Security Risks Associated with eDellroot Certificate – Dell

Number: AV15-111 - UPDATE
Date: 25 November 2015

Purpose

Following the eDellroot advisory, the purpose of this advisory is to bring attention to recently published security risks associated with another Dell certificate, the DSDTestProvider certificate. The DSDTestProvider certificate is installed on Dell computers by the Dell System Detect (DSD) application. DSD is pre-installed on some Dell systems.

Assessment

Open source reports indicate that some Dell products may have theDSDTestProvider certificate pre-installed. This introduces a potential vulnerability that can be leveraged for malicious purposes.

The DSDTestProvider certificate is a self-signed root CA (certificate authority) certificate. Dell System Detect is an application that runs on Windows-based PC or Tablet and interacts with the Dell Support Website. DSD installs a trusted root certificate (DSDTestProvider) that includes the private key.

Given this vulnerability, a malicious actor could spoof the DSDTestProvider certificate using the private key, possibly allowing malicious files to be inherently trusted. Other common attack scenarios could include a man in the middle attack (MiTM) to decrypt HTTPS traffic and the installation of malicious software.

Suggested Action

CCIRC recommends the following mitigations and work arounds to affected applications accordingly:

  • Verify if your Dell product has the DSDTestProvider certificate installed.
  • Consider revoking the root CA eDellroot certificate in your Dell products using the Windows certificate manager (certmgr.msc). Revoking the certificate helps prevent reinstalling trust if DSN is reinstalled.

References:

Number: AV15-111
Date: 24 November 2015

Purpose

The purpose of this advisory is to bring attention to recently published security risks associated with the eDellroot certificate installed on Dell products.

The eDellroot certificate comes pre-installed on Dell computers or is installed by the Dell Foundation Services application. This certificate was implemented as part of a support tool and intended to make it faster and easier for Dell’s customers to service their system.

Assessment

CCIRC is aware of open source reporting concerning Dell products pre-installed with eDellroot certificate, which introduces a potential vulnerability that can be leveraged for malicious purposes.

The eDellroot certificate is a self-signed root CA (certificate authority) certificate. The private key of the certificate, although marked as non-exportable, can still be extracted with specialized open source tools. Given this vulnerability, a malicious actor could spoof a certificate using the private key, possibly allowing malicious files to be inherently trusted.

Suggested Action

CCIRC recommends the following mitigations and work arounds to affected applications accordingly:

References:

Note to Readers

In support of Public Safety's mission to build a safe and resilient Canada, CCIRC's mandate is to help ensure the security and resilience of the vital non-federal government cyber systems that underpin Canada's national security, public safety and economic prosperity. As Canada's computer security incident response team, CCIRC is Canada's national coordination centre for the prevention and mitigation of, preparedness for, response to, and recovery from cyber incidents on non-federal government systems. It does this by providing authoritative advice and support, and coordinating information sharing and incident response.

Please note, CCIRC PGP key has recently been updated.
http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

For general information, please contact Public Safety Canada's Public Affairs division at:

Telephone: 613-944-4875 or 1-800-830-3118
Fax: 613-998-9589
E-mail: ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date modified:

Risques de sécurité associés au certificat eDellroot – Dell

Numéro : AV15-111 - MISE À JOUR
Date : Le 25 novembre 2015

Objet

Pour donner suite à l’avis sur eDellroot, nous souhaitons par le présent avis attirer votre attention sur les risques de sécurité récemment divulgués concernant un autre certificat appartenant à Dell : le certificat DSDTestProvider. Le certificat DSDTestProvider est installé dans les ordinateurs Dell par l’application Dell System Detect (DSD). Cette application est préinstallée dans certains systèmes Dell.

Évaluation

Des rapports de source ouverte indiquent que le certificat DSDTestProvider pourrait être préinstallé dans certains produits Dell. Ce certificat ouvre une faille qui pourrait être exploitée à des fins malveillantes.

Le certificat DSDTestProvider est un certificat autosigné d’AC (autorité de certification) de base. Dell System Detect est une application exécutée par les ordinateurs et les tablettes fondés sur Windows qui interagit avec le site Web de soutien de Dell. DSD installe un certificat racine de confiance (DSDTestProvider) qui comprend la clé privée.

Compte tenu de cette vulnérabilité, un auteur malveillant pourrait usurper le certificat DSDTestProvider à l’aide de la clé privée, ce qui permettrait de faire passer des fichiers malveillants pour des fichiers de confiance. Parmi les autres scénarios d’attaque possibles, mentionnons une attaque par intermédiaire qui permettrait de déchiffrer le trafic HTTPS et d’installer des logiciels malveillants.

Mesures Recommandées

Le CCIRC recommande d’appliquer aux applications touchées les mesures d’atténuation et de contournement suivantes :

  • Vérifiez si le certificat DSDTestProvider est installé dans votre produit Dell.
  • Envisagez de révoquer le certificat d’AC de base eDellroot dans vos produits Dell à l’aide du gestionnaire de certificats de Windows (certmgr.msc). La révocation du certificat aidera à prévenir le rétablissement du lien de confiance si DSN est réinstallé.

Références :

Numéro : AV15-111
Date : Le 24 novembre 2015

Objet

Le présent avis vise à attirer l’attention sur la divulgation récente de risques de sécurité associés au certificat eDellroot installé sur les produits Dell.

Le certificat eDellroot est préinstallé sur les ordinateurs Dell ou installé par l’application Dell Foundation Services. Ce certificat fait partie d’un outil de soutien et devait faciliter et simplifier l’entretien du système par les clients de Dell.

Évaluation

Par des sources ouvertes, le CCRIC a appris l’existence de vulnérabilités pouvant être exploitées à des fins malveillantes dans les produits Dell livrés avec le certificat eDellroot.

Le certificat eDellroot est un certificat de base d’autorité de certification (AC) autosigné. La clé privée du certificat, même si marquée comme non exportable, peut quand même être extraite au moyen d’outils libres spécialisés. En raison de cette vulnérabilité, un acteur malveillant pourrait mystifier un certificat à l’aide de la clé privée, et ainsi faire passer pour fiables des fichiers malveillants.

Mesures Recommandées

Le CCIRC recommande d’appliquer aux applications touchées les mesures d’atténuation et de contournement suivantes :

Références :

Note aux lecteurs

En appui à la mission de Sécurité publique Canada de bâtir un Canada sécuritaire et résilient, le mandat du CCRIC est d'aider à assurer la sécurité et la résilience des cybersystèmes essentiels non gouvernementaux à la base de la sécurité nationale, de la sécurité publique et de la prospérité économique du pays. À titre d'équipe d'intervention en cas d'incident lié à la sécurité informatique du Canada, le CCRIC agit comme centre national de coordination pour la prévention, l'atténuation, l'intervention et le rétablissement liés aux incidents cybernétiques commis contre des systèmes non fédéraux. Pour ce faire, il formule des conseils éclairés, offre du soutien et coordonne l'échange de renseignements ainsi que l'intervention.

S'il vous plaît noter que la clé PGP du CCRIC a récemment été mise à jour.
http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

Pour obtenir des renseignements de nature générale, veuillez communiquer avec la division des Affaires publiques de l'organisme :

Téléphone : 613-944-4875 ou 1-800-830-3118  
Télécopieur : 613-998-9589 
Courriel : ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date de modification :