Public Safety Canada’s Policy on Providing Guidance on Regulatory Requirements

Departmental Context

The Public Safety Portfolio plays a key role in discharging the Government's fundamental responsibility for the safety and security of its citizens. Legislation governing the Department sets out two essential roles: (i) support the Minister's responsibility for all matters, except those assigned to another federal minister, related to public safety and emergency management including national leadership and (ii) coordinate the efforts of Public Safety's Portfolio agencies as well as provide guidance on their strategic priorities.

The Public Safety Portfolio encompasses nine distinct organizations which directly contribute to the safety and security of Canadians. While portfolio agencies deliver public security operations according to their individual mandates, Public Safety Canada (PS), in its portfolio coordination role, brings strategic focus to the overall safety and security agenda.

The Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness has a wide range of responsibilities under many different statutes, some of which are administered by PS, while others are administered by portfolio agencies. Particularly with respect to firearms, this is an area of shared responsibility. The Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness is the lead minister responsible for firearms policy, including the firearms legislative and regulatory framework; whereas the Minister of Justice is responsible for the firearms-related penalty provisions of the Criminal Code and the criteria defining the classification of firearms. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) Canadian Firearms Program (CFP) is responsible for the administration of the Firearms Act and its related Regulations.

The Department is committed to ensuring all stakeholders, including the general public, understand the need to comply with federal regulatory requirements. It provides clear and consistent information on how regulatory compliance guidance is communicated.

Building an awareness of regulatory requirements

When considering new regulations, or amending existing ones, PS engages with stakeholders and the public in a variety of ways. This could include meetings, the Consulting with Canadians website, the Forward Regulatory Plan, the Regulatory Stock Review Plan, the Cross-Cultural Roundtable on Security, pre-publication in the Canada Gazette, as well as open consultations, news releases and Ministerial statements which are posted on the Department's website.

Guidance documentation and other relevant information can be accessed on the PS Portfolio websites. While much of the work of the Department involves use of complex legal and technical information, PS is committed to ensuring, to the greatest extent possible, that regulations and policies are drafted in plain language to enable Canadians to meet regulatory requirements, consistent with the Cabinet Directive on Regulation.

Responding to enquiries

As per Government of Canada’s Policy on Communications and Federal Identity, PS responds to general enquiries in a clear, consistent, and professional manner, in the official language of choice and generally in the form that enquiries are made, whether orally or in writing. Enquiries regarding specific situations or concerns are responded to in a timely manner with a focus on being as informative as possible. Responses to recurring enquiries are often included in Frequently asked Questions (FAQs) published on the Department’s website.

For privacy and security reasons, Public Safety Canada does not accept personal information (e.g. SIN numbers, banking details, personal details of other individuals, attachments, offensive language, etc.) by email.

Commitment to professional Service

PS commits to excellence and accountability in service when dealing with all stakeholders, by providing professional, courteous and respectful service.

PS commits to ensuring that staff responding to enquiries have the necessary skills and technical knowledge to provide quality service and accurate information on regulatory requirements.

Stakeholder Engagement

PS uses feedback from stakeholders received during the regulatory consultation process to plan and prepare materials and activities to promote regulatory compliance, where appropriate. In addition to regulatory consultations, PS may engage stakeholders through mechanisms such as advisory committees, roundtables, online consultations and, where feasible and appropriate, meetings with regulated parties and stakeholders. PS analyzes enquiries and comments received from stakeholders to better adapt its materials to their needs.

For example, the Cross-Cultural Roundtable on Security (CCRS) was created to engage Canadians and the Government of Canada in a long-term dialogue on matters related to national security. The Roundtable brings together citizens who are leaders in their respective communities and who have extensive experience in social and cultural matters. It focuses on emerging developments in national security matters and their impact on Canada's diverse and pluralistic society.

The group provides advice and perspectives to the Minister of Public Safety Canada and the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, concerning matters of national security.

Date of last revision

This policy was last updated in June 2019.


For more information

Date modified:

Politique sur la prestation de lignes directrices sur les exigences réglementaires de Sécurité publique Canada

Contexte ministériel

Le portefeuille de la Sécurité publique joue un rôle de premier plan en assumant la responsabilité fondamentale du gouvernement en ce qui a trait à la sécurité de ses citoyens. La législation régissant le Ministère établit deux rôles essentiels pour celui-ci : (i) soutenir le ministre dans ses responsabilités pour toutes questions relatives à la sécurité publique et à la gestion des urgences, à l’exception de celles attribuées à un autre ministre fédéral, y compris celles de leadership national et (ii) coordonner les efforts des organismes du portefeuille de Sécurité publique ainsi qu’offrir des orientations quant à leurs priorités stratégiques.

