Aboriginal corrections

Public Safety works with Aboriginal people, governments and organizations to develop unique and innovative solutions to the challenges that Aboriginal people encounter within the community corrections and criminal justice systems. We also provide support to communities and organizations that would like to address the issue of community safety and more specifically, violence against Aboriginal women and girls.

Through the Indigenous Community Corrections Initiative, PS works with communities and organizations to rehabilitate Aboriginal offenders through project development, training and capacity building, communications, and policy development.

The Aboriginal Community Safety Development Contribution Program supports the development of community safety plan as part of the Government of Canada's concrete action on missing and murdered Aboriginal women. Our objective is to help communities respond holistically to community factors leading to integrated, comprehensive responses that can move communities from fixing problems to building communities that are healthy and safe.

Learn more

Contact info

Public Safety Canada
Aboriginal Corrections Policy Unit
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Canada K1A 0P8
Fax: 613-990-8295
E-mail: abocor@ps.gc.ca



Date modified:

Services correctionnels pour Autochtones

Sécurité publique travaille de concert avec les Autochtones, les gouvernements et les organismes à trouver des solutions originales et innovantes aux difficultés auxquelles sont confrontés les Autochtones dans les services correctionnels communautaires et dans le système de justice pénale. Il fournit également un soutien aux collectivités et aux organismes qui souhaitent se pencher sur la question de la sécurité dans les collectivités et, plus précisément, de la violence envers les femmes et les jeunes filles autochtones.

Dans le contexte de l'Initiative sur les services correctionnels communautaires destinés aux Autochtones, SP collabore avec les collectivités et les organismes pour réhabiliter les contrevenants autochtones dans le cadre de la création de projets, de la formation et du renforcement des capacités, des communications et de l'élaboration de politiques.

Le Programme de contribution à l'amélioration de la sécurité des collectivités autochtones appuie l'élaboration de plans de sécurité communautaire dans le cadre des mesures concrètes prises par le gouvernement du Canada en vue de lutter contre le phénomène des femmes autochtones disparues ou assassinées. Notre objectif est d'aider les collectivités à intervenir de façon globale face à ces facteurs communautaires grâce à des approches intégrées et complètes qui les amènent à former une société saine et sécuritaire au lieu de se limiter à régler des problèmes.

Consultez aussi

Personnes-ressources

Sécurité publique Canada
Groupe de la politique correctionnelle autochtone
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Canada) K1A 0P8
Téléc. : (613) 990-8295
Courriel : abocor@sp.gc.ca



Date de modification :