Malware Infection Recovery Guide

Number: TR11-001
Date: 09 November 2011

Audience

This report is intended for organizations within federal, provincial/territorial and municipal governments; critical infrastructure; and other related industries that may have computer systems affected by malicious code.

Purpose

The purpose of this product is to provide guidance on how to recover from computer system infection by malicious software code such as rootkits.

Assessment

Operating a computer system connected to the Internet exposes its integrity and the confidentially of its data to inevitable risks. Although several mitigation measures significantly reduce such risks, vulnerabilities always remain, and can be successfully exploited by malicious actors. Every day, thousands of Internet-accessible computers are compromised and used to steal personal information such as credit cards and banking information, and corporate intellectual property. They are also sometimes used to further distribute malicious code to infect additional computer systems.

As users become aware that a computer system may be infected, either through symptoms such as poor performance or high-bandwidth consumption or through notification by a trusted third party such as the upstream ISP, being confronted with the task of recovery may be daunting.

The following steps may help recovery from a malicious code infection. Unfortunately, given the diversity of computer system configurations and the evolving malicious code detection evasion and persistence tactics, accounting for every possible situation is prohibitive in this document.

1. Reporting to IT Security / Service Desk: If you are in a corporate environment or have an IM/IT service support contract, notify the service provider at the earliest opportunity and follow their instructions.

2. Disconnecting the computer from the Internet: Depending on what type of malware is affecting the system, malicious actors may have access to the data stored on the computer and may be using it against others. Disconnecting the computer from the network will prevent further spread of malicious code and make information on the computer inaccessible from the Internet. The simplest way to disconnect the computer is to physically disconnect the cable or phone line from the back of the computer or laptop, as well as ensuring all Wireless connections (e.g. WiFi, HSPA, Bluetooth) are also disconnected or disabled.

3. Backing up important files: Prior to attempting any repair, important files should be copied onto an alternate storage media such as a CD, DVD, USB key or external hard-drive. Files to consider include photos, videos, email folders, documents and Internet favourites. These files cannot be trusted and will require scanning prior to being reloaded onto any other computer systems. If you already regularly perform backups on a separate system, these may also have been infected. Backup files should also be scanned for infected items.

4. Scanning the computer: A number of tools exist to scan a computer file system to identify and remove malicious code. Unfortunately, there are even more scanning tools available that are malware themselves. Those are known as FakeAV, FakeAlert, etc. Therefore, it is imperative when proceeding with recovery steps that trusted tools (CDs, USBs, software, etc.) be used to avoid exacerbating an already complex problem. If software is used, it should be obtained from a trusted source and used on a different computer for download other than the infected machine. Major antivirus companies often offer a free scanning engine, which can be used to detect and remove certain infections. Microsoft provides a list of reputable antivirus products for Windows-based systems at the following site:

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/antivirus-partners/windows-xp.aspx

When downloading a scanning tool, ensure it is obtained from a trusted source, using a non-infected Internet-connected computer, and that it includes the latest definition/signature files. Some of these tools may require starting the computer in “safe-mode” prior to running the scan.

The system should ideally be scanned using a live-CD, rescue-CD, or trusted bootable USB Operating System. Recovery tools from the computer manufacturer and operating system vendor can be used as well. Once the scanning tool is ready and the infected computer drive is mounted, run a scan and enabling the appropriate features and options such as the level of sensitivity and the inclusion of Boot sectors in the scan. If detection occurs, follow the removal instructions provided by the scanning tool.

Some of the most persistent viruses infect the Master Boot Record (MBR) of the computer. The MBR is a hard-drive space accessed by the computer at start-up before the Operating System is loaded. In such cases, even after successful removal of some malicious code, the infection may constantly reappear. Some antivirus tools are capable of restoring the MBR. Otherwise, operating system vendors such as Microsoft have tools that may be helpful. These include the Microsoft Recovery Console which has a fixmbr option.

5. Reinstalling the operating system: If the scanning is not successful in detecting and removing the malicious code, the affected hard-drive may require formatting and reinstallation of the operating system. This corrective action will result in the loss of all existing programs and files. Before conducting the reinstallation, record programs and settings so that the system may be returned to its original condition. Again, it is important that the reinstallation fully removes all digital artefacts, including the MBR. Manually, this may involve performing the “format” and “fdisk” commands. In a corporate environment, simply re-imaging a host may not remove malicious code hiding in the MBR.

Removing malicious code from the MBR (Windows hosts):

A) Windows XP and earlier: Use the command fdisk /mbr following the instructions provided by this article accordingly:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/69013

From a machine that is not infected, create a bootable disk following the instructions provided by this article accordingly:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/305595

B) Windows Vista and Windows 7: Use bootrec.exe by following the instructions provided by this article accordingly:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927392/

Once the operating system is reinstalled, it is critical that an antivirus software be installed, and that patches and updates are applied.

6. Restoring backup files: Before copying the files from the storage media back onto the computer, use the antivirus software to completely scan the media.

7. Scanning and reviewing other network devices: Malicious codes often have replication features allowing them to copy themselves into network shares used by other computers of the network or directly infect them through other means. Malicious codes may also alter networking infrastructure configuration such as DNS and Firewall settings in routers and other devices. These devices are particularly vulnerable if they use default access control mechanisms such as manufacturer's default administrator account name and password, or if the previously compromised computer had a malicious code with a key logging capability and was used to access and configure such device. Removable media such as USB flash drives may also be infected and used to spread the malware between computers. Perform a scan of these devices and media using a reputable anti-virus product. Review the status and configuration of other network devices. Consider performing a periodic reboot and reset of the password of small-office / home-office routing equipment.

8. Applying and maintaining computer protection: To prevent future infections, consider the following precautions:

Additional resources are provided in the references below.

Suggested Action

CCIRC recommends that computer owners implement security best practices such as those mentioned above to help ensure their computer systems and associated infrastructure remain secure.

REFERENCES

Note to Readers

In support of Public Safety's mission to build a safe and resilient Canada, CCIRC's mandate is to help ensure the security and resilience of the vital non-federal government cyber systems that underpin Canada's national security, public safety and economic prosperity. As Canada's computer security incident response team, CCIRC is Canada's national coordination centre for the prevention and mitigation of, preparedness for, response to, and recovery from cyber incidents on non-federal government systems. It does this by providing authoritative advice and support, and coordinating information sharing and incident response.

Please note, CCIRC PGP key has recently been updated.
http://www.publicsafety.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

For general information, please contact Public Safety Canada's Public Affairs division at:

Telephone: 613-944-4875 or 1-800-830-3118
Fax: 613-998-9589
E-mail: ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date modified:

Guide de rétablissement à la suite d'une infection par un logiciel malveillant

Numéro : TR11-001
Date : 09 novembre 2011

Public cible

Le présent rapport est destiné aux organisations des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, des administrations municipales, ainsi que des infrastructures critiques et des industries connexes dont les systèmes informatiques pourraient être contaminés par du code malveillant.

Objet

Le présent document fournit des directives sur la façon de rétablir un système informatique infecté par du code logiciel malveillant, par exemple un outil de dissimulation d'activité (« rootkit »).

Évaluation

L'exploitation d'un système informatique connecté à Internet entraîne des risques inévitables pour l'intégrité et la confidentialité des données. Diverses mesures d'atténuation réduisent considérablement ces risques, mais les vulnérabilités demeurent et peuvent être exploitées par des personnes malveillantes. Chaque jour, des milliers d'ordinateurs sur Internet sont compromis et utilisés pour voler des renseignements personnels (p. ex., renseignements sur les comptes bancaires et les cartes de crédit) et la propriété intellectuelle d'entreprise. De plus, ils sont parfois utilisés pour distribuer le code malveillant de manière à infecter encore plus de systèmes informatiques.

Les utilisateurs qui découvrent qu'un système informatique est infecté, en constatant des symptômes tels qu'une mauvaise performance ou une utilisation élevée de la bande passante ou en recevant un avis d'un tiers de confiance (p. ex., un fournisseur de services Internet en amont) doivent entreprendre un travail de rétablissement qui peut s'avérer complexe.

Les étapes suivantes peuvent simplifier le rétablissement à la suite d'une infection par du code malveillant. Il n'est malheureusement pas possible, en raison de la diversité de configurations de systèmes informatiques et des tactiques en constante évolution des maliciels pour éviter la détection et se protéger, de tenir compte ici de toutes les possibilités.

1. Signalez le problème à la sécurité de la TI ou au bureau de service : Dans un environnement d'entreprise ou dans le cadre d'un contrat de soutien des services de GI-TI, avisez dès que possible le fournisseur de service et suivez leurs instructions.

2. Déconnectez l'ordinateur d'Internet : Certains types de maliciels peuvent accéder aux données de l'ordinateur et s'en servir pour attaquer d'autres cibles. Un ordinateur débranché du réseau ne peut transmettre le code malveillant à d'autres systèmes ou envoyer les renseignements de l'ordinateur sur Internet. La manière la plus simple de déconnecter l'ordinateur est de physiquement débrancher le câble ou la ligne téléphonique de l'ordinateur ou du portatif et de désactiver toutes les connexions sans fil (Wi-Fi, HSPA, Bluetooth, etc.).

3. Sauvegardez les fichiers importants : Avant de commencer la réparation du système, copiez les fichiers importants sur un support de stockage amovible (CD, DVD, clé USB, disque dur externe). Voici des exemples de types de fichiers à sauvegarder : photos, vidéos, documents, dossiers courriel, favoris Internet. Ces fichiers peuvent avoir été compromis et doivent être balayés avant leur chargement sur un autre système informatique. Si vous effectuez régulièrement des sauvegardes vers un autre système, ces sauvegardes peuvent aussi avoir été infectées. Balayez les fichiers de sauvegarde pour détecter des infections.

4. Balayez l'ordinateur : Divers outils permettent de balayer un système informatique pour détecter et supprimer du code malveillant. Malheureusement, certains de ces outils sont eux-mêmes malveillants. On les nomme FakeAV, FakeAlert, etc. Il est donc essentiel de n'utiliser que des outils fiables (CD, supports USB, logiciels, etc.) au cours des étapes de rétablissement pour éviter d'aggraver un problème complexe. N'utilisez que des logiciels provenant de sources fiables et téléchargez-les sur un autre ordinateur, pas sur l'ordinateur infecté. Les principales entreprises antivirus offrent parfois un moteur de balayage gratuit qui peut détecter et supprimer certaines infections. Microsoft publie une liste de produits antivirus reconnus pour les systèmes Windows à l'adresse suivante :

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/antivirus-partners/windows-xp.aspx (en anglais seulement)

Assurez-vous de télécharger l'outil de balayage d'une source fiable, à partir d'un ordinateur non infecté branché à Internet, et d'installer les définitions et les fichiers de signature à jour. Certains outils exigent de démarrer l'ordinateur en mode sans échec avant de lancer le balayage.

Idéalement, le système devrait être balayé au moyen d'un CD autonome (« Live CD »), un CD de sauvegarde ou un système d'exploitation USB amorçable fiable. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser les outils de rétablissement du fabricant de l'ordinateur ou du fournisseur du système d'exploitation. Après avoir préparé l'outil de balayage, connectez et balayez le lecteur infecté, en activant les fonctions et les options appropriées (niveau de sensibilité, balayage du secteur d'amorçage). Suivez les instructions de suppression fournies par l'outil de balayage, le cas échéant.

Les virus les plus persistants infectent le MBR (enregistrement de démarrage principal) de l'ordinateur. Il s'agit de l'espace du disque dur lu par l'ordinateur au démarrage, avant le chargement du système d'exploitation. Dans ce cas, l'infection peut persister même après la suppression de code malveillant. Certains outils antivirus peuvent rétablir le MBR. Les fournisseurs de systèmes d'exploitation (p. ex., Microsoft) offrent aussi des outils qui peuvent s'avérer utiles. Par exemple, la console de récupération de Microsoft offre la fonction fixmbr.

5. Réinstallez le système d'exploitation : Si le balayage ne permet pas de détecