Young Women in Public Safety Internship Program

Shaping the Future of Public Safety and Security

Jobs in the fields of public safety and security are diverse and go far beyond front-line, uniform-wearing, operational positions. They include exciting and engaging jobs in fields such as intelligence analysis, policy development, science and technology. While there’s a clear need to increase the number of young women in these important jobs, knowledge and awareness of the positions is often limited by the lack of access to information about them.

Because of this disparity, Public Safety, in collaboration with our portfolio agencies, launched the Young Women in Public Safety Pilot Internship Program in July 2017.

The pilot program targeted young women in the National Capital area and was aimed at building awareness around the range of careers available in the public safety and security field. The initiative was achieved through the collaboration and cooperation of talented and dedicated employees across the portfolio.

The Public Safety and Security Field

Text

There’s no question: women are outnumbered in the fields of public safety and security. While women make up around 50% of employees in many areas, such as policy, intelligence and corrections, they occupy less than a quarter of front line law enforcement positions.

Perceptions around the roles of men and women in these areas can be hard to change. Movies and television, for example, frequently portray these occupations as mainly male-occupied, with little room for actively engaged women in lead roles.

Young women choosing their career paths often have limited first-hand exposure to other successful women working, excelling, and leading in these important fields. Early exposure to opportunities in these domains will help young women to be more aware of the important and rewarding careers in public safety and security.

Young Women in Public Safety Pilot Internship Program

Text

As the first of its kind, we piloted the Young Women in Public Safety Internship Program in July 2017. Its objective was to encourage grade 11 young women to consider careers in the fields of public safety and security. The program increased their knowledge of the exciting careers available and provided information to help guide their post-secondary education choices.

Working closely with our portfolio agencies, we developed a one-week internship and invited 21 students to tour public safety and security organizations. They observed day-to-day operations and met with effective and influential female leaders in these institutions. The female executives who took part in the program throughout the week served as role models for all the participants.

This pilot program represented a new and proactive method of engaging young women to help guide their career paths.

Encouraging Future Generations of Women

Text

Students left at the end of the week feeling more knowledgeable and informed about roles in these fields. Many indicated that they would be applying to post-secondary programs related to the fields of public safety and security.

The success of this program benefits the Government of Canada as much as it benefited the young women who participated. By supporting initiatives like this, we create opportunities and encourage future generations of young women to enter these fields.

The Young Women in Public Safety Internship Program and other programs like it will help continue to build a diverse workforce. Not only do they create positive impacts for the lives of young women who participate, they also help to shape the future of public safety and security in Canada.

Date modified:

Programme pilote de stages Jeunes femmes en sécurité publique

Façonner l’avenir de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique

Programme pilote de stages, Jeunes femmes en sécurité publique

Les emplois dans le domaine de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique sont diversifiés et vont au-delà des postes opérationnels de première ligne nécessitant le port d’un uniforme. Ils comprennent des emplois intéressants et stimulants dans des domaines comme l’analyse du renseignement, l’élaboration de politiques, la science et la technologie. Il est manifestement clair qu’il faut augmenter le nombre de femmes dans ces emplois importants, mais la sensibilisation à ces emplois et les connaissances à ce sujet sont limitées en raison de l’absence d’un accès à l’information requise.

En raison de cette disparité, Sécurité publique Canada, en collaboration avec les organismes du Portefeuille, a lancé le Programme pilote de stages, Jeunes femmes en sécurité publique, en juillet 2017.

Le programme pilote visait les jeunes femmes de la région de la capitale  nationale et avait pour objectif de les sensibiliser à l’éventail de carrières disponibles dans le domaine de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique. L’initiative a été réalisée grâce à la collaboration d’employés talentueux et dévoués à l’échelle du Portefeuille.

Le domaine de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique

Text

C’est clair : les femmes sont moins nombreuses dans le domaine de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique. Alors que les femmes représentent environ 50 % des employés dans plusieurs domaines, comme les politiques, le renseignement et les services correctionnels, elles occupent moins du quart des postes de première ligne d’application de la loi.

Les perceptions au sujet des rôles des femmes et des hommes dans ce domaine sont difficiles à changer. Dans les films et les émissions de télévision, par exemple, ces emplois sont généralement occupés par des hommes, et il y a peu de place pour les femmes activement engagées dans des rôles importants.

Les jeunes femmes qui font un choix de carrière ont un contact direct limité avec d’autres femmes qui ont fait leurs preuves, qui excellent et qui jouent un rôle de premier plan dans ces domaines importants. L’exposition précoce aux possibilités dans ces domaines aidera les jeunes femmes à découvrir des carrières importantes et enrichissantes dans le domaine de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique.

Programme pilote de stages, Jeunes femmes en sécurité publique

Text

Premier de son genre au Canada, le Programme pilote de stages, Jeunes femmes en sécurité publique a été mis en œuvre en juillet 2017. Il avait pour objectif d’encourager les jeunes filles de 11e année à envisager une carrière dans les domaines de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique. Le programme a aidé les jeunes étudiantes à accroître leurs connaissances au sujet des carrières stimulantes qui sont disponibles pour aider à orienter leurs choix en matière d’éducation postsecondaire.

En étroite collaboration avec les organismes du Portefeuille, nous avons établi un stage d’une semaine et nous avons invité 21 étudiantes à visiter les organisations de sûreté et de sécurité publique. Celles-ci ont observé les activités courantes et ont rencontré des femmes chefs de fil influentes dans ces organisations. Les femmes cadres supérieurs qui ont pris part au programme au cours de la semaine ont servi de modèle à toutes les participantes.

Le programme pilote représentait une nouvelle méthode proactive d’engager les jeunes femmes pour orienter leur cheminement professionnel.

Encourager les générations futures des femmes

Text

À la fin de la semaine, les étudiantes comprenaient mieux les rôles dans ces domaines. Plusieurs ont dit qu’elles devraient s’inscrire à des programmes d’études postsecondaires dans les domaines de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique.

La réussite du programme est bénéfique tant pour le gouvernement du Canada que pour les jeunes femmes qui y ont participé. En appuyant de telles initiatives, nous créons des possibilités et nous encourageons les  générations futures de jeunes femmes à travailler dans ces domaines.

Le Programme de stages, Jeunes femmes en sécurité publique, et d’autres programmes semblables nous aideront à bâtir une main-d’oeuvre diversifiée. Non seulement ils entraînent des conséquences positives dans la vie des jeunes femmes qui y prennent part, mais ils aident aussi à façonner l’avenir de la sûreté et de la sécurité publique au Canada.

Date de modification :