Simda Infection Recovery Guide

Number: TR15-003
Date: 17 April 2015

The content of this report is for information purposes only. Links to websites not under the control of the Government of Canada are provided solely for the convenience of users. The Government of Canada is not responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the content. Each individual user is to make decisions of use based on respective needs and technical capabilities.

Purpose

The purpose of this product is to provide an overview of Simda, a self-propagating malware, and to provide guidance on how to recover from computer systems infected by it.

Assessment

Simda was used by cyber criminals to gain remote access to unpatched computers enabling the theft of personal details, including banking passwords, to install and spread other malware, to redirect traffic to the criminals' web site, or to generate traffic for financial gain.

Impact

Simda has infected at least 770,000 computers in over 190 countries. A system infected with Simda may be employed to distribute additional malware, harvest users' credentials for online services, including banking services, and re-route traffic to perform click-fraud.

In order to evade detection, Simda used anti-sandbox techniques, and verified whether it ran on a physical or virtual system. If the system was virtual, Simda would self-terminate. It also checked against a list of black-listed programs and running processes. To update this list, Simda gathered information from machines it deemed suspicious, and then leveraged an automated process to issue a new binary every few hours with updates that most anti-virus software cannot detect.

Mitigation

CCIRC recommends that organizations review the following actions and consider their implementation in the context of their network environment:

Removing Simda Infections

Below is a list of third party tools that can be used to assist in removing Simda infections. Due to the nature of the malware, the victim machine may be infected with additional malware such as Click-Fraud / Search Hijacking Malware, Crypto-currency Mining Software (Bitcoin and Primecoin) and Unwanted Software / Adware. CCIRC recommends taking this into consideration when implementing an eradication strategy.

The following links to popular tools are for information purposes only and should not be interpreted as an endorsement of any particular tool or technology:

Kaspersky Lab : http://www.kaspersky.com/security-scan

Microsoft: http://www.microsoft.com/security/scanner/en-us/default.aspx

Trend Micro: http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

User can check to see if their system is infected from the following websites:

Cyber Defense Institute: http://www.cyberdefense.jp/simda/

Kasperky Lab: https://checkip.kaspersky.com

References

INTERPOL coordinates global operation to take down Simda botnet
http://www.interpol.int/en/News-and-media/News/2015/N2015-038

US-CERT Alert (TA15-105A) Simda Botnet
https://www.us-cert.gov/ncas/alerts/TA15-105A

Microsoft partners with Interpol, industry to disrupt global malware attack affecting more than 770,000 PCs in past six months
http://blogs.technet.com/b/mmpc/archive/2015/04/12/microsoft-partners-with-interpol-industry-to-disrupt-global-malware-attack-affecting-more-than-770-000-pcs-in-past-six-months-39-simda-at-39-designed-to-divert-internet-traffic-to-disseminate-other-types-of-malware.aspx

Botnet that enslaved 770,000 PCs worldwide comes crashing down
http://arstechnica.com/security/2015/04/botnet-that-enslaved-770000-pcs-worldwide-comes-crashing-down/

Simda botnet hit by Interpol takedown
http://www.symantec.com/connect/app#!/blogs/simda-botnet-hit-interpol-takedown

Note to Readers

In support of Public Safety's mission to build a safe and resilient Canada, CCIRC's mandate is to help ensure the security and resilience of the vital non-federal government cyber systems that underpin Canada's national security, public safety and economic prosperity. As Canada's computer security incident response team, CCIRC is Canada's national coordination centre for the prevention and mitigation of, preparedness for, response to, and recovery from cyber incidents on non-federal government systems. It does this by providing authoritative advice and support, and coordinating information sharing and incident response.

Please note, CCIRC PGP key has recently been updated.
http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

For general information, please contact Public Safety Canada's Public Affairs division at:

Telephone: 613-944-4875 or 1-800-830-3118
Fax: 613-998-9589
E-mail: ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date modified:

Guide de rétablissement à la suite d'une infection par Simda

Numéro : TR15-003
Date : 17 avril 2015

Le contenu de ce rapport n'est donné qu'à titre informatif. Les liens vers d'autres sites ne relevant pas du gouvernement du Canada sont fournis aux utilisateurs uniquement pour des raisons de commodité. Le gouvernement du Canada n'est pas responsable de l'exactitude, de l'à-propos ou de la fiabilité du contenu de ces sites. Il revient à chaque utilisateur de décider comment utiliser ces renseignements, en fonction de ses besoins et de ses compétences.

Objet

Le présent rapport vise à décrire Simda, un maliciel à propagation automatique, et à conseiller sur les façons de rétablir un poste infecté.