Le portefeuille de la Sécurité publique compte neuf organismes distincts qui contribuent directement à la sécurité des Canadiens. Bien que les organismes du portefeuille mènent des activités liées à la sécurité publique dans le respect de leurs mandats respectifs, Sécurité publique Canada (SP), à titre de coordonnateur du portefeuille, assure la perspective stratégique du programme global de sécurité.

Le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile a une vaste gamme de responsabilités en vertu de nombreux textes de loi; certains de ces textes de loi sont administrés par SP et d’autres, par des organismes du portefeuille. En particulier, les armes à feu sont un domaine de responsabilité partagée. Le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile est le principal ministre responsable de la politique sur les armes à feu, y compris du cadre législatif et réglementaire sur les armes à feu, tandis que le ministre de la Justice est responsable des dispositions du Code criminel relatives aux sanctions portant sur les armes à feu et des critères de définition de la classification des armes à feu. Le Programme canadien des armes à feu (PCAF) de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) est responsable de l’administration de la Loi sur les armes à feu et de ses règlements connexes.

Le Ministère est déterminé à faire en sorte que tous les intervenants, y compris le grand public, comprennent la nécessité de respecter les exigences réglementaires du gouvernement fédéral. Il fournit des renseignements clairs et uniformes sur la façon dont les directives en matière de conformité aux règlements sont communiquées.

Sensibilisation aux exigences réglementaires

Lorsqu’il envisage d’adopter de nouveaux règlements, ou qu’il modifie des règlements existants, SP collabore avec les intervenants et le public de différentes façons, notamment les suivantes : les réunions, le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens, le Plan prospectif de la réglementation, le Plan d’examen de l’inventaire des règlements, la Table ronde transculturelle sur la sécurité, la publication préalable dans la Gazette du Canada, ainsi que les consultations ouvertes, les communiqués de presse et les déclarations ministérielles qui sont publiés sur le site Web du Ministère.

Des documents d’orientation et d’autres renseignements pertinents peuvent être consultés sur les sites Web du portefeuille de SP. Bien que la plupart des travaux réalisés par le Ministère supposent l’utilisation de renseignements juridiques et techniques complexes, SP est résolu à veiller, dans la mesure du possible, à ce que les règlements et les politiques soient rédigés en langage clair, et ce, dans le but de permettre aux Canadiens de respecter les exigences réglementaires, conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur la réglementation.

Réponse aux demandes de renseignements

Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l’image de marque, SP répond aux demandes de renseignements de façon claire, uniforme et professionnelle dans la langue officielle privilégiée et généralement de la même manière que la demande de renseignements, soit à l’oral ou à l’écrit. Les demandes de renseignements au sujet de situations ou de préoccupations particulières sont traitées en temps opportun, et l’accent est mis sur le fait d’être aussi informatif que possible. Les réponses aux demandes de renseignements récurrentes sont souvent incluses dans la Foire aux questions (FAQ) sur le site Web du Ministère.

Pour des raisons de confidentialité et de sécurité, Sécurité publique Canada n’accepte aucun renseignement personnel (p. ex. NAS, renseignements bancaires, renseignements personnels d’un tiers, pièces jointes, propos offensants, etc.) par courriel.

Engagement à fournir un service professionnel

SP s’engage à tendre vers l’excellence et la responsabilité dans la prestation de services à tous les intervenants, c’est-à-dire qu’il offre des services de manière professionnelle, courtoise et respectueuse.

SP s’engage à s’assurer que son personnel qui répond aux demandes de renseignements a les compétences et les connaissances techniques nécessaires pour fournir un service de qualité et des renseignements exacts sur les exigences réglementaires.

Mobilisation des intervenants

SP se sert des commentaires qu’il reçoit des intervenants pendant le processus de consultation réglementaire pour prévoir et préparer les documents et les activités visant à promouvoir la conformité avec la réglementation, au besoin. En plus des consultations, SP peut faire participer les intervenants au moyen de mécanismes comme les comités consultatifs, les groupes de discussion, les consultations en ligne et, lorsque cela est possible et approprié, les réunions avec les parties réglementées et les intervenants. SP analyse les demandes de renseignements et les commentaires reçus des intervenants pour mieux adapter ses documents à leurs besoins.

Par exemple, la Table ronde transculturelle sur la sécurité (TRTS) a été mise sur pied pour susciter un dialogue à long terme entre les Canadiens et le gouvernement du Canada sur les enjeux liés à la sécurité nationale. La Table ronde réunit des citoyens qui sont des chefs de file dans leurs communautés respectives et qui ont une vaste expérience des questions sociales et culturelles. Elle se penche essentiellement sur les nouveaux développements en matière de sécurité nationale et leurs répercussions sur la société diversifiée et pluraliste du Canada.

Le groupe donne des conseils et fait part de points de vue au ministre de la Sécurité publique du Canada et au ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada en ce qui a trait aux questions de sécurité nationale.

Date de la dernière révision

La dernière mise à jour de la politique remonte à juin 2019.


Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Date de modification :