Chair of the Canadian Firearm Advisory Committee

The Honourable John C. Major, C.C., Q.C.

The Honourable John C. Major, C.C., Q.C.

The Honourable John C. Major, C.C., Q.C.

The Honourable John C. (Jack) Major is a retired Supreme Court of Canada judge who has helped shape the legal landscape in Canada through his years as a lawyer, judge and now as counsel at Bennett Jones Calgary. In 1967, he became a litigation partner at Bennett Jones and practiced actively at the firm for 34 years. He was involved in several Supreme Court of Canada cases that brought about changes in local, provincial and federal policies and legislation. He also served as counsel to the Canadian Medical Protective Association (Alberta); counsel for the City of Calgary Police Service; counsel at the CCB and Northland Bank (Estey Commission) and was counsel for the Province of Alberta at the Code Inquiry into the collapse of Principal Group of Companies, 1987.

On July 11, 1991, the Honourable Jack Major was appointed to the Alberta Court of Appeal. The following year, on November 13, 1992, he was appointed to the Supreme Court of Canada. During his time with the Supreme Court of Canada, he presided over approximately 1000 cases on matters ranging from assisted suicide, to the death penalty, to Quebec separation.

In March 2006 to 2012, he was appointed to the Alberta Securities Commission as an independent member. In May 2006, he was appointed as commissioner to conduct an inquiry into the investigation of the bombing of Air India Flight 182. The Report was released in January 2010.  In 2011 he was retained by the Province of Alberta to conduct a review and report on compensation to elected members of the Province of Alberta. Such written report was released in May 2012.

The Honourable Jack Major is a member of the Canadian Institute for the Administration of Justice and the Canadian Judges Conference. He was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 1972, and was appointed a Companion of the Order of Canada in July 2008.

Date modified:

Président du Comité consultatif canadien sur les armes à feu

The Honourable John C. Major, C.C., Q.C.

L’honorable John C. Major, C.C., c.r.

L’honorable John C. Major, C.C., c.r.

L’honorable John C. (Jack) Major est un juge retraité de la Cour suprême du Canada qui a contribué à façonner le paysage du droit au Canada tout au long de ses années de travail en tant qu’avocat, juge et, maintenant, avocat-conseil chez Bennett Jones à Calgary. En 1967, il est devenu associé en litige chez Bennett Jones et a activement travaillé 34 ans au sein de ce cabinet. Il a participé à plusieurs causes présentées devant la Cour suprême du Canada qui ont entraîné des changements dans les politiques et les lois locales, provinciales et fédérales. Il a aussi été avocat-conseil pour l’Association canadienne de protection médicale (Alberta), le service de police de la ville de Calgary, la CCB and Northland Bank (Commission Estey) et la province de l’Alberta lors de l’enquête Code sur la faillite du Principal Group of Companies en 1987.

Le 11 juillet 1991, l’honorable Jack Major a été nommé à la Cour d’appel de l’Alberta. L’année suivante, le 13 novembre 1992, il a été nommé à la Cour suprême du Canada. Pendant ses années à la Cour suprême du Canada, il a présidé environ 1 000 causes liées à des affaires allant du suicide assisté à la peine de mort, en passant par la séparation du Québec.

De mars 2006 à 2012, il a été membre indépendant à la Commission des valeurs mobilières de l’Alberta. En mai 2006, il a été nommé commissaire dans l’enquête relative aux mesures d’investigation prises à la suite de l’attentat à la bombe commis contre le vol 182 d’Air India. Le rapport a été publié en janvier 2010. En 2011, ses services ont été retenus par la province de l'Alberta afin d’effectuer un examen et de produire un rapport sur la rémunération des membres élus de la province de l’Alberta. Ce rapport a été publié en mai 2012.

L’honorable Jack Major est membre de l’Institut canadien d’administration de la justice et de la Conférence canadienne des juges. Il a été nommé conseiller de la Reine en 1972 et promu compagnon de l’Ordre du Canada en juillet 2008.

Date de modification :