Terms and Conditions for Contribution Funding Under the Communities at Risk: Security Infrastructure Program (SIP)

1. Authority

The Minister’s authority to make contributions is section 6(1)(c) of the Department of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Act, S.C. 2005, c.10. The Communities At Risk: Security Infrastructure Program (SIP) supports security enhancements for communities victimized by hate-motivated crime.

2. Purpose

The purpose of the SIP is to support the implementation of projects to help communities with a demonstrated history of being victimized by hate-motivated crime through the enhancement of their security infrastructure.

The SIP supports Public Safety Canada’s Strategic Outcome of providing Canadians with “A Safe and Resilient Canada”. Providing communities with security infrastructure should lead to a reduction in the number of hate-motivated crimes, which would then lead to an increase in community safety, part of Public Safety Canada’s Strategic Outcome. Furthermore, it is aligned with the Department’s Program Activity Architecture (PAA).

Public Safety Canada’s SIP contributes to the federal government’s leadership role in promoting community safety. It does this, in part, through providing contribution funding to local communities for targeted hate-motivated crime prevention projects.

3. Objectives and Results

This program focuses on achieving three expected results: a) a reduction of incidents of hate-motivated crime in targeted area; b) an increased sense of security in communities at risk of hate-motivated crime in targeted area; and c) an increased awareness of the particular challenges faced by communities at risk of hate-motivated crime. By providing these communities with security infrastructure, a reduction in hate-motivated crime is anticipated which will lead to an increase in overall community safety.  

The activities and outputs of the program are expected to lead to immediate and intermediate outcomes.

Immediate Outcomes

Intermediate Outcomes

The intermediate outcomes are expected to lead to the following ultimate outcome:

4. Class of Recipients

Contributions may be provided, in support of the SIP objectives, to private, not-for-profit organizations, associations or societies that are clearly linked to a community at risk of hate-motivated crime, but are limited to:

Crown Corporations, for profit groups and individuals are examples of recipients that are not eligible for funding under the SIP.

5. Eligible Activities

Activities eligible for support could include:

6. Type and Nature of Expenditures

Funds may be used only for expenses directly related to the activities of the project identified in a budget approved by the Department. Eligible expenses include:

Examples of ineligible costs include:

Any capital items purchased with the assistance of this program do not become the property of the Department or the Crown. The Crown is not liable for the upkeep or maintenance of any such property.

Any enhancements must adhere to municipal codes, by-laws and provincial / territorial laws and regulations.

7. Stacking

SIP contributions can not be used in combination with any other federal/provincial/territorial/ regional/municipal government assistance for the same purpose and eligible expenses.

SIP funding from the Department shall not exceed 50% of the eligible project costs up to a maximum contribution of $100,000. Projects will be encouraged to find additional sources of funding. The Department will require all recipients of contributions to disclose all sources of funding for a proposed project before the start and at the end of a project.

8. Method Used to Determine the Amount of a Contribution

Contribution funding amounts will be determined based on an assessment of the recipient’s planned activities and budget submission, previous financial performance, and capacity of the recipient to achieve results. The availability of Program funds and the number of successful applicants will also be used to determine the amount the recipient is eligible to receive.

9. Maximum Amount and Period

The maximum contribution payable shall not exceed $100,000 per recipient, per year. Twelve (12) months is the maximum period for which a contribution will be approved.

10. Basis of Payment

Payments will be made in accordance with the Treasury Board Policy on Transfer Payments. Payments and minimum holdback provisions will be based on a Risk Assessment.

Progress payments will be issued to reimburse the recipient for eligible expenditures made and will be based upon receipt and acceptance by the Department of interim financial (including copies of original receipts) and project reports.

Where advances are required, they will be issued based on the cash flow requirements of the recipient.

A final payment will be made only upon receipt and acceptance of a final financial report (including copies of original receipts) and project and evaluation reports.

Recipients must meet and continue to meet the specific terms and conditions of the Contribution Agreement prior to payments being made.

