que les groupes cibles appropriés n'aient pas été recensés de façon uniforme.
  2. Clarté de l'intervention : Selon l'analyse effectuée, le programme BTC comporte trois étapes distinctes. On a pu effectuer une ventilation précise des activités précises, de leur fréquence et de la durée générale de la participation requise pour que les jeunes réussissent le programme. Cependant, un nombre minimal d'interventions (le nombre minimal d'heures et de semaines, et le type d'activités à effectuer pour qu'on considère que le participant a terminé le programme) doit être fixé clairement avant qu'on puisse procéder à une évaluation rigoureuse.
  3. Théorie du changement : L'étude a donné un modèle logique et une théorie du changement clairs pour le programme, et elle a permis de confirmer que l'intensité des interventions pouvait fortement contribuer à l'atteinte des objectifs clés immédiats et intermédiaires. Toutes les activités du programme BTC ont été évaluées en fonction d'activités prévues dans le cadre de projets prometteurs ou modèles axés sur les gangs. Le BTC comportait 90 % des mêmes activités que celles utilisées dans des programmes prometteurs ou modèles axés sur les gangs comme le Boston Gun Project and Operation Ceasefire, le Gang Prevention through Targeted Outreach de Boys and Girls Club of America, le modèle de Spergel et le Gang Reduction Partnership.
  4. Collecte de données/documentation : L'étude des dossiers a permis de déterminer que l'information sur la participation, les notes de cas concernant les activités de programme et leur intensité, la preuve de réussite du programme, les données sur les résultats et les motifs d'attrition sont des éléments clés qui ne sont pas recensés avec uniformité dans les dossiers. Il faudra donc se pencher de façon plus approfondie sur ces éléments avant de pouvoir procéder à une évaluation rigoureuse.

Recommandations clés

Dans le but de mieux préparer l'évaluation du programme, il faudrait donner suite aux recommandations clés suivantes qui permettraient de bien faire correspondre les initiatives du BTC aux résultats escomptés énoncés :

  1. Adopter un outil d'évaluation du risque normalisé. Utiliser un outil d'évaluation du risque fondé sur des données probantes pour joindre le groupe cible approprié. Préciser la définition de « gang » pour les besoins du projet et incorporer l'outil d'évaluation du risque.
  2. Préparer un manuel d'opération et un guide des ressources pour que les principales activités soient claires et mises en œuvre de façon uniforme, tel que prévu.
  3. Accorder du financement pour améliorer la tenue des dossiers et la collecte de données en se concentrant sur le renforcement de la surveillance des activités clés et de leur fréquence.
  4. Se servir du nouveau modèle logique comme plan détaillé de la mise en œuvre du programme et outil de communication.
  5. Adopter les résultats révisés du modèle logique pour que le programme soit mesurable. Utiliser le système des priorités prévu dans le modèle logique pour que la priorité soit accordée aux objectifs les plus susceptibles d'être atteints grâce au programme.
  6. Continuer de renforcer les protocoles avec les services de police, les écoles et les services de santé pour être en mesure de vérifier les changements déclarés par les participants.
  7. Continuer de chercher à obtenir du financement auprès des sources appropriées pour accroître la stabilité du programme et aider à planifier une évaluation rigoureuse de son incidence et de sa rentabilité.

Conclusions globales

L'étude de l'évaluabilité a donné des outils utiles de prestation du programme ainsi que des recommandations qui, si elles sont mises en œuvre, permettraient d'effectuer une évaluation de l'incidence du programme BTC. L'évaluation de ce programme serait plus exacte si ce dernier était axé davantage sur l'utilisation de documents uniformes et d'un manuel exhaustif, l'adoption d'un modèle logique, la mise au point de résultats de programme précis, mesurables, réalisables, pertinents et rapides et l'utilisation d'un outil d'évaluation du risque normalisé. Le programme BTC est conforme à d'autres modèles et programmes prometteurs de lutte contre les activités des gangs; par conséquent, il a le potentiel de réaliser des objectifs semblables.

En procédant à une analyse de l'incidence et de la rentabilité, on contribuerait grandement à l'ensemble des connaissances acquises en ce qui a trait aux programmes efficaces en matière de lutte contre les activités des gangs au Canada.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou recevoir un exemplaire du rapport final d'évaluation, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre national de prévention du crime au 1-800-830-3118, ou consulter notre site Web à l'adresse suivante : www.securitepublique.gc.ca/CNPC.

Pour recevoir des informations sur les activités du CNPC, nous vous invitons à vous inscrire à la liste d'envoi électronique du CNPC en visitant notre page d'enregistrement à : http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/bt/mlng-lst-fra.aspx.

Date de modification :