Leap Second Event Occurring on 30 June 2015

Number: IN15-001
Date: 26 June 2015

Purpose

The purpose of this Information Note is to draw attention to the leap second that will be introduced on 30 June 2015 (00:00 UTC 1 July 2015) to align the UTC system with the rotation of the Earth. The leap second will necessitate an adjustment to all UTC clocks by one second.

Assessment

The Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time standard, based on atomic clocks, is widely used for international timekeeping and as the reference for time in most countries. UTC is the basis of legal time for most of the world. UTC must be adjusted at irregular intervals to maintain its correlation to mean solar time due to irregularities in the Earth's rotation. These adjustments, called leap seconds, are pre-determined. The next leap second will occur on 30 June 2015 at 23:59:59 UTC.

To implement the positive leap second, all UTC clocks will display an extra second. The date sequence of the UTC markers will be:

30 June 2015 23H 59M 59S
30 June 2015 23H 59M 60S (extra second)

Followed by: 01 July 2015 00H 00M 00S

Systems which receive UTC time corrections from external sources should be unaffected by the addition of a leap second. Systems that do not receive UTC time corrections from external sources may require manual resetting/synchronization of clocks.

Suggested action

CCIRC strongly encourages Industry and government Chief Information Officers to check and verify leap second insertion procedures on all systems dependent on precise time/UTC to verify leap second insertion will not disrupt normal operation. Please review the reference document for additional technical details.

References

http://www.gps.gov/news/2015/05/leap-second/2015-best-practices-for-leap-second.pdf

Note to Readers

In support of Public Safety's mission to build a safe and resilient Canada, CCIRC's mandate is to help ensure the security and resilience of the vital non-federal government cyber systems that underpin Canada's national security, public safety and economic prosperity. As Canada's computer security incident response team, CCIRC is Canada's national coordination centre for the prevention and mitigation of, preparedness for, response to, and recovery from cyber incidents on non-federal government systems. It does this by providing authoritative advice and support, and coordinating information sharing and incident response.

Please note, CCIRC PGP key has recently been updated.
http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

For general information, please contact Public Safety Canada's Public Affairs division at:

Telephone: 613-944-4875 or 1-800-830-3118
Fax: 613-998-9589
E-mail: ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date modified:

Seconde intercalaire introduite le 30 juin 2015

Numéro : IN15-001
Date : Le 26 juin 2015

Objet

La présente note d'information a pour but d'attirer l'attention sur l'introduction d'une seconde intercalaire le 30 juin 2015 (à 00:00 UTC le 1er juillet 2015) pour aligner le système UTC avec la rotation de la Terre. Il faudra donc régler toutes les horloges UTC en leur ajoutant cette seconde intercalaire.

Évaluation

Le temps universel coordonné, ou UTC, est une échelle normalisée établie à partir de la lecture d'horloges atomiques. Il est largement utilisé dans la mesure du temps international et constitue la référence temporelle dans la plupart des pays du monde où le temps légal est déterminé par cette norme. Le temps UTC doit être corrigé à intervalles irréguliers pour conserver sa corrélation avec le temps solaire moyen en raison des irrégularités de la rotation de la Terre. Le moment d'un tel réglage, c'est-à-dire l'introduction de la seconde intercalaire, est déterminé à l'avance. Ainsi, la prochaine seconde intercalaire aura lieu le 30 juin 2015 à 23 heures, 59 minutes et 59 secondes (temps UTC).

Pour tenir compte de la seconde intercalaire additionnelle, toutes les horloges UTC afficheront une seconde de plus. La séquence de dates des marqueurs UTC sera donc :

30 juin 2015 23H 59M 59S
30 juin 2015 23H 59M 60S (seconde additionnelle)

Puis : 01 juillet 2015 00H 00M 00S

Es systèmes qui reçoivent des corrections du temps UTC fournies par des sources externes ne seront pas touchés par l'ajout de la seconde intercalaire. Les horloges des autres devront probablement être réinitialisées ou resynchronisées manuellement.

Mesure suggérée

Le CCRIC recommande fortement aux dirigeants principaux de l'information des entreprises et du gouvernement de vérifier les procédures d'insertion de la seconde intercalaire de tous leurs systèmes pour lesquels l'exactitude du temps UTC est cruciale afin de s'assurer que cet ajout n'en perturbera pas le fonctionnement normal. Veuillez lire le document fourni en référence pour obtenir des précisions de nature technique.

Références

http://www.gps.gov/news/2015/05/leap-second/2015-best-practices-for-leap-second.pdf

Note aux lecteurs

En appui à la mission de Sécurité publique Canada de bâtir un Canada sécuritaire et résilient, le mandat du CCRIC est d'aider à assurer la sécurité et la résilience des cybersystèmes essentiels non gouvernementaux à la base de la sécurité nationale, de la sécurité publique et de la prospérité économique du pays. À titre d'équipe d'intervention en cas d'incident lié à la sécurité informatique du Canada, le CCRIC agit comme centre national de coordination pour la prévention, l'atténuation, l'intervention et le rétablissement liés aux incidents cybernétiques commis contre des systèmes non fédéraux. Pour ce faire, il formule des conseils éclairés, offre du soutien et coordonne l'échange de renseignements ainsi que l'intervention.

S'il vous plaît noter que la clé PGP du CCRIC a récemment été mise à jour.
http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

Pour obtenir des renseignements de nature générale, veuillez communiquer avec la division des Affaires publiques de l'organisme :

Téléphone : 613-944-4875 ou 1-800-830-3118  
Télécopieur : 613-998-9589 
Courriel : ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date de modification :