Federal Disaster Assistance Initiative

Public Safety Canada is leading the development of the Federal Disaster Assistance Initiative (FDAI). The goal is to provide provincial and territorial governments with a comprehensive suite of disaster recovery programs that respond to the needs of Canadians.

This will be accomplished in three ways:

  1. Revise the existing Disaster Financial Assistance Arrangements (DFAA).
  2. Develop new or improved disaster assistance instruments to complement the DFAA.
  3. Create an inventory of existing federal and provincial programs, policies and legal tools for disaster assistance and recovery.

DFAA review

A review of the DFAA was undertaken in 2001 in consultation with the provinces and territories.  Proposed changes to the DFAA were approved and new Guidelines came into effect on January 1, 2008.  They apply to natural disasters which occur on or after that date.  The previous guidelines still apply to events which occurred before December 31, 2007, and for which Public Safety Canada is working with provinces and territories to finalize payments.

Complementary instruments

PS is working with other federal officials and their provincial/territorial counterparts to develop assistance programs for disasters not covered by the DFAA. For example, the DFAA is not applicable to public or animal health crises such as SARS or mad cow disease.

The objective of these complementary instruments is to stabilize economic and social activity in sectors that suffer serious disabling losses, interruptions or setbacks from such disasters.

Inventory of existing programs

PS is reviewing the range of federal, provincial and territorial programs, policies and tools that currently exist for disaster recovery. An inventory has been created and further development will continue with other federal departments and agencies.

PS is also working with provincial and territorial officials to include listings of provincial/territorial programs and initiatives related to disaster assistance. In March 2005, Ontario became the first province to have its programs included in the inventory. Work with other provinces and territories will continue over the coming months to expand the inventory.



Date modified:

L'Initiative fédérale d'intervention en cas de catastrophe

Sécurité publique Canada dirige le travail d'élaboration de l'Initiative fédérale d'intervention en cas de catastrophe (IFICC) dont le but est de procurer aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux une série complète de programmes de rétablissement qui répondent aux besoins des Canadiens et des Canadiennes.

Ce but sera réalisé de trois façons :

  1. Réviser les Accords d'aide financière en cas de catastrophe (AAFCC).
  2. Mettre au point des instruments d'aide nouveaux ou améliorés pour compléter les AAFCC.
  3. Dresser la liste des programmes, politiques et outils juridiques fédéraux et provinciaux actuels pour l'intervention en cas de catastrophe et le rétablissement.

Révision des AAFCC

En 2001, on a entrepris une révision des Accords d'aide financière en cas de catastrophe (AAFCC) en collaboration avec les provinces et les territoires. Les changements proposés aux AAFCC ayant été approuvés, les nouvelles lignes directrices sont entrées en vigueur le 1er janvier 2008. Les nouvelles lignes directrices s'appliquent aux catastrophes naturelles qui sont survenues à cette date ou après celle-ci. Les lignes directrices antérieures continuent de s'appliquer aux catastrophes naturelles survenues avant le 31 décembre 2007, et Sécurité publique Canada collabore avec les provinces et les territoires en vue d'effectuer les derniers versements en vertu de celles-ci.

Instruments complémentaires

SP travaille avec d'autres représentants fédéraux et leurs homologues provinciaux et territoriaux à l'élaboration de programmes d'aide en cas de catastrophe qui ne sont pas prises en considération par les AAFCC. Par exemple, les AAFCC ne s'appliquent pas aux crises sanitaires pour le public ou aux maladies animales telles que le SRAS ou la maladie de la vache folle.

Ces instruments complémentaires ont pour objectif de stabiliser les activités économiques et sociales dans les secteurs qui subissent des pertes, interruptions ou revers paralysants à la suite de ces catastrophes.

Inventaire des programmes existants

SP examine l'éventail de programmes, de politiques et d'outils qui existent présentement aux niveaux fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux. Une liste a été dressé et sera développé davantage avec d'autres ministères et organismes fédéraux.

SP travaille également avec les représentants provinciaux et territoriaux à l'établissement de la liste des programmes et des projets provinciaux et territoriaux relatifs à l'intervention en cas de catastrophe. En mars 2005, l'Ontario a été la première province à avoir ses programmes saisis dans la liste. La collaboration avec les autres provinces et territoires se poursuit au cours des mois suivants pour enrichir la liste.



Date de modification :