National Expert Committee on Countering Radicalization to Violence

The committee will ensure that the Canada Centre's efforts to implement the National Strategy on Countering Radicalization to Violence will help meet the Strategy's three priorities: building, sharing and using knowledge; addressing radicalization to violence in the online space; and supporting interventions.

Its members reflect a broad representation of backgrounds and expertise in the field:

Dr. Jaspreet Khangura
Dr. Jaspreet Khangura is an Emergency Physician (FRCPC) at the Royal Alexandra Hospital and Northeast Community Health Centre in Edmonton, AB. Following Dr. Khangura's Doctor of Medicine (MD) at UBC, she completed a Masters of Science in Evidence-Based Health Care (with distinction) and Neuroscience at the University of Oxford, where she studied as a Rhodes Scholar. Dr. Khangura was also a 2015-2017 Jeanne Sauvé Fellow. Dr. Khangura is a graduate of the University of Alberta's Emergency Medicine program and is interested in improving health outcomes for vulnerable and marginalized populations.
Irfan Chaudhry
Irfan Chaudhry is a hate crimes researcher and the Director of the Office of Human Rights, Diversity and Equity at MacEwan University. He was a former race relations specialist for the Racism Free Edmonton Project, and a co-founder of “The Mosquers”, a video competition for local Muslim youth. Mr. Chaudhry was also instrumental in creating the StopHateAB.ca website, a 3rd party hate incident reporting platform that documents hate incidents in Alberta while he was a member of the Alberta Hate Crimes Committee.
Dr. Shelly Whitman
Dr. Shelly Whitman is the Executive Director of The Roméo Dallaire Child Soldiers Initiative, and considered a subject matter expert on the issue of child soldiers. Dr. Whitman has an extensive career as an academic, teaching in International Development Studies and Political Science at Dalhousie University, Saint Mary's University and the University of Botswana. Dr. Whitman has also created a number of key, international agreements and policies on the protection of children. Dr. Whitman's research interests broadly focus on issues related to peace, development and human security.
Date modified:

Comité national de spécialistes sur la lutte contre la radicalisation menant à la violence

Le Comité s'assurera que les efforts du Centre canadien pour mettre en œuvre la Stratégie nationale de lutte contre la radicalisation menant à la violence s'alignera avec les trois priorités de la stratégie : acquérir, communiquer et mettre en application des connaissances, s'attaquer à la radicalisation menant à la violence en ligne et soutenir les interventions.

Ses membres dénotent une vaste représentation d'expérience et d'expertise sur le terrain :

Dre Jaspreet Khangura
La Dre Jaspreet Khangura est une urgentologue (FRCPC) à l'hôpital Royal Alexandra et au centre de santé communautaire du Nord-Est à Edmonton, en Alberta. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en médecine de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, Mme Khangura a obtenu une maîtrise ès sciences en soins de santé fondés sur l'expérience clinique (avec mention) et une maîtrise ès sciences Neurosciences de l'Université d'Oxford, où elle a étudié en tant que boursière Rhodes. Elle a également été boursière Jeanne Sauvé de 2015 à 2017. Mme Khangura est diplômée du programme de médecine d'urgence de l'Université de l'Alberta et elle cherche à améliorer les résultats en matière de santé des populations vulnérables et marginalisés.
Irfan Chaudhry
Irfan Chaudhry est chercheur dans le domaine des crimes haineux et directeur du bureau des droits de la personne, de la diversité et de l'équité à l'Université MacEwan. Il a agi comme spécialiste des relations raciales dans le cadre du projet Racism Free Edmonton (Non au racisme à Edmonton) et a cofondé le concours de vidéo « The Mosquers », qui est destiné aux jeunes musulmans de la région. Alors qu'il était membre du comité contre les crimes haineux de l'Alberta, M. Chaudhry a également joué un rôle de premier plan dans la création du site Web StopHateAB.ca, une plateforme tierce conçue pour signaler et recenser les incidents haineux qui se produisent en Alberta.
Dre Shelly Whitman
Shelly Whitman est directrice exécutive de la Roméo Dallaire Child Soldiers Initiative, et elle est considérée comme une experte en la matière dans le dossier des enfants-soldats. Professeure chevronnée, elle a enseigné en développement international et en sciences politiques à l'Université de Dalhousie, à l'Université Saint Mary's et à l'Université du Botswana. Mme Whitman a aussi élaboré d'importantes ententes et politiques internationales sur la protection des enfants. Ses travaux de recherche portent de manière générale sur les questions liées à la paix, au développement et à la sécurité humaine.
Date de modification :