NIEM Learning, Tools and Resources

While the National Information Exchange Model (NIEM) is large and complex, using it can be relatively straightforward and actually save time and effort. In order to help implementers take full advantage of NIEM, a number of resources have been made available online.

Online Training

The NIEM PMO has made several training modules available online.  These modules are listed below. 

Data Exchange Toolkit

This toolkit provides comprehensive templates, guidelines and documentation for data exchanges. While the toolkit was developed with a United States audience in mind, it can still be used as a basis for Canadian information exchange implementers. The toolkit features a four phased approach: defining scope and identifying candidates for data exchanges; assessing and identifying solutions; planning and implementing solutions; and evaluating the improvement to measure the impact of the initiative.

Classroom Training

The IJIS Institute, in partnership with NIEM PMO, offers classroom-based NIEM technical training. These training sessions take place in the US but are nonetheless open to Canadian participants. To find out more about this training option, see NIEM Technical Training Course.

The option to host a classroom-based training session in Canada is also available.  Interested parties can contact the PS NIEM Team for details.

Webinars

To complement the online and classroom training options, the NIEM PMO offers a series of webinars through their web site.  This on-demand training material covers areas such as tools and cost models.

Hosted Training Sessions

In October 2011, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) Chief Information Officer Branch (CIOB) coordinated NIEM training sessions for a small number of Federal employees in Ottawa. The training sessions were delivered by the IJIS Institute, and addressed both the Executive and the Program Manager levels.  

Similar sessions tailored for Executive, Program Manager, and Technical audiences may be arranged for delivery within Canada. For additional information, please contact the PS NIEM Team.

NIEM Awareness Sessions

Public Safety Canada's CIO Directorate offers NIEM awareness sessions free of charge for groups within the Canadian Federal Government. The PS NIEM Team works with each prospective organization to customize each session to meet the specific needs of the audience. Each session typically consists of a presentation, followed by a question and answer period. 

For additional information, or to schedule a session, please contact the PS NIEM Team.

NIEM Tools

The NIEM community has developed a number of tools to help implementers develop and deploy information exchanges.  The NIEM PMO has assembled a set of tools that cover all aspects of NIEM here.  Additional tools to facilitate NIEM use are described below.

NIEM Engagement Process

In order to provide organizations with a structured approach to determine how to apply NIEM for their information exchanges, the NIEM PMO has developed the NIEM Engagement Process.

Content Assembly Mechanism (CAM) v2.0

The Content Assembly Mechanism (CAM) v2.0 is an open source toolkit that facilitates the development and implementation of XML exchanges. The approach taken by CAM aligns well with the NIEM approach, meaning that CAM can be used to develop and implement NIEM exchanges.

NIEM Wayfarer v3.0

The NIEM Wayfarer v3.0, hosted by the US National Centre for State Courts (NCSC), is a searchable online database of NIEM elements that exist in either NIEM Core v2.1 or in one of the Domain Schema v2.1. This tool can be used to identify existing data elements for reuse in a new information exchange.

A stand-alone version of the NIEM Wayfarer tool, the NIEM Stand-Alone Wayfarer (SAW), enables users to search for existing NIEM elements while offline.

UML Profile for NIEM

The UML Profile for NIEM is an Object Management Group (OMG) approved standard that facilitates model-driven design of NIEM artefacts using UML.

NIEM IEPD Clearinghouse

It is recommended that IEPD's be reused to the greatest extent possible, to reduce development costs and proliferation of redundant exchanges. Existing IEPD's are published, and can be searched online at the NIEM IEPD Clearinghouse, a service hosted by the US Department of Justice's Office of Justice Programs.

NIEM Subset Schema Generation Tool (SSGT)

For a single exchange, only a small subset of the entire NIEM data model is typically required. The NIEM Subset Schema Generation Tool (SSGT) can be used to search through the entire data model and select the elements to be used for the exchange (i.e. the subset schema).

Assistance in understanding and applying these tools to develop and implement NIEM-based information exchanges can be obtained by contacting the PS NIEM Team.

Date modified:

Outils et ressources du NIEM

Bien que le Modèle national d'échange de l'information (NIEM) soit large et complexe, son utilisation peut être assez simple et engendrer des économies de temps et d'efforts. Afin d'aider les responsables à tirer pleinement avantage du NIEM, des ressources ont été mises à leur disposition en ligne.

Formation en ligne

Le NIEM PMO a mis en ligne plusieurs modules d'apprentissage. Ces derniers sont énumérés ci-dessous. 

Trousse d'outils pour l'échange d'informations

Cette trousse d'outils fournit des modèles étendus, des lignes directrices et de la documentation pour les échanges de données. Même si la trousse d'outils a été conçue pour les organisations américaines, elle peut quand même être utilisée comme une base pour les mises en application Canadiennes d'échanges d'informations. Cette trousse d'outils contient une approche à quatre étapes: définir l'étendue et identifier les candidats pour l'échange d'informations; évaluer et identifier les solutions; planifier et mettre en œuvre les solutions; et évaluer l'amélioration afin de mesurer l'impact de l'initiative.

