Cyber Security Technical Advice and Guidance

The Canadian Cyber Incident Response Centre (CCIRC) provides a range of guidance documents, security bulletins, and technical reports related to cyber security issues.

Cyber Security Bulletins

CCIRC issues alerts and advisories to communicate information about potential, imminent or actual threats, vulnerabilities or incidents affecting Canada's critical infrastructure. Both may contain information and analysis not readily available in the public domain. Recipients are encouraged to consider the real or possible impact on their organization of the information presented in alerts and advisories, and to take appropriate action.

CCIRC technical reports and information notes provide detailed information and mitigation advice for specific cyber security issues.


Technical Cyber Security Best Practices

In response to persistent cyber security challenges, CCIRC has developed a suite of technical best practice guidelines to assist security professionals.

Our most requested tools include:

Reference Documents and Research Reports

The following reference documents have been developed by Public Safety Canada's National Cyber Security Directorate.

The executive summaries below outline research reports produced for Public Safety Canada. For the complete report, please submit a request through our General Inquiries service.

Industrial Control Systems (ICS) Security Workshops and Training


Public Safety Canada's Industrial Control Systems (ICS) Security workshops bring together recognized experts along with representatives from the federal Government to provide briefs on the latest threats and steps that can be taken to increase the security of industrial control systems. The workshops are open to representatives from the critical infrastructure, provincial governments and academia. The training is lecture style but technical in nature and takes place at the intermediate to advanced level.


Public Safety Canada's Industrial Control Systems (ICS) Security training is focused on the development of basic incident handler skills for the ICS environment. The training is hands-on using real tools and targets. Participants will be expected to have a basic to moderate level of computer security training and proficiency within an incident response and/or network environment.

Other Cyber Security Organizations

CCIRC works with many Government organizations to mitigate cyber threats to vital systems outside the federal government.

Internationally, CCIRC stays in close contact with its counterpart Computer Security Incident Response Teams (CSIRT) and centers for critical infrastructure protection who produce a range of guidance documents and technical reports:

CCIRC Community Portal

The CCIRC Community Portal provides a common collaboration tool for organizations that are part of Canada's critical infrastructure sectors. CCIRC uses this portal to share its most recent documents and publications with its partners. In turn, partners have the option of posting documents of their own, and can also use this portal to report cyber incidents to CCIRC. For more information please contact CCIRC.

Date modified:

Orientation et conseils techniques en matière de cybersécurité

Le Centre canadien de réponse aux incidents cybernétiques (CCRIC) offre divers documents d'orientation, bulletins de sécurité et rapports techniques portant sur des questions de cybersécurité.

Bulletins de cybersécurité

Le CCRIC diffuse des alertes et des avis pour communiquer des renseignements sur les menaces potentielles, imminentes ou réelles, ou les incidents qui touchent les infrastructures essentielles du Canada. Ils peuvent contenir de l'information et des analyses auxquelles le public n'a pas encore accès. Les organismes visés par les avis devraient examiner les répercussions réelles ou possibles que représentent les menaces énoncées dans l'alerte ou l'avis et prendre les mesures qui s'imposent à cet égard.

Les rapports techniques et les notes d'information du CCRIC donnent des renseignements détaillés et des conseils en matière d'atténuation relativement à des questions précises de cybersécurité.

CCRIC Fils de RSS

Pratiques exemplaires techniques en matière de cybersécurité

En réponse à des défis persistants en matière de cybersécurité, le CCRIC a élaboré une série de pratiques exemplaires techniques pour aider les professionnels de la sécurité.

Voici les plus récents outils :

Documents de référence et rapports de recherche

Les documents de référence suivants ont été rédigés par la Direction générale de la cybersécurité nationale de Sécurité publique Canada.

Les sommaires ci-dessous résument des rapports de recherche produits pour Sécurité publique Canada. Pour obtenir les rapports complets, veuillez en faire la demande auprès du service des Renseignements généraux.

Ateliers et formation sur la sécurité des systèmes de contrôle industriels

Ateliers

Les ateliers sur la sécurité des systèmes de contrôle industriels de Sécurité publique Canada réunissent des experts reconnus et des représentants du gouvernement fédéral qui présentent des exposés sur les menaces les plus récentes et sur les mesures à prendre pour renforcer la sécurité des systèmes de contrôle de processus. Les ateliers sont destinés aux représentants d'infrastructures essentielles, de gouvernements provinciaux et d'universités. La formation est donnée sous forme d'enseignement magistral, mais de nature technique. Elle s'adresse à des participants de niveau intermédiaire à avancé.

Formation

La formation sur la sécurité des systèmes de contrôle industriels de Sécurité publique Canada est axée sur l'acquisition de compétences de base liées à la gestion des incidents dans l'environnement des SPC. La formation prend la forme d'un apprentissage pratique de l'utilisation d'outils et de cibles tangibles. Les participants doivent avoir une formation et des compétences de base ou intermédiaire sur la sécurité informatique dans un contexte d'intervention en cas d'incident ou dans un environnement réseau.

Autres organisations de cybersécurité

Le CCRIC collabore avec de nombreuses organisations gouvernementales pour atténuer les cybermenaces envers les systèmes essentiels en dehors du gouvernement fédéral.

À l'international, le CCRIC entretient des rapports étroits avec les Équipes d'intervention nationale en cas d'incident informatique (EIII) et les centres de protection des infrastructures essentielles qui produisent des documents d'orientation et des rapports techniques :

Portail de la communauté du CCRIC

Le portail de la communauté du CCRIC fournit un outil commun de collaboration aux organisations qui font partie des secteurs des infrastructures essentielles du Canada. Le CCRIC utilise ce portail pour diffuser ses plus récents documents et publications à ses partenaires. Ces derniers peuvent également y afficher leurs propres documents ou utiliser le portail pour signaler des cyberincidents au CCRIC. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le CCRIC.

Date de modification :