11. Application Requirements and Assessment Criteria

Proposals or applications to support specific projects should, as appropriate and applicable:

  1. Include a signed and dated application with the name, address and telephone and facsimile number of the applicant, the period or duration of the project, and the name, title and address (including email address) of an individual with signing authority on behalf of the organization;
  2. Demonstrate that the proposal meets the objectives of the SIP and describes the need for the project through supporting documentation;
  3. Include a work plan describing the project activities, expected outcomes and an evaluation plan;
  4. Provide a detailed budget including type and nature of expenditures, a disclosure of all sources of funding for the project (including in-kind contributions and other assistance), amount of funding requested under the program, audited financial statements of the recipient organization (if available and appropriate), and previous financial support received from the Department;
  5. Provide letters of support from the community in support of the project;
  6. Include information related to the organization’s legal status (that they are not for profit) and structure, names of project authorities, information on the background, history, mandate, objectives and accomplishments of the organization, and names and contact information for the executive members of the board of directors of the organization;
  7. Details on how the organization plans to maintain any equipment or infrastructure acquired or installed in accordance with the approved eligible costs of the project;
  8. A declaration that no other municipal, provincial or federal government funding is available for the project;
  9. A commitment to install all approved security infrastructure in accordance with all relevant municipal codes, by-laws and provincial / territorial laws and regulations:
  10. Describe how the project will respect the spirit and intent of the Official Languages Act; and identify whether if the community is an official language minority community;
  11. Prevent the risk of conflict of interest by:
    1. Disclosing the involvement of prospective recipients who are subject to the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service, the Conflict of Interest Act (S.C. 2006, c.9)or the Parliament of Canada Act (R.S., 1985, c.P-1.01);
    2. When required by the Lobbyists Registration Act (LRA), registering lobbyists under the LRA (applicants shall provide assurance that, where lobbyists are utilized, they are registered in accordance with Treasury Board policy and that no actual or potential conflict of interest exists nor any contingency fee arrangement); and
    3. Discussing the role of a departmental official if a departmental official is to participate on an advisory committee or board. Such involvement must not be seen to be exercising control on the committee or board or on the use of the funds.

Proposals for consideration under the SIP will be reviewed against program criteria by the Department and its representatives to determine their eligibility, completeness and conformity according to specified mandatory requirements.

In reviewing and recommending proposals, the Department will take into consideration, as applicable and appropriate:

  1. The extent to which the project would directly support and advance the objectives of the SIP;
  2. The amount of funding requested relative to the amount of resources available from the Department in any given year and whether expenses outlined in the proposal are eligible and reasonable;
  3. The history of the organization and/or the community with regard to victimization by hate-motivated crime;
  4. The ability of the applicant to implement, manage, monitor, document and evaluate the project within the specified timeframe and budget;
  5. The capacity of the organization to maintain any equipment or infrastructure proposed under the project;
  6. The Department’s previous experience in working with the applicant, the degree of collaboration and the quality of and success of the project(s);
  7. The level of support from the community; and
  8. The project’s overall viability, including the strategy for ensuring project transition in the post-federal funding period (if applicable).

12. Performance Measurement Strategy

The Performance Measurement (PM) Strategy outlines the on-going performance measurement that will be implemented by Public Safety Canada’s National Crime Prevention Centre (NCPC) to ensure there is sufficient performance information available to effectively plan, monitor, evaluate and report on results throughout the delivery of the Program.

The PM Strategy identifies the causal links between its main activities, the key outputs that are produced from these activities, and the intended outcomes arising from the activities and outputs. Some of the outcomes and their indicators include:

Program outputs and outcomes

Indicators

Funded SIP projects in targeted at-risk communities

# and type of SIP projects ( by type of hate crime, type of organization / institution and by community)

Increased physical security for educational institutions, places of worship, and community centres in targeted communities at risk

Descriptive data on type / nature of physical security measures implemented

A reduction in incidents of hate-motivated crime in targeted areas

# and type of hate-motivated incidences (crimes, slurs, threats, etc) reported in the final project report compared to the organization’s original application.

