Research Summary: Cannabis Policy Performance Metrics

PDF (108 Kb)

Of the 45 metrics identified, Canada currently collects data to calculate about seven, some partial information on a further 17, and little to no data on the remaining 21 metrics.

Background

Cannabis and its byproducts are the most widely used illegal narcotic substances in the world; according to rough estimates, worldwide there were 125 million users and suppliers of cannabis products in 2011 (Caulkins et al, 2012).  Canada has one of the highest prevalence rates of cannabis use in the world; over forty per cent of Canadians have used cannabis as a drug during their lifetimes, and between 10.2% (Health Canada, 2012) and 12.2% per cent have used it in the year preceding the survey, 2011 (Rotermann and Langlois, 2015).

Canada is currently proceeding to legalize the non-medical use of cannabis. In light of the possible shift in cannabis policy regime, it is essential to discuss the baseline metrics that need to be measured before and after any shift in policy in order to understand whether the policy has had the intended impact on the Canadian population.

Method

A thorough literature review and examination of the performance metrics that can be applied to cannabis regimes was conducted.  The literature that was considered for examination consisted of academic published material, documents originating from governments and law enforcement agencies in Canada and internationally, and grey literature such as newspaper articles, online magazines, and non-academic discussion pieces in Organization for Economic Co‑operation and Development (OECD) countries. An attempt was made to discuss the availability and quality of data that was available in Canada to assess each of the performance metrics. Where data or proxy measures were not available for a particular metric, the authors offered a discussion of the importance to collect the data directly, as well as possible methods to do so.

Findings

The cannabis performance metrics may be classified into four categories: 1) public safety; 2) public health; 3) economics; and 4) children and youth.

Some of the metrics discussed in the paper are more precise, or operationalized, than others. Some can be implemented and measured through surveys, interviews, police records, or various databases. Other metrics are more general in their nature and should be regarded by policy makers as policy-research issues to consider exploring through directed projects. Finally, there are several metrics identified in the paper that are not currently being measured at all, and yet are important points of discussion. Of the approximately 45 types of metrics identified in this paper, Canada currently collects data to calculate about seven, some partial information on a further 17, and little to no data on the remaining 21 metrics. Table 1 below provides an overview of the metrics discussed in the paper. The full table is found in appendix at the end of the paper; it can be used as a reference guide to all the metrics discussed throughout the paper, and how they could be measured.

A number of governments and organizations could share the burden of collecting the data required to calculate the metrics discussed in this paper. Regardless who chooses to collect what information, collaboration should be fostered on the complex issue of measuring the performance of the cannabis policy regime.

Table 1: Summary of Cannabis Performance Metrics

Class of Metric

Measured in Canada?

Public safety

Usage Trends

Partially

Method of Consumption

No

Police-Reported Incidents and Charges (Adult)

Partially

Outcomes of Police-reported Offences (Adult)

Yes

Illegal Production and Cultivation

Partially

Police Calls for Service

No

Potency

Partially

Crime around Dispensaries

No (some studies in U.S.)

Crop Eradication

No (some studies in U.S.)

Grow-ops as Fire Hazard

No

Organized Crime

No

Probation Infractions and Parole Violations

No

Diversion to Other Jurisdictions

No (some studies in U.S.)

Transfer Using Parcel Services

No (Some studies in U.S.)

Exportation across Borders

No (Some studies in U.S.)

Extraction Explosions and Injuries

No (Some studies in U.S.)

Traffic Accidents and DUID

Yes

Testing Information and Law Enforcement Training

Yes

Public Health

Medical Marijuana Industry

Partially

Use of Other Licit and Illicit Drugs

No (some studies in U.S.)

Overdose

No

Emergency Room Visits and Hospital Treatment Admissions

Yes

Issues of Dependency and Abuse of Cannabis

Yes

Treatment Admissions

Partially

Respiratory Effects Smoking Cannabis

Partially

Cancer

Partially

Cardiovascular Health

Partially

Pregnancy and Reproductive Health

Partially

Mental Health

Partially

Athletic Performance

Partially

Healthcare Costs

Partially

Economics

Value of Electricity Used by Grow-Ops

Partially

Market Origin

Very limited

Sharing and Sale by  Users

No

Pricing

Partially

Economic Impact of Legalization

No (some studies in U.S.)

Real Estate Market

No (some studies in U.S.)

Impact on Productivity

No (some studies in U.S.)

Environmental Impact

Very limited

Grow-op Technology

No (some studies in U.S.)

Juveniles and Youth

Usage trends among Youth

Partially

Police-Reported Incidents and Charges (Youth)

Yes

Youth Court

Yes

School Performance

No (some studies in U.S.)

