Cyber Security in Canada: Renewing Our Approach

Recognizing that digital technology plays a central role in the everyday lives of Canadians and that it can have far-reaching security, economic and social impacts, the Government of Canada has undertaken a review of measures to protect critical infrastructure and Canadians from cyber threats. As part of this review, a public consultation on cyber security was recently completed.

The Public Consultation

The consultation on cyber security was held from August 16 to October 15, 2016, and gathered feedback from Canadian citizens, experts, academics, business leaders, and other levels of governments. Throughout the consultation, three ideas were consistently raised as being important and relevant to cyber security in Canada: privacy, collaboration, and using skilled cyber security personnel. Across the full range of consultation topics, participants stressed the need to uphold all Canadians' privacy rights, the need for stakeholders to collaborate with one another (i.e., governments, private sector, law enforcement, academia, non-profit organizations), and the need to rely on cyber security experts. In addition, recommendations on specific areas for action and proposed ways forward were also expressed. Read the full report on the public consultations..

Next Steps

The cyber security review is still ongoing. The information gathered from internal and external stakeholder consultations, including the evaluation findings, will inform Government of Canada's policy and program decisions to advance Canada's way forward to better overall cyber security. A renewed approach to cyber security will be developed with the objective to maximize the benefits of digital life for Canadian citizens and businesses; carve out Canada's competitive advantage; and foster a new generation of Canadian cyber talent.

Date modified:

La cybersécurité au Canada : le renouvellement de notre approche

Reconnaissant que la technologie numérique joue un rôle central dans la vie quotidienne des Canadiens et qu'elle peut avoir des répercussions importantes sur la sécurité, l'économie et la société, le gouvernement du Canada a entrepris un examen des mesures visant à protéger les infrastructures essentielles et les Canadiens des cybermenaces. Dans le cadre de cet examen, il y a eu une consultation publique sur la cybersécurité.

La consultation publique

La consultation publique sur la cybersécurité s'est tenue du 16 août au 15 octobre 2016 et a recueilli la rétroaction des citoyens canadiens, d'experts, d'universitaires, de dirigeants d'entreprise et d'autres paliers du gouvernement. Tout au long de la consultation, trois idées ont été constamment soulevées comme étant importantes et pertinentes pour la cybersécurité au Canada : la vie privée, la collaboration et l'emploi de membres du personnel compétents en cybersécurité. Parmi l'ensemble des sujets de consultation, les participants ont souligné le besoin de respecter tous les droits de vie privée des Canadiens, le besoin que les intervenants collaborent les uns avec les autres (c.-à-d. les gouvernements, le secteur privé, les organismes d'application de la loi, le milieu universitaire, les organismes à but non lucratif) et le besoin de se fier à des experts en cybersécurité. De plus, des recommandations quant aux secteurs d'intervention particuliers et des voies à suivre proposées ont également été exprimées. Lisez le rapport complet sur les consultations publiques.

Prochaines étapes

L'examen de la cybersécurité est toujours en cours. Les renseignements recueillis des consultations auprès des intervenants internes et externes, y compris les constatations de l'évaluation, éclaireront les décisions relatives aux politiques et aux programmes du gouvernement du Canada visant à relever la voie à suivre par le Canada vers une cybersécurité générale améliorée. Une approche renouvelée à la cybersécurité sera élaborée avec l'objectif d'optimiser les bénéfices de la vie numérique pour les citoyens et les entreprises canadiens, de donner un avantage concurrentiel au Canada et de favoriser une nouvelle génération de talents canadiens dans le domaine de la cybersécurité.

Date de modification :