An increased sense of security in targeted communities at risk of hate-motivated crime.

The extent to which funding recipients report an increased sense of security as a result of security infrastructure (immediately after project completion)

NCPC has an established Performance Measurement Working Group which is responsible for overall implementation on the SIP PM Strategy. The Group reports to NCPC Senior Management on the extent to which the PM Strategy is being implemented. The Group relies on the cooperation and efforts of both internal NCPC staff and funding recipients to collect, organize and provide good quality performance data on a regular basis.

Funded projects are responsible for providing reports based on the PM Strategy. The contribution agreement will outline the schedule of deliverables requested from the recipient. These will include financial reports and a final report due three months after the project ends.

The reporting deliverables will be submitted to the NCPC Program officer who is responsible for reviewing and entering data in the NCPC information management system (where applicable).

13. Official Languages

Funding will be consistent with all relevant policies and regulations of the Official Languages Act.

The Department will work with organizations in their preferred official language. All information published as it relates to the SIP will be made available and posted on the Department’s website in both official languages.

The SIP’s overall objectives are to be implemented within the broader context of the linguistic duality of Canada by supporting projects that will serve official language minority communities.

14. Intellectual Property

If a project produces intellectual property, the Recipient retains copyright for any work produced under the contribution agreement. However, in situations where the Department wishes to use the intellectual property produced by a Recipient, additional clauses may be included in the contribution agreement.

15. Effective Date

These Terms and Conditions effective date is subject to the date of TB approval.

Date modified:

Modalités pour le financement sous forme de contributions dans le cadre du programme de financement des projets d’infrastructure de sécurité pour les collectivités à risque (PFPIS)

1. Pouvoir

Le ministre a le pouvoir de verser des contributions conformément à l’alinéa 6(1)c) de la Loi sur le ministère de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, L.C. 2005, ch. 10. Le Programme de financement des projets d’infrastructure de sécurité pour les collectivités à risque (PFPIS) soutient les améliorations à la sécurité des collectivités victimes de crimes motivés par la haine.

2. But

Le but du PFPIS est de financer la mise en œuvre de projets pour aider les collectivités ayant été victimes de crimes motivés par la haine en renforçant leur infrastructure de sécurité.

Le PFPIS soutient le résultat stratégique de Sécurité publique Canada, qui consiste à offrir aux Canadiens « Un Canada sécuritaire et résilient ». La prestation d’infrastructures de sécurité à des collectivités devrait mener à une réduction du nombre de crimes motivés par la haine, puis à un renforcement de la sécurité des collectivités, ce qui fait partie du résultat stratégique de Sécurité publique Canada. De plus, le PFPIS s’harmonise à l’architecture de l’activité de programmes (AAP) du Ministère.

Le PFPIS de Sécurité publique Canada permet au gouvernement fédéral d’assumer son rôle de leadership sur le plan du renforcement de la sécurité des collectivités. Cela se fait, en partie, grâce à la prestation de financement sous forme de contributions à des collectivités locales pour des projets ciblés de lutte contre les crimes motivés par la haine.

3. Objectifs et principaux résultats

Le Programme vise à atteindre trois résultats attendus : a) une réduction des crimes motivés par la haine dans les endroits ciblés; b) un plus grand sentiment de sécurité dans les collectivités vulnérables aux crimes motivés par la haine, dans les endroits ciblés; c) une plus grande sensibilisation aux difficultés particulières qu’éprouvent les collectivités vulnérables aux crimes motivés par la haine. La prestation d’infrastructures de sécurité à ces collectivités devrait entraîner une réduction du nombre de crimes motivés par la haine, ce qui mènera à une augmentation de la sécurité des collectivités en général.

Les activités et les extrants du Programme devraient produire des résultats immédiats et intermédiaires.