Homeless Youth

Partially

Collection of data to develop metrics is expensive and would require both initial and continuous funding. Funds generated from any changes in cannabis policy regimes, for example from sales taxes in scenarios where the non-medical use of cannabis might be legalized, could be continuously reinvested not only into harm reduction and public education, but also into the continuous collection of data on metrics of the types identified in this paper. Considering how little data currently is collected regarding many of these suggested metrics, there is a great opportunity to make high quality research and evaluation an important part of the cannabis policy in the future.

Sources

Caulkins, J. P., Hawken, A., Kilmer, B., and Kleiman, M. A. R. (2012). Marijuana Legalization. What Everyone needs to Know. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, Inc.

Health Canada. (2012). Canadian Alcohol and Drug Use Monitoring Survey. Summary of Results for 2012. Retrieved from http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hc-ps/drugs-drogues/stat/_2012/summary-sommaire-eng.php on October 5, 2015.

Maslov, A., Lawrence, A., and Ferguson, M. (2016).  Cannabis Performance Metrics for Policy Consideration: What Do We Need to Measure? Public Safety Canada: Ottawa.

Rotermann, M. and Langlois, K. (2015). “Prevalence and Correlates of Marijuana Use in Canada, 2012,” Health Reports, 26, 4: 10-15. Statistics Canada, Catalogue no. 82-003-X. Retrieved from http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/82-003-x/2015004/article/14158-eng.pdf on September 22, 2015.

For more information, or to get a copy of the full research report, or to be placed on our distribution list, please contact:

Research Division
Public Safety Canada
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Research Summaries are produced for the Community Safety and Countering Crime Branch, Public Safety Canada. The summary herein reflects interpretations of the report authors’ findings and do not necessarily reflect those of Public Safety Canada.

Date modified:

Sommaire de recherche : Paramètres de rendement pour le cannabis aux fins d’élaboration de politiques

PDF (108 Ko)

Sur les 45 paramètres cernés, le Canada recueille actuellement des données pour en calculer environ sept, certains renseignements partiels sur 17 autres et peu de données, voire aucune, sur les 21 paramètres restants.

Contexte

Le cannabis et ses sous-produits sont les substances narcotiques illégales les plus couramment consommées dans le monde; selon des estimations sommaires, il y avait 125 millions de consommateurs et de fournisseurs de produits de cannabis dans le monde en 2011 (Caulkins et al., 2012). Le Canada affiche l’un des taux les plus élevés de prévalence de la consommation de cannabis dans le monde. Plus de 40 % des Canadiens ont consommé du cannabis au cours de leur vie, et de 10,2 % (Santé Canada, 2012) à 12,2 % en ont consommé au cours de l’année précédant l’enquête en question (2011) (Rotermann et Langlois, 2015).

Le Canada est actuellement en voie de légaliser la consommation de cannabis à des fins non médicales. À la lumière de l’éventuelle modification de la politique en matière de cannabis, il est essentiel de déterminer les paramètres de base à mesurer avant et après tout changement de politique, afin de comprendre si la politique a eu l’effet escompté sur la population canadienne.

Méthode

Le rapport comportait un examen détaillé de documents et une analyse de paramètres de rendement qui pourraient être appliqués aux régimes de réglementation du cannabis. La documentation examinée comprenait des ouvrages universitaires publiés, des documents publiés par des gouvernements et des organismes d’application de la loi au Canada et à l’étranger, de même que des données non officielles comme des articles de presse et des revues en ligne, ainsi que des documents de travail non universitaires provenant de pays de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques. Les auteurs ont tenté d’analyser la disponibilité et la qualité des données mises à notre disposition au Canada pour évaluer chacun des paramètres de rendement. Lorsque des données ou des mesures indirectes n’étaient pas disponibles pour un paramètre particulier, les auteurs ont abordé la question de l’importance de recueillir directement les données, en plus de recenser les méthodes pour agir ainsi.

Constatations

Les paramètres de rendement pour le cannabis peuvent être classés selon quatre catégories : 1) sécurité publique; 2) santé publique; 3) enjeux économiques; et 4) enfants et jeunes.

Certains des paramètres mesurés dans le rapport sont plus précis, ou mieux définis, que d’autres. Certains peuvent être mis en œuvre et mesurés à l’aide d’enquêtes, d’entrevues, des dossiers de la police ou de diverses bases de données. D’autres paramètres sont de nature plus générale, et les décideurs publics devraient les considérer comme des questions de recherche sur les politiques à explorer par l’entremise de projets dirigés. Enfin, le rapport mentionne plusieurs paramètres qui ne sont actuellement pas mesurés du tout, mais qui semblent pourtant revêtir une importance. Sur les quelque 45 types de paramètres cernés dans le rapport, le Canada recueille actuellement des données pour en calculer environ sept, certains renseignements partiels sur 17 autres et peu de données, voire aucune, sur les 21 paramètres restants. Le tableau 1 ci-dessous donne un aperçu des paramètres présentés dans le rapport. Le tableau entier est inclus en annexe à la fin du rapport; il peut être utilisé comme guide de référence pour tous les paramètres abordés sur la façon dont on devrait les mesurer.

De nombreux gouvernements et organisations pourraient se charger de recueillir les données nécessaires pour calculer les paramètres présentés dans le rapport. Peu importe qui recueille quelles informations, on devrait encourager la collaboration relativement à la question complexe de la mesure du rendement des politiques en matière de cannabis.

Tableau 1 : Résumé des paramètres de rendement pour le cannabis

Groupe de paramètres

Mesuré au Canada?

Sécurité publique

Tendances en matière de consommation

En partie

Méthode de consommation

Non

Incidents déclarés par la police et accusations (adultes)

En partie

Résultats des infractions déclarées par la police (adultes)

Oui

Production et culture illégales

En partie

Demandes d’intervention par la police

Non

Puissance

En partie

Criminalité autour des dispensaires

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Éradication des cultures

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Installations de culture de cannabis et risque d’incendie

Non

Crime organisé

Non

Infractions liées à la probation et inobservations des conditions de la libération conditionnelle

Non

Acheminement du cannabis vers d’autres États ou provinces

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Expédition au moyen de services de colis

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Exportation à l’étranger

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Explosions et blessures à la suite de l’extraction

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Accidents de la route et conduite avec facultés affaiblies par la drogue

Oui

Renseignements relatifs aux tests de dépistage et formation des responsables de l’application de la loi

Oui

Santé publique

Industrie de la marijuana à des fins médicales

En partie

Consommation d’autres drogues licites et illicites

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Surdose

Non

Visites à la salle d’urgence et admissions aux soins hospitaliers

Oui

Problèmes de dépendance au cannabis et d’abus de cannabis

Oui

Admissions aux traitements

En partie

Effets respiratoires liés au fait de fumer du cannabis

En partie

Cancer

En partie

Santé cardiovasculaire

En partie

Grossesse et santé génésique

En partie

Santé mentale

En partie

Performance sportive

En partie

Coûts pour les services de santé

En partie

Enjeux économiques

Valeur de l’électricité utilisée par les installations de culture de la marijuana

En partie

Origine du cannabis

De façon très limitée

Partage et vente du cannabis par les consommateurs

Non

Prix

En partie

Répercussions économiques de la légalisation

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Marché immobilier

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Incidence sur la productivité

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Conséquences environnementales

De façon très limitée

Technologie associée aux installations de culture

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Enfants et jeunes

Tendances de consommation chez les jeunes

En partie

Incidents déclarés par la police et accusations de jeunes

Oui

Tribunaux de la jeunesse

Oui

Rendement scolaire

Non (certaines études aux États‑Unis)

Jeunes sans-abri

En partie

La collecte de données afin d’élaborer des paramètres est coûteuse et exigerait des fonds initiaux et en permanence. On pourrait réinvestir continuellement les fonds générés par les changements apportés aux régimes de réglementation du cannabis (p. ex. les taxes de ventes dans les scénarios où la consommation de cannabis à des fins récréatives pourrait être légalisée), non seulement afin d’atténuer les dommages et de sensibiliser le public, mais aussi pour recueillir en permanence des données sur les types de paramètres relevés dans le rapport. Vu le peu de données actuellement recueillies au sujet de nombreux paramètres présentés, l’occasion est belle de faire en sorte que la recherche et l’évaluation de grande qualité soient un élément important des futures politiques relatives au cannabis.

Sources

Caulkins, J. P., Hawken, A., Kilmer, B. et Kleiman, M. A. R. (2012). Marijuana Legalization. What Everyone needs to Know. New York, NY : Oxford University Press.

Santé Canada. (2012). Enquête de surveillance canadienne de la consommation d’alcool et de drogues. Sommaire des résultats pour 2012. Repéré à http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/hc-ps/drugs-drogues/stat/_2012/summary-sommaire-fra.php le 5 octobre 2015.

Maslov, A., Lawrence, A. et Ferguson, M. (2016). Paramètres de rendement pour le cannabis aux fins d’élaboration de politiques : Que devons-nous mesurer? Sécurité publique Canada : Ottawa.

Rotermann, M. et Langlois, K. (2015). Prévalence et corrélats de la consommation de marijuana au Canada, 2012, Rapports sur la santé, 26(4), 10‑15. Statistique Canada, no. 82-003-X au catalogue. Repéré à http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/82-003-x/2015004/article/14158-fra.pdf le 22 septembre 2015.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements, pour obtenir une copie du rapport de recherche complet, ou pour être inscrit à notre liste de distribution :

Division de la recherche
Sécurité publique Canada
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0P8
PS.CSCCBResearch-RechercheSSCRC.SP@canada.ca

Les sommaires de recherche sont produits pour le Secteur de la sécurité communautaire et de la réduction du crime, Sécurité publique Canada. Les opinions exprimées sont celles des auteurs et ne reflètent pas nécessairement celles de Sécurité publique Canada.

Date de modification :