Terms and Conditions
Grants Program (GP) to National Voluntary Organizations (NVOs)

1. Authority

Transfer payments under the authority of section 6(1)(c), Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Act, S.C. 2005, ch.10, the Treasury Board 788316 dated June 24, 1983,and theTreasury Board 823628 dated December 14, 1995. The Grants Program to National Voluntary Organizations (GP to NVOs) for the Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness supports protection of the public and the maintenance of a just, peaceful and safe society.

2. Program Description & Objectives

In the context of this program, the purpose of the grants is to contribute to the development of criminal justice policies and delivery of services. The grants provide funding for National Voluntary Organizations (NVOs) to maintain a national structure and cover core operating expenses, including salaries and benefits, rent, translation, telephone, postage, and equipment/material for staff and board members.

The NVOs role in providing advice in community service delivery (particularly in the provision of after-care services) and public awareness is consistent with the mandates and objectives of the Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness.

The NVOs that are funded by the GP to NVOs provide a range of services in the area of corrections and conditional release, and therefore contribute to public safety. They also fulfill an important role in communities across the country in promoting training and development for criminal justice professionals and public education as well as policy consultation with government.

3. Expected Results and Outcomes

The activities and outputs of the programs are expected to lead to the immediate and intermediate outcomes. These outcomes can be associated to what the grants are expected to achieve.

Immediate Outcomes

Intermediate Outcomes

The intermediate outcomes are expected to lead to the following ultimate outcome. While many other social and political factors are expected to affect this outcome, it is still expected that the programs will contribute in a positive way to the achievement of this outcome.

4. Eligible Recipients

The class of eligible recipients are Canadian not-for-profit bodies and NVOs whose activities are consistent with the strategic directions and policy priorities of this program.

Crown Corporations, for profit groups, provinces, territories and individuals are not eligible for funding under the GP to NVOs.

The criteria for receiving a grant under the program include the following:

5. Eligible Initiatives and Key Activities

The funding provided under this program is to support the range of services provided by NVOs in the area of corrections and conditional release, and therefore contribute to public safety.

Funding can be used to deliver direct services and programs to offenders, which can include:

Funding is also used to provide support to victims, families of offenders and communities by delivering:

NVOs fulfill an important role in communities across the country and engage in other eligible activities such as providing training and educational initiatives for other voluntary/justice sector agencies and criminal justice professionals, as well as by participating in policy consultations with the government.

6. Stacking Limits

When applying for funding, NVOs will be required to indicate what, if any, government funds the organization expects to receive for core operating activities. Total Government Assistance will not exceed 100% of eligible costs.

If the limit of Total Government Assistance is exceeded, it will be considered an overpayment and a debt due to the Crown, and the department will either reduce future grant installments or seek reimbursement from the recipient.

7. Application Requirements

The following will be required of all applicants in order for the department to consider a grant application:

8. Selection Criteria and Review Procedure

The application must clearly outline how they meet the criteria specified under Section 4.

In addition, to prevent the risk of conflict of interest, the recipient must:

Grant applications will be reviewed by the Portfolio Liaison Committee on Relations with the Voluntary Sector, which is composed of officials from the department, Correctional Service of Canada, the Parole Board of Canada, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Recommendations from this Committee will be included in a memorandum prepared by the department to the Minister or his or her delegate.

9. Evaluation Procedure

During the funding cycle, the recipients will be required to submit Annual Reports to highlight the previous year's accomplishments, audited financial statements, and current and projected year budgets.

It will be the responsibility of the department's project manager to monitor whether the funding objectives are met.

10. Type and Nature of Expenditures

Eligible expenditures under the GP to NVOs will vary with the individual grants; however, they will be contained in a budget as an integral part of the grant application.

Some examples of expenditures are core operating expenses, including salaries and benefits, rent, translation, telephone, postage, and equipment/material for staff and board members.

Capital expenditures over $5,000 and hospitality expenses will not be allowed.

11. Maximum Amount

The maximum amount of grant payable to each recipient will be limited by the vote appropriated for this purpose and the foregoing criteria and will not exceed $600,000 per recipient, per year. The assistance is provided only at the minimum level to further the attainment of the stated transfer payment program objectives and expected results.

12. Determination of the Grant Amount

Grant amounts are based on the lowest level of funding required for the organization to maintain its national presence and deliver key services and activities that align with Public Safety's mandate and priorities. The following factors are considered to determine the amounts allocated to each organization:

13. Basis of Payment 

Payments will be made on the basis of multi-year arrangements with each NVO, and upon approval by the Minister – or his or her delegate – of a Grant Authorization form that provides the name and the annual amount of each grant.