Résultats immédiats

Résultats intermédiaires

Les résultats intermédiaires devraient mener au résultat final suivant :

4. Catégories de bénéficiaires

Afin d’atteindre les objectifs du PFPIS, les contributions peuvent être octroyées à des organisations, à des associations ou à des sociétés privées sans but lucratif qui sont clairement liées à une collectivité vulnérable aux crimes motivés par la haine, mais elles sont limitées :

Les sociétés d’État, les organisations à but lucratif et les particuliers sont des catégories de bénéficiaires qui ne sont pas admissibles au financement dans le cadre du PFPIS.

5. Activités admissibles

Les activités admissibles à un financement pourraient comprendre ce qui suit :

6. Type et nature des dépenses

Les fonds ne peuvent servir qu’à payer les dépenses directement liées aux activités du projet précisées dans un budget approuvé par le Ministère. Les dépenses admissibles comprennent :

Exemples de coûts non admissibles :

Tous les éléments de patrimoine achetés grâce au financement octroyé dans le cadre du Programme ne deviennent pas la propriété du Ministère ou de l’État. L’État n’est pas responsable de l’entretien de ces biens.

Toutes les améliorations doivent respecter les codes municipaux, les règlements administratifs ainsi que les lois et règlements provinciaux ou territoriaux.

7. Cumul

Les contributions versées dans le cadre du PFPIS ne peuvent pas être utilisées de pair avec celles d’autres gouvernements ou organismes fédéraux, provinciaux, territoriaux, régionaux ou municipaux accordées pour les mêmes fins et pour les mêmes dépenses admissibles.

Le financement fourni par le Ministère dans le cadre du PFPIS ne doit pas excéder 50 % des coûts admissibles du projet, et ce, jusqu’à une contribution maximale de 100 000 $. Les responsables des projets seront encouragés à trouver d’autres sources de financement. Le Ministère exigera que tous les bénéficiaires de contributions divulguent toutes les sources de financement pour un projet proposé avant le début du projet et au terme de celui-ci.

8. Méthode utilisée pour déterminer le montant d’une contribution

Les montants des contributions seront déterminés en fonction d’une évaluation des activités prévues par le bénéficiaire et du budget qu’il propose, de son rendement financier antérieur et de sa capacité à atteindre les résultats. La disponibilité des fonds du Programme et le nombre de demandeurs retenus seront aussi utilisés pour déterminer le montant qu’un bénéficiaire peut recevoir.

9. Montant maximal et période

La contribution maximale pouvant être versée annuellement ne doit pas excéder 100 000 $ par bénéficiaire. Les contributions seront approuvées pour une période maximale de douze mois.

10. Mode de paiement

Les paiements et les dispositions relatives aux retenues minimales seront fondés sur une évaluation du risque.

Des paiements au prorata des travaux seront versés afin de rembourser les dépenses admissibles du bénéficiaire. Ces paiements seront versés après la réception et l’approbation, par le Ministère, des rapports d’étape (incluant des exemplaires des reçus originaux) sur le projet et les finances.

Si des avances sont nécessaires, elles seront versées en tenant compte des besoins en trésorerie du bénéficiaire.

Le paiement final ne sera remis que lorsque les états financiers finaux (incluant des exemplaires des reçus originaux) ainsi que les rapports sur le projet et les rapports d’évaluation auront été reçus et approuvés.

Le bénéficiaire doit toujours satisfaire à chacune des conditions de l’accord de contribution pour avoir droit aux paiements.