Évaluation

Simda était utilisé par les cybercriminels pour obtenir un accès à distance aux ordinateurs dans lesquels la vulnérabilité n'avait pas été corrigée, permettant ainsi le vol de données personnelles (y compris des mots de passe bancaires) pour installer et propager d'autres maliciels, pour rediriger le trafic vers le site Web des criminels ou encore pour générer du trafic aux fins de gains financiers.

Impact

Simda a infecté au moins 770 000 ordinateurs dans plus de 190 pays. Un système infecté par Simda peut être utilisé pour distribuer d'autres maliciels, recueillir les justificatifs des utilisateurs pour des services en ligne (notamment des services bancaires) et réacheminer le trafic afin d'effectuer de la fraude au clic.

Afin de ne pas être détecté, Simda utilisait des techniques anti-bac à sable et vérifiait s'il était exécuté sur un système physique ou virtuel. Si le système était virtuel, Simda s'autoterminait. Il vérifiait également dans une liste noire de programmes et de processus d'exécution. Pour mettre à jour cette liste, Simda recueillait de l'information sur les machines qui semblaient suspectes, puis mettait à profit un processus automatisé pour publier plusieurs fois par jour un nouveau binaire contenant des mises à jour que la plupart des logiciels antivirus ne peuvent pas détecter.

Stratégies d'atténuation

Le CCRIC recommande aux organisations d'examiner les mesures ci-dessous et de les mettre en œuvre en fonction de leur environnement réseau :

Désinfection de Simda

Voici quelques outils de tiers qui peuvent vous aider à supprimer les infections par Simda. Vu la nature de ce maliciel, le poste infecté par d'autres types de maliciels : fraude par clic, maliciel de prise de contrôle, logiciel d'extraction de données de cryptomonnaie (BitCoin et PrimeCoin) et logiciels publicitaires et autres logiciels indésirables. Le CCIRC recommande d'en tenir compte dans l'élaboration de votre stratégie de désinfection.

Les liens externes suivants, en anglais, qui vous dirigent vers des outils couramment employés, ne sont fournis qu'à titre informatif et ne doivent pas être interprétés comme l'appui d'un outil ou d'une technologie en particulier :

Kaspersky Lab : http://www.kaspersky.com/security-scan

Microsoft : http://www.microsoft.com/security/scanner/en-us/default.aspx

Trend Micro : http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

L'utilisateur peut vérifier si son système est infecté à partir des sites Web suivants :

Cyber Defense Institute: http://www.cyberdefense.jp/simda/

Kasperky Lab: https://checkip.kaspersky.com

Références

INTERPOL coordonne une opération mondiale visant à démanteler le réseau de zombies Simda
http://www.interpol.int/en/News-and-media/News/2015/N2015-038

Alerte US-CERT (TA15-105A) Réseau de zombies Simda
https://www.us-cert.gov/ncas/alerts/TA15-105A

Microsoft s'associe à Interpol et l'industrie pour démanteler une attaque malicielle mondiale ayant touché plus de 770 000 ordinateurs personnels au cours des six derniers mois
http://blogs.technet.com/b/mmpc/archive/2015/04/12/microsoft-partners-with-interpol-industry-to-disrupt-global-malware-attack-affecting-more-than-770-000-pcs-in-past-six-months-39-simda-at-39-designed-to-divert-internet-traffic-to-disseminate-other-types-of-malware.aspx

Effondrement d'un réseau de zombies ayant asservi plus de 770 000 ordinateurs personnels
http://arstechnica.com/security/2015/04/botnet-that-enslaved-770000-pcs-worldwide-comes-crashing-down/

Interpol démantèle le réseau de zombies Simda
http://www.symantec.com/connect/app#!/blogs/simda-botnet-hit-interpol-takedown

Note aux lecteurs

En appui à la mission de Sécurité publique Canada de bâtir un Canada sécuritaire et résilient, le mandat du CCRIC est d'aider à assurer la sécurité et la résilience des cybersystèmes essentiels non gouvernementaux à la base de la sécurité nationale, de la sécurité publique et de la prospérité économique du pays. À titre d'équipe d'intervention en cas d'incident lié à la sécurité informatique du Canada, le CCRIC agit comme centre national de coordination pour la prévention, l'atténuation, l'intervention et le rétablissement liés aux incidents cybernétiques commis contre des systèmes non fédéraux. Pour ce faire, il formule des conseils éclairés, offre du soutien et coordonne l'échange de renseignements ainsi que l'intervention.

S'il vous plaît noter que la clé PGP du CCRIC a récemment été mise à jour.
http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

Pour obtenir des renseignements de nature générale, veuillez communiquer avec la division des Affaires publiques de l'organisme :

Téléphone : 613-944-4875 ou 1-800-830-3118  
Télécopieur : 613-998-9589 
Courriel : ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date de modification :