Multi-year arrangements will allow the approval of grants to NVOs on an annual basis without the need to reapply during the same funding cycle.

Funding provided to NVOs will be disbursed annually over a multi-year funding cycle, subject to annual Parliamentary appropriations.

Annual grant amounts could be paid out by installments or a one-time payment, based on the amount of the grant.

14. Performance Measurement Strategy

The Performance Measurement Strategy contains strategies for on-going performance measurement, evaluation and reporting. The following is a list of key performance indicators that will assist in measuring and monitoring the progress of the GP to NVOs:

15. Intellectual Property

The recipient retains copyright for any work produced under the GP to NVOs. However, in the event the department wishes to use the intellectual property produced by a recipient, the following clause will included in the funding letter addressed to the recipient:

16. Official Languages

During the funding cycle, the recipient will respect official language commitments, and where applicable, make public announcements and public documents related to the grant available in both official languages.



Date modified:

Modalités
Programme de subventions pour les organismes bénévoles nationaux (PSOBN)

1. Pouvoir

Paiements de transfert en vertu de l'alinéa 6(1)c) de la Loi sur le ministère de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, L.C. 2005, ch. 10, de la délibération no 788316 datée du 24 juin 1983 et de la délibération no 823628 datée du 14 décembre 1995. Le Programme de subventions pour les organismes bénévoles nationaux (PSOBN) du ministère de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile favorise la protection du public et le maintien d'une société juste, vivant en paix et en sécurité.

2. Description et objectifs du programme

Dans le contexte de ce programme, les subventions ont pour but de contribuer à l'établissement de politiques en matière de justice pénale et à la prestation de services. Le financement ainsi accordé aux organismes bénévoles nationaux (OBN) leur permet de maintenir une structure nationale et d'assumer leurs dépenses de fonctionnement de base (salaires et avantages sociaux, loyer, traduction, téléphone, poste, et équipement/matériel pour le personnel et les membres du conseil, etc.).

Le rôle qu'assument les OBN dans la formulation de conseils en matière de prestation de services communautaires (en particulier les services d'assistance postpénale) et de sensibilisation du public cadre avec les mandats et les objectifs du ministère de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile.

Les organismes qui sont financés par le PSOBN offrent toute une gamme de services dans les domaines des services correctionnels et de la mise en liberté sous condition et, par conséquent, contribuent directement à la sécurité publique. Par ailleurs, ils jouent un rôle important dans les collectivités partout au Canada en favorisant la formation et le perfectionnement des professionnels de la justice pénale, en sensibilisant le public et en participant à des consultations stratégiques avec le gouvernement.

3. Résultats prévus 

Les activités et les extrants des programmes devraient apporter des résultats immédiats et intermédiaires. Ces résultats peuvent être associés aux objectifs que les subventions doivent permettre d'atteindre.

Résultats immédiats

Résultats intermédiaires

Les résultats intermédiaires devraient aboutir au résultat ultime qui suit. Bien qu'il y ait de nombreux autres facteurs sociaux et politiques susceptibles d'influer sur ce résultat, on s'attend tout de même à ce que les programmes contribuent de façon positive à l'obtention de ce résultat.

4. Bénéficiaires admissibles

Les bénéficiaires admissibles sont les organismes canadiens sans but lucratif et les OBN dont les activités sont conformes aux orientations et aux priorités stratégiques de ce programme.

Les sociétés d'État, les groupes à but lucratif, les provinces, les territoires et les particuliers ne sont pas admissibles à du financement dans le cadre du PSOBN.

Les critères d'admissibilité pour obtenir une subvention en vertu du Programme sont les suivants :

5. Initiatives admissibles et activités clés

Le financement accordé au titre de ce programme permet aux OBN d'offrir toute une gamme de services dans les domaines des services correctionnels et de la mise en liberté sous condition et, par conséquent, contribue à la sécurité publique.

Il peut servir à la prestation de services et de programmes directement aux délinquants, par exemple :

Le financement sert aussi à offrir du soutien aux victimes, aux familles des délinquants et aux collectivités par le biais de ce qui suit :

Les OBN jouent un rôle important dans la collectivité à l'échelle du pays et se livrent à d'autres activités admissibles. Par exemple, ils offrent des séances de formation et d'éducation à d'autres organismes bénévoles ou du secteur de la justice et aux professionnels du domaine de la justice pénale, et ils participent à des consultations stratégiques avec le gouvernement.

