Government of Canada Announces New National Cyber Security Strategy and the Creation of the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security

Update on the Creation of the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security

Number: IN18-003 - Update
Date: 26 September 2018

Purpose

To provide an update on the Government of Canada announcement of the creation of the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security.

Previous Assessment

As previously communicated through CCIRC IN18-003, the Government of Canada announced as part of Budget 2018 the creation of the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security (the Cyber Centre). The Cyber Centre will consolidate the work of Public Safety Canada’s Canadian Cyber Incident Response Centre (CCIRC), the GetCyberSafe public awareness campaign, Shared Services Canada’s Security Operations Centre and the Communications Security Establishment’s Information Technology Security branch.  The Cyber Centre will be housed within the Communications Security Establishment.

Updated Information

The Cyber Centre will officially stand up on October 1, 2018.  What this means for CCIRC and its partners:

  • On October 1, 2018, CCIRC will be transferred from Public Safety Canada to the Communications Security Establishment and become part of the Cyber Centre.  To ensure continuity of services, that transfer will include all existing functions, enabling infrastructure, and mission systems and data of CCIRC.
  • CCIRC’s products, services and partnerships will continue post October 1, as part of the work of the Cyber Centre.
  • All CCIRC inboxes, telephone numbers, and other intake mechanisms will continue to be valid and monitored post October 1.  All communications to those mechanisms will go to and be handled by the Cyber Centre.
  • Beginning in October 2018, partners can expect changes in the look and feel and the delivery mechanisms for products from what was formerly CCIRC.

Suggested Action

Partners are invited to review the new National Cyber Security Strategy and announcements regarding the creation of the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security.

We encourage all of our partners to continue working with and reporting to CCIRC, soon to be part of the new Cyber Centre, per their standard operating procedures.

More information regarding the Cyber Centre is to come in the following months.  We invite partners to reach out to us through existing mechanisms should there be any questions.

References

https://www.canada.ca/en/public-safety-canada/news/2018/06/new-cyber-security-strategy-bolsters-cyber-safety-innovation-and-prosperity.html

Number: IN18-003
Date: 12 June 2018

Purpose

Government of Canada Announces New National Cyber Security Strategy and the Creation of the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security

Assessment

Digital technologies and the internet are increasingly important for innovation and economic growth and strong cyber security is critical to Canada’s competitiveness, economic stability and long-term prosperity.  To that end, the National Cyber Security Strategy (the Strategy) is designed to adapt and provide the Government of Canada and its partners continued growth and prosperity in the sector even as technologies and threats evolve. 

The Strategy includes numerous initiatives, key among them being: a consolidated centre of cyber security operations, the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security (Cyber Centre). The new Cyber Centre will consolidate the work of Public Safety Canada’s Canadian Cyber Incident Response Centre (CCIRC), the GetCyberSafe public awareness campaign, Shared Services Canada’s Security Operations Centre and the Communication Security Establishment’s (CSE) Information Technology Security branch, under CSE.
Instead of several different departments, the Cyber Centre will provide a single window for expert advice and services for governments, critical infrastructure operators, the public and the private sector to strengthen their cyber security.

The Strategy also includes the announcement of a new National Cybercrime Coordination Unit under the RCMP which will provide coordination services to law enforcement to combat cybercrime.

Suggested Action

CCIRC suggests that partners review the new National Cyber Security Strategy and announcements regarding the creation of the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security.  At this time there is no change to the operations of CCIRC and we encourage all of our partners to continue working with and reporting to CCIRC per their standard operating procedures.  More information regarding the creation of the Cyber Centre is to come in the following months.

References:

https://www.canada.ca/en/public-safety-canada/news/2018/06/new-cyber-security-strategy-bolsters-cyber-safety-innovation-and-prosperity.html

Note to Readers

In support of Public Safety's mission to build a safe and resilient Canada, CCIRC's mandate is to help ensure the security and resilience of the vital non-federal government cyber systems that underpin Canada's national security, public safety and economic prosperity. As Canada's computer security incident response team, CCIRC is Canada's national coordination centre for the prevention and mitigation of, preparedness for, response to, and recovery from cyber incidents on non-federal government systems. It does this by providing authoritative advice and support, and coordinating information sharing and incident response.

Please note, CCIRC PGP key has recently been updated.
http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

For general information, please contact Public Safety Canada's Public Affairs division at:

Telephone: 613-944-4875 or 1-800-830-3118
Fax: 613-998-9589
E-mail: ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date modified:

Le gouvernement du Canada annonce le lancement de la nouvelle Stratégie nationale de cybersécurité et la création du Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité

Le point sur la création du Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité

Numéro : IN18-003-Mise à jour
Date : 26 septembre 2018

Objectif

Faire le point sur l’annonce par le gouvernement du Canada de la création du Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité.

Évaluation précédente

Comme il a été indiqué dans la note d’information no IN18-003 du Centre canadien de réponse aux incidents cybernétiques (CCRIC), le gouvernement a annoncé dans le Budget 2018 la création du Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité (Cybercentre). Le nouveau Cybercentre, qui relèvera du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST), regroupera les tâches effectuées par le Centre canadien de réponse aux incidents (CCRIC) de Sécurité publique Canada (SP), le Centre des opérations de sécurité de Services partagés Canada et la Direction de la sécurité de la technologie de l’information du CST ainsi que celles effectuées dans le cadre de la campagne de sensibilisation du public Pensez cybersécurité.

Renseignements à jour

Le Cybercentre deviendra opérationnel le 1er octobre 2018, ce qui implique ce qui suit pour le CCRIC et ses partenaires :

  • Le 1er octobre 2018, le CCRIC, qui relève actuellement de SP, relèvera du CST et sera intégré au Cybercentre.
  • Tous les services du CCRIC et tous les partenariats seront maintenus après le 1er octobre 2018. Ils deviendront la responsabilité du Cybercentre.
  • Les adresses électroniques, les numéros de téléphone et les autres moyens de collecte de renseignements demeureront tous valides après le 1er octobre 2018. Le Cybercentre recevra et traitera toutes les communications transmises par ces moyens.
  • À compter du 1er octobre 2018, le Cybercentre enverra les produits auparavant envoyés par le CCRIC.

Mesures recommandées

Nous invitons nos partenaires à passer en revue la nouvelle Stratégie nationale de cybersécurité ainsi que les annonces concernant la création du Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité.

En outre, nous les encourageons à continuer de travailler avec le CCRIC, qui fera bientôt partie du Cybercentre, et de lui signaler les incidents selon leurs procédures opérationnelles normalisées.

D’autres renseignements sur la création du Cybercentre suivront au cours des prochains mois.

Références

https://www.canada.ca/fr/securite-publique-canada/nouvelles/2018/06/la-nouvelle-strategie-de-cybersecurite-favorise-la-cybersecurite-linnovation-et-la-prosperite.html

Numéro : IN18-003
Date : 12 Juin 2018

Objet

La présente note d’information vise à attirer l’attention sur l’annonce par le gouvernement du Canada du lancement de la nouvelle Stratégie nationale de cybersécurité et la création du Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité.

Évaluation

Les technologies numériques et l’Internet jouent un rôle de plus en plus important dans l’innovation et la croissance économique, et il est essentiel d’adopter des mesures de cybersécurité rigoureuses pour assurer la capacité concurrentielle, la stabilité économique et la prospérité à long terme du Canada. Pour ce faire, la Stratégie nationale de cybersécurité (la Stratégie) a été conçue de façon à ce que le gouvernement du Canada et ses partenaires s’adaptent aux technologies et aux menaces, même si celles‑ci évoluent, et à ce qu’ils puissent continuer de croître et de prospérer dans ce secteur.

La Stratégie comporte de nombreuses initiatives, dont une des principales consiste à créer un centre consolidé des opérations de cybersécurité, soit le Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité (Cybercentre). Le nouveau Cybercentre, qui relèvera du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST), regroupera les tâches effectuées par le Centre canadien de réponse aux incidents (CCRIC) de Sécurité publique Canada, le Centre des opérations de sécurité de Services partagés Canada et la Direction de la sécurité de la technologie de l’information du CST ainsi que celles effectuées dans le cadre de la campagne de sensibilisation du public Pensez cybersécurité.

Le Cybercentre servira de source unique auprès de laquelle les gouvernements, les exploitants d’infrastructures essentielles et les membres des secteurs public et privé pourront obtenir des conseils et des services spécialisés pour renforcer leur cybersécurité plutôt que d’avoir à consulter différents ministères.

La Stratégie comprend aussi l’annonce de la création d’une Unité nationale de coordination de la lutte contre la cybercriminalité au sein de la GRC, qui fournira des services de coordination en matière de lutte contre la cybercriminalité aux services d’application de la loi.

Mesures Recommandées

Le CCRIC propose à ses partenaires d’examiner la nouvelle Stratégie nationale de cybersécurité et les annonces concernant la création du Centre canadien pour la cybersécurité. Pour l’heure, le CCRIC n’apporte aucun changement à ses activités, et il encourage tous ses partenaires à continuer de travailler avec lui et de lui faire des signalements conformément aux procédures opérationnelles normalisées. D’autres renseignements sur la création du Cybercentre suivront au cours des prochains mois.

Références :

https://www.canada.ca/fr/securite-publique-canada/nouvelles/2018/06/la-nouvelle-strategie-de-cybersecurite-favorise-la-cybersecurite-linnovation-et-la-prosperite.html

Note aux lecteurs

En appui à la mission de Sécurité publique Canada de bâtir un Canada sécuritaire et résilient, le mandat du CCRIC est d'aider à assurer la sécurité et la résilience des cybersystèmes essentiels non gouvernementaux à la base de la sécurité nationale, de la sécurité publique et de la prospérité économique du pays. À titre d'équipe d'intervention en cas d'incident lié à la sécurité informatique du Canada, le CCRIC agit comme centre national de coordination pour la prévention, l'atténuation, l'intervention et le rétablissement liés aux incidents cybernétiques commis contre des systèmes non fédéraux. Pour ce faire, il formule des conseils éclairés, offre du soutien et coordonne l'échange de renseignements ainsi que l'intervention.

S'il vous plaît noter que la clé PGP du CCRIC a récemment été mise à jour.
http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

Pour obtenir des renseignements de nature générale, veuillez communiquer avec la division des Affaires publiques de l'organisme :

Téléphone : 613-944-4875 ou 1-800-830-3118  
Télécopieur : 613-998-9589 
Courriel : ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date de modification :