Vulnerability Affecting Magento Web E-Commerce Platform Actively Exploited

Number: AL15-005
Date: 24 April 2015

Purpose

The purpose of this alert is to bring attention to remote code-execution vulnerability in the community and enterprise editions of Magento content management system for e-commerce sites that could lead to financial fraud.

Assessment

CCIRC is aware of open source reporting of an active exploitation of the vulnerability. Attackers can bypass security mechanisms and gain control of the e-commerce site and its database, possibly allowing for credit card theft or access to administrative privileges. The vulnerability can also be exploited to change the price a web merchant charges for specific items. Exploitation involves combining several CVEs (CVE-2015-1397, CVE-2015-1398, CVE-2015-1399).

Confirmed vulnerable: 1.9.1.0 CE and 1.14.1.0 EE (latest releases as of this writing)

Magento has released security patch (SUPEE-5344) to address this issue.

Suggested action

CCIRC recommends prioritization of this patch due to the exposure of these systems to the Internet.

References

Vendor Patch: https://www.magentocommerce.com/products/downloads/magento/
POC Code: http://blog.checkpoint.com/2015/04/20/analyzing-magento-vulnerability/
Exploit Code : https://blog.sucuri.net/2015/04/magento-shoplift-supee-5344-exploits-in-the-wild.html

Note to Readers

In support of Public Safety's mission to build a safe and resilient Canada, CCIRC's mandate is to help ensure the security and resilience of the vital non-federal government cyber systems that underpin Canada's national security, public safety and economic prosperity. As Canada's computer security incident response team, CCIRC is Canada's national coordination centre for the prevention and mitigation of, preparedness for, response to, and recovery from cyber incidents on non-federal government systems. It does this by providing authoritative advice and support, and coordinating information sharing and incident response.

Please note, CCIRC PGP key has recently been updated.
http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

For general information, please contact Public Safety Canada's Public Affairs division at:

Telephone: 613-944-4875 or 1-800-830-3118
Fax: 613-998-9589
E-mail: ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date modified:

Exploitation active d'une vulnérabilité touchant la plate-forme Web de commerce électronique Magento

Numéro : AL15-005
Date : 24 avril 2015

Objet

La présente alerte vise à attire l'attention sur une vulnérabilité d'exécution de code à distance touchant les versions libres et d'entreprise du système de gestion du contenu pour commerce électronique Magento; l'exploitation de cette vulnérabilité peut entraîner des fraudes financières.

Évaluation

Le CCRIC a été informé de sources ouvertes que cette vulnérabilité est exploitée activement. Les attaquants peuvent contourner les mécanismes de sécurité et prendre le contrôle du site de commerce électronique et de sa base de données, ce qui peut entraîner le vol de cartes de crédit ou l'obtention des droits d'accès d'administrateur. On peut aussi exploiter cette vulnérabilité pour modifier à loisir le prix des articles. L'exploiter exige de combiner plusieurs vulnérabilités : CVE-2015-1397, CVE-2015-1398 et CVE-2015-1399.

On a confirmé que les versions 1.9.1.0 CE et 1.14.1.0 EE, les plus récentes au moment d'écrire ces lignes, sont vulnérables.

Magento a rendu public un correctif de sécurité, SUPEE-5344, qui règle ce problème.

Mesure suggérée

Le CCRIC recommande d'appliquer ce correctif dans les plus brefs délais, car les systèmes touchés sont accessibles par Internet.

Références

Correctif du fournisseur : https://www.magentocommerce.com/products/downloads/magento/
Validation de principe : http://blog.checkpoint.com/2015/04/20/analyzing-magento-vulnerability/
Code d'exploitation : https://blog.sucuri.net/2015/04/magento-shoplift-supee-5344-exploits-in-the-wild.html

Note aux lecteurs

En appui à la mission de Sécurité publique Canada de bâtir un Canada sécuritaire et résilient, le mandat du CCRIC est d'aider à assurer la sécurité et la résilience des cybersystèmes essentiels non gouvernementaux à la base de la sécurité nationale, de la sécurité publique et de la prospérité économique du pays. À titre d'équipe d'intervention en cas d'incident lié à la sécurité informatique du Canada, le CCRIC agit comme centre national de coordination pour la prévention, l'atténuation, l'intervention et le rétablissement liés aux incidents cybernétiques commis contre des systèmes non fédéraux. Pour ce faire, il formule des conseils éclairés, offre du soutien et coordonne l'échange de renseignements ainsi que l'intervention.

S'il vous plaît noter que la clé PGP du CCRIC a récemment été mise à jour.
http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

Pour obtenir des renseignements de nature générale, veuillez communiquer avec la division des Affaires publiques de l'organisme :

Téléphone : 613-944-4875 ou 1-800-830-3118  
Télécopieur : 613-998-9589 
Courriel : ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date de modification :