Canada's Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction: Working Groups

Interested Platform members can assemble Platform-related Working Groups based on specific issues or priority activities. The composition of each Working Group is determined by emerging issues. All Working Groups must be connected to Canada's Platform via the Advisory Committee. The Platform Advisory Committee must approve both the establishment of the Working Groups as well as their Terms of Reference. There are currently three established working groups:

Private Sector Partnership Working Group

The Private Sector Partnerships Working Group provides Canada's Platform with informed advice on relevant strategies and take the lead in identifying priorities in appropriate DRR activities and to foster disaster resiliency. It guides, sets priorities, and supports the development of economic resilience in the private sector to enhance its ability to plan for response and recovery from disasters. It seeks opportunities for collaboration both within the private sector and with government at all levels to promote community resilience.

For additional information on the Private Sector Partnership Working Group, contact the working group co-chairs:

Rodney Yip
ryip@bell.net

Tom Shebrek
Walmart Canada
Tom.Shebrek@walmart.com

Resilient Communities Working Group

The United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (UN/ISDR) has recognized the need for cities and local governments need to get ready to deal with potential disasters, reduce the risks and become resilient to disasters. Since 2009 the UN/ISDR has been campaigning together with its partners for this to happen. The 2010-2011 World Disaster Reduction Campaign “Making Cities Resilient” addresses issues of local governance and urban risk while drawing upon previous ISDR Campaigns on safer schools and hospitals, as well as on the sustainable urbanization principles developed in the UN-Habitat World Urban Campaign 2009-2013.

"Building a safe and resilient Canada is a responsibility shared by all levels of government, as well as the private sector, NGOs and individual Canadians... The members of Canada's Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction are contributing to building community resilience by advancing discussions about innovative ways government, organizations, the private sector and individuals can reduce the risks and impacts of disasters... The Harper Government will continue to support building community resilience, which can mitigate the worst impacts of natural disasters before they happen" Ms. Roxanne James, Parliamentary Secretary, Public Safety Canada.

Within this context the Resilient Communities Working Group provides Canada's Platform with informed advice on relevant strategies and takes the lead in identifying disaster risk reduction (DRR) activities to foster disaster resiliency. It guides, set priorities, and supports the development of a Canadian network of disaster resilient communities and actively seek for opportunities for collaboration to increase community-based disaster resiliency.

For additional information on the Resilient Communities Working Group, contact the working group co-chair:

Laurie Pearce
Research Chair
Justice Institute of British Columbia
lauriepearce@shaw.ca

Voluntary Sector Working Group

The Voluntary Sector Working Group provides Canada's Platform with an insight into non-traditional voluntary sector readiness and engagement within the federal emergency management framework in Canada. It will set priorities and support the development of a Canadian network of disaster resilient voluntary sector organizations and actively seek opportunities for collaboration to increase the voluntary sector resiliency, under the overall guidance of Canada's Platform.

For additional information on the Voluntary Sector Working Group, contact the working group co-chair:

Sarah Graham
Canadian Red Cross
sarah.graham@redcross.ca



Date modified:

Plate-forme nationale pour la réduction des risques de catastrophe : Les Groupes de travail

Les membres de la Plate-forme qui le souhaitent peuvent former des groupes de travail pour traiter de points précis ou d’activités prioritaires. La composition de chaque groupe de travail est établie en fonction des enjeux émergents. Tous les groupes de travail doivent être liés à la Plate-forme du Canada par l’intermédiaire du Comité consultatif. Le Comité consultatif de la Plate-forme doit approuver la création et le mandat des groupes de travail. On compte actuellement quatre groupes de travail :

Groupe de travail sur les partenariats avec le secteur privé

Le Groupe de travail sur les partenariats avec le secteur privé fournit à la Plate-forme du Canada des conseils éclairés sur des stratégies pertinentes et il agit également à titre de responsable en vue d’établir les priorités liées aux activités appropriées de réduction des risques de catastrophe (RRC) et de favoriser la résilience face aux catastrophes. Il fournit une orientation, établit des priorités et accroît la résilience économique du secteur privé afin d’augmenter la capacité de ce dernier à planifier l’intervention et le rétablissement en cas de catastrophe. Il cherche des occasions de collaborer avec le secteur privé et tous les ordres de gouvernement dans le but de favoriser la résilience communautaire.

Coprésidents du Groupe de travail : Rodney Yip et Tom Shebrek

Groupe de travail sur les collectivités résilientes

La Stratégie internationale pour la prévention des catastrophes naturelles (SIPC) des Nations-Unies a reconnu que les villes et les gouvernements locaux doivent se préparer à faire face à des catastrophes potentielles, à en réduire les risques et à devenir résilientes face aux catastrophes. La SIPC de l’ONU a fait campagne avec ses partenaires pour une résilience accrue des villes et, en 2010-2011, elle a lancé la campagne mondiale pour la réduction des catastrophes « Pour des villes résilientes », qui porte sur des enjeux de gouvernance locaux et liés au risque urbain tout en puisant certains de ses éléments dans les campagnes précédentes de la SIPC, notamment au sujet d’écoles et d’hôpitaux plus sûrs. La campagne repose sur les principes d’urbanisation durable énoncés dans le cadre de la campagne urbaine mondiale d’ONU-Habitat de 2009-2013.

Dans ce contexte, le Groupe de travail sur les collectivités résilientes fournit aux membres de la Plate-forme du Canada des conseils éclairés sur des stratégies pertinentes et il appuie l’élaboration d’un réseau canadien de communautés résilientes face aux catastrophes. Il cherche activement des possibilités de collaboration pour accroître la résilience des communautés aux prises avec des catastrophes.

Coprésidente du Groupe de travail : Laurie Pearce

Groupe de travail du secteur bénévole

Le Groupe de travail du secteur bénévole donne à la Plate-forme du Canada des renseignements sur l’état de préparation du secteur bénévole non traditionnel et il contribue à faire participer le secteur bénévole au cadre de gestion des urgences du Canada.

Il établit les priorités et appuie la création d’un réseau canadien composé d’organisations du secteur bénévole résilientes aux catastrophes en plus de chercher des occasions de collaboration afin d’accroître la résilience du secteur.

Coprésidente du Groupe de travail : Sarah Sargent

Groupe de travail sur la résilience des Autochtones

Le Groupe de travail sur la résilience des Autochtones fournit à la Plate-forme du Canada des conseils éclairés et il s’efforce d’accroître la résilience aux catastrophes au sein des communautés autochtones par la mise en commun de savoir, d’expérience et d’expertise tout en respectant les trois principaux vecteurs de résilience autochtones : culture, habilitation et capacité.          

Coprésidents du Groupe de travail : David Diabo et Brenda Murphy

Nous joindre

Si vous avez des questions ou avez besoin de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat de la Plate-forme du Canada pour la RRC.

ps.drr-rrc.sp@canada.ca
Téléphone : 613-991-9748

Date de modification :