6.  Limites de cumul

Lors d'une demande de financement, les OBN doivent indiquer quels fonds gouvernementaux, s'il y a lieu, ils s'attendent à recevoir pour leurs activités opérationnelles de base. L'aide totale du gouvernement ne dépassera pas le total des dépenses admissibles.

Si le plafond de l'aide totale du gouvernement est dépassé, on considèrera qu'il s'agit d'un trop-perçu et d'une créance envers la Couronne, et le Ministère réduira le montant des tranches de subventions futures ou il demandera un remboursement au bénéficiaire.

7. Exigences relatives aux demandes

Tout demandeur devra fournir les renseignements suivants pour que sa demande de subvention soit jugée recevable par le Ministère :

8. Critères de sélection et procédure d'examen

La demande doit indiquer clairement de quelle façon l'organisme bénéficiaire répond aux critères énoncés à la section 4.

En outre, afin de prévenir les conflits d'intérêts, le bénéficiaire doit :

Les demandes de subventions seront examinées par le Comité des relations avec le secteur bénévole du Portefeuille, qui compte, parmi ses membres, des représentants du Ministère, du Service correctionnel du Canada, de la Commission des libérations conditionnelles du Canada et de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Les recommandations formulées par ce comité seront intégrées à une note de service que le Ministère adressera au ministre ou à la personne qui le représentera.

9.  Procédure d'évaluation

Durant le cycle de financement, les bénéficiaires doivent soumettre des rapports annuels soulignant les réalisations de l'année précédente, des états financiers vérifiés et les budgets annuels actuels et futurs.

Il incombe au gestionnaire de projet du Ministère de surveiller si les objectifs de financement sont atteints.

10. Type et nature des dépenses

Les dépenses admissibles dans le cadre du PSOBN varient d'une subvention à l'autre; cependant, elles s'inscrivent dans un budget faisant partie intégrante de la demande de subvention.

Entre autres exemples, mentionnons les dépenses de fonctionnement de base, y compris les salaires et les avantages sociaux, le loyer, la traduction, le téléphone, la poste, et l'équipement/le matériel pour le personnel et les membres du conseil).

Les dépenses en immobilisations de plus de 5 000 $ et les dépenses d'accueil ne sont pas admissibles.

11. Montant maximal 

Le montant maximal des subventions versées à chacun des bénéficiaires sera limité par les montants affectés à cette fin et par les critères susmentionnés, et il ne dépassera pas 600 000 $ par bénéficiaire, par année. Le montant minimal accordé n'est fourni que pour contribuer à l'atteinte des objectifs déclarés du programme de paiements de transfert et des résultats attendus.

12. Détermination du montant de la subvention 

Le montant de la subvention est basé sur le niveau de financement minimal dont l'organisme a besoin pour maintenir sa présence nationale et pour offrir des services et des activités clés qui cadrent avec le mandat et les priorités de Sécurité publique Canada. Les facteurs suivants servent à déterminer le montant accordé à chaque organisme :

13. Modalités de paiement

Les paiements seront versés en fonction d'ententes pluriannuelles conclues avec les OBN, et moyennant l'approbation par le ministre – ou la personne qui le représente – d'un formulaire d'autorisation où figurent le nom et le montant annuel de chaque subvention.

Ces ententes permettent d'approuver l'octroi de subventions à des OBN chaque année sans devoir présenter une nouvelle demande au cours du même cycle de financement.

Les fonds seront remis annuellement aux OBN dans le cadre d'un cycle de financement pluriannuel, sous réserve de l'obtention des crédits parlementaires annuels.

La subvention annuelle peut être versée par tranches ou faire l'objet d'un paiement unique, selon le montant accordé.

14. Stratégie de mesure du rendement

La Stratégie de mesure du rendement propose des stratégies pour la mesure, l'évaluation et la production de rapports continus du rendement. La liste d'indicateurs de rendement clés qui suit aidera à mesurer et à surveiller l'évolution du Programme de subventions pour les organismes bénévoles nationaux :

15. Propriété intellectuelle

Le bénéficiaire possède les droits d'auteur pour tout travail réalisé en vertu du PSOBN. Toutefois, au cas où le Ministère souhaiterait utiliser la propriété intellectuelle produite par un bénéficiaire, la clause suivante figurera dans la lettre de financement adressée au bénéficiaire :

16. Langues officielles

Durant le cycle de financement, le bénéficiaire doit respecter les engagements en matière de langues officielles et, lorsqu'il y a lieu, faire toute annonce publique et rendre disponibles tous documents concernant la subvention, à l'intention du public, dans les deux langues officielles.



Date de modification :