11. Exigences et critères d’évaluation relatifs à la demande

Les propositions ou les demandes de financement d’un projet donné doivent, le cas échéant :

  1. contenir une demande signée et datée comprenant le nom, l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone et le numéro de télécopieur de l’organisation qui soumet la demande, les dates de début et de fin ou la durée du projet, ainsi que le nom, le titre et l’adresse (y compris l’adresse électronique) d’une personne autorisée à signer au nom de l’organisation;
  2. démontrer que les objectifs du PFPIS sont respectés, et décrire la raison d’être du projet à l’aide de documents à l’appui;
  3. contenir un plan de travail décrivant les activités du projet, les résultats attendus et un plan d’évaluation;
  4. contenir un budget détaillé comprenant le type et la nature des dépenses, toutes les sources de financement du projet (y compris les contributions en nature et les autres types d’aide), le montant de financement demandé dans le cadre du Programme, les états financiers vérifiés de l’organisme bénéficiaire (le cas échéant) et le financement obtenu précédemment de la part du Ministère;
  5. contenir des lettres d’appui de membres de la collectivité en faveur du projet;
  6. contenir des renseignements à propos du statut juridique (sans but lucratif) et de la structure de l’organisation; le nom des personnes chargées du projet; des renseignements sur les antécédents, l’historique, le mandat, les objectifs et les réalisations de l’organisation; le nom et les coordonnées des membres du comité de direction faisant partie du conseil d’administration de l’organisation;
  7. contenir des renseignements sur la façon dont l’organisation prévoit entretenir l’infrastructure ou l’équipement acquis ou installés conformément aux coûts admissibles approuvés du projet;
  8. contenir une déclaration indiquant que le projet ne bénéficie d’aucun autre financement fourni par des gouvernements ou des organismes municipaux, provinciaux ou fédéraux;
  9. comprendre un engagement visant à installer toute l’infrastructure de sécurité approuvée conformément aux codes municipaux, aux règlements administratifs et aux lois et aux règlements provinciaux et territoriaux applicables;
  10. comprendre une description de la façon dont le projet respectera l’esprit de la Loi sur les langues officielles et une mention à savoir si la collectivité est une communauté de langue officielle en situation minoritaire;
  11. contenir une mention concernant la prévention de tout risque de conflit d’intérêts par les moyens suivants :
    1. la divulgation de la participation de bénéficiaires potentiels visés par le Code de valeurs et d’éthique de la fonction publique, la Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts (L.C. 2006, ch. 9)ou la Loi sur le Parlement du Canada (L.R., 1985, ch. P-1.01);
    2. s’il y a lieu, l’enregistrement des lobbyistes comme l’exige la Loi sur l’enregistrement des lobbyistes (les demandeurs doivent donner l’assurance que ceux-ci sont enregistrés conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor et qu’il n’y a pas de conflit d’intérêts réel ou potentiel ni d’entente de paiement d’honoraires conditionnels);
    3. la description du rôle d’un fonctionnaire s’il doit faire partie d’un comité ou d’un conseil consultatif. Le fonctionnaire ne doit pas exercer un contrôle sur le comité ou le conseil, ni sur l’utilisation des fonds.

Les propositions soumises dans le cadre du PFPIS seront examinées par le Ministère et ses représentants en fonction des critères du Programme afin de déterminer leur admissibilité, leur exhaustivité et leur conformité aux exigences obligatoires précisées.

Au moment d’étudier les propositions et de formuler ses recommandations, le Ministère tiendra compte des éléments suivants, le cas échéant :

  1. la mesure dans laquelle le projet appuie directement la réalisation des objectifs du PFPIS;
  2. le montant du financement demandé par rapport aux ressources à la disposition du Ministère pour un exercice donné, ainsi que le caractère raisonnable et l’admissibilité du montant des dépenses mentionnées dans la proposition;
  3. les antécédents de l’organisation ou de la collectivité pour ce qui est de la victimisation liée aux crimes motivés par la haine;
  4. la capacité du demandeur de mettre en œuvre, de gérer, de surveiller, de consigner et d’évaluer le projet en respectant le calendrier d’exécution et le budget prévus;
  5. la capacité de l’organisation d’entretenir l’infrastructure ou l’équipement proposé dans le cadre du projet;
  6. l’expérience du Ministère lors de collaborations antérieures avec le demandeur, le degré de collaboration entre eux ainsi que la qualité et la réussite du ou des projets antérieurs;
  7. le niveau de soutien de la collectivité;
  8. la viabilité globale du projet, y compris la stratégie visant à assurer la transition du projet après son financement par le gouvernement fédéral (le cas échéant).

12. Stratégie de mesure du rendement

La stratégie de mesure du rendement décrit les méthodes de mesure continue du rendement qui seront mises en œuvre par le CNPC de Sécurité publique Canada afin de s’assurer que suffisamment de renseignements sur le rendement sont disponibles pour planifier, et évaluer les résultats, ainsi que pour dresser des rapports sur les résultats de façon efficace tout au long de la prestation du Programme, et pour offrir un support efficace lors de l’évaluation du Programme.

La stratégie de mesure du rendement établit des liens de cause à effet entre les principales activités, les principaux extrants qui découlent de ces activités, et les résultats attendus qui proviennent des activités et des extrants. Voici certains des résultats clés et les indicateurs qui leur sont associés :

Extrants et résultats du Programme

Indicateurs

Projets financés dans le cadre du PFPIS dans des collectivités ciblées dites vulnérables

Nombre et type de projets dans le cadre du PFPIS (par type de crime haineux et type d’organisation, et par collectivité)

Renforcement de la sécurité physique des établissements d’enseignement, des lieux de culte et des centres communautaires dans des collectivités ciblées dites vulnérables

Données descriptives sur le type et la nature des mesures de sécurité physique mises en œuvre

Réduction des crimes motivés par la haine dans les endroits ciblés

Nombre et type d’incidents motivés par la haine (crimes, insultes, menaces, etc.) signalés dans le rapport final sur le projet comparativement à ce qui est indiqué dans la demande initiale de l’organisation

Plus grand sentiment de sécurité dans des collectivités ciblées qui sont vulnérables aux crimes motivés par la haine

Mesure dans laquelle les bénéficiaires de financement signalent un plus grand sentiment de sécurité en raison de l’infrastructure de sécurité (immédiatement après la réalisation du projet)

Le CNPC a formé un groupe de travail sur la mesure du rendement qui est responsable de la mise en œuvre générale de la stratégie de mesure du rendement du PFPIS. Le groupe rend compte à la haute direction du CNPC de la mesure dans laquelle la stratégie de mesure du rendement est mise en œuvre. Le groupe de travail compte sur la coopération et les efforts des employés du CNPC et des bénéficiaires de financement afin de recueillir, d’organiser et de fournir de façon régulière des données de bonne qualité sur le rendement.

Les responsables des projets financés sont chargés de fournir des rapports en fonction de la stratégie de mesure du rendement. L’accord de contribution contiendra le calendrier des produits livrables que devra fournir le bénéficiaire. Ces produits livrables comprendront des rapports financiers et un rapport final à remettre trois mois après la fin du projet.

Les produits livrables en matière d’établissement de rapports seront soumis à l’agent de programme du CNPC chargé d’examiner et d’entrer les données dans le Système de gestion de l’information du CNPC (le cas échéant).

13. Langues officielles

Le financement respectera toutes les politiques pertinentes et les dispositions de la Loi sur les langues officielles.

Le Ministère travaillera avec les différents organismes dans la langue officielle de leur choix. Tous les renseignements publiés concernant le PFPIS seront accessibles et affichés sur le site Web du Ministère dans les deux langues officielles.

Les objectifs généraux du PFPIS doivent être mis en œuvre dans le contexte global de la dualité linguistique du Canada en appuyant des projets qui bénéficient aux communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire.

14. Propriété intellectuelle

Si des droits de propriété intellectuelle découlent d’un projet, le bénéficiaire conservera les droits d’auteur liés aux travaux effectués dans le cadre de l’accord de contribution. Toutefois, dans les situations où le Ministère souhaite utiliser la propriété intellectuelle que possède un bénéficiaire, des clauses supplémentaires peuvent être ajoutées dans l’accord de contribution.

15. Date d’entrée en vigueur

La date d’entrée en vigueur de ces modalités est assujettie à la date d’approbation du Conseil du Trésor.

Date de modification :