Formation en classe

L'IJIS Institute, en partenariat avec le NIEM PMO, offre des cours techniques en classe. Ces séances de formation ont lieu aux États-Unis, mais les Canadiens peuvent y participer. Pour en connaître davantage sur cette possibilité de formation, consultez la liste des cours techniques sur le NIEM.

Il est également possible d'organiser une séance de formation en classe au Canada. Les parties intéressées peuvent communiquer avec l'équipe du NIEM de SP pour obtenir de plus amples détails.

Webinaires

Pour ajouter à son offre de cours en ligne et en classe, le NIEM PMO offre une série de webinaires sur son site Web. Ces séances de formation sur demande portent sur des sujets tels que les outils et les modèles de coûts.

Séances de formation organisées

En octobre 2011, la Direction du dirigeant principal de l'information (DDPI) du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT) a organisé des séances de formation sur le NIEM pour un petit nombre d'employés fédéraux à Ottawa. Les séances ont été menées par l'IJIS Institute et s'adressaient à la fois aux cadres et aux gestionnaires de programmes. 

Des séances semblables destinées aux cadres, aux gestionnaires de programmes et au personnel technique peuvent être organisées ailleurs au Canada. Pour plus d'information, communiquez avec l'équipe du NIEM de SP.

Séances de sensibilisation au NIEM

La Direction générale du DPI de Sécurité publique Canada offre gratuitement des séances de sensibilisation au NIEM à des groupes au sein du gouvernement fédéral canadien. L'équipe du NIEM de SP travaille avec chaque organisation intéressée pour personnaliser les séances en fonction des besoins particuliers du public cible. Les séances consistent habituellement en une présentation suivie d'une période de questions.

Pour obtenir plus d'information ou pour planifier une séance, communiquez avec l'équipe du NIEM de SP.

Outils du NIEM

La communauté du NIEM a conçu un certain nombre d'outils visant à aider les responsables à élaborer et mettre en place des points d'échange d'information. Le NIEM PMO a réuni un ensemble d'outils qui couvre tous les aspects du NIEM. D'autres outils qui facilitent l'utilisation du NIEM sont présentés ci-dessous.

Le processus de mobilisation du NIEM

Dans le but d'offrir aux organisations une approche structurée leur permettant de déterminer comment appliquer le NIEM à leurs points d'échange d'information, le NIEM PMO a mis au point le processus de mobilisation du NIEM.

Content Assembly Mechanism (CAM) v2.0

Le Content Assembly Mechanism (CAM) v2.0 (le mécanisme de rassemblement de contenu) est une trousse d'outils libres qui facilitent l'élaboration et la mise en place de points d'échange d'information utilisant XML. L'approche adoptée par le CAM s'harmonise bien avec celle du NIEM, c'est-à-dire que le CAM peut être utilisé pour concevoir et mettre en place des points d'échange du NIEM.

NIEM Wayfarer v3.0

Le NIEM Wayfarer v3.0, hébergé par le National Centre for State Courts (NCSC) des États-Unis, est une base de données interrogeable et en ligne d'éléments qui existent dans la version 2.1 du NIEM Core ou dans la version 2.1 d'un des Domain Schema. Cet outil peut être utilisé pour relever des éléments de données existants qui pourront être réutilisés dans un nouveau point d'échange d'information.

Une version hors ligne de l'outil NIEM Wayfarer, le NIEM Stand-Alone Wayfarer (SAW), permet de rechercher des éléments existants du NIEM tout en étant hors ligne.

Le profil UML du NIEM

Le profil UML du NIEM est une norme approuvée par l'Object Management Group (OMG) qui facilite la conception d'artefacts du NIEM fondés sur des modèles à l'aide du UML.

NIEM IEPD Clearinghouse

On recommande de réutiliser au maximum les IEPD afin de réduire les coûts de conception et le dédoublement des points d'échange. Les IEPD existants sont publiés et peuvent être consultés en ligne sur le NIEM IEPD Clearinghouse, un service hébergé par l'Office of Justice Programs du département de la Justice des États-Unis.

NIEM Subset Schema Generation Tool (SSGT)

Un seul point d'échange ne nécessite habituellement qu'une petite partie de l'entièreté du modèle de données du NIEM. Le Subset Schema Generation Tool (SSGT ou outil de génération d'un sous-ensemble de schéma) du NIEM permet d'effectuer une recherche dans l'ensemble du modèle et de choisir les éléments à utiliser dans le point d'échange (c.-à-d. le sous-ensemble de schéma).

L'équipe du NIEM de SP peut vous aider à comprendre et à utiliser ces outils afin de concevoir et de mettre en place des points d'échange d'information fondés sur le NIEM.

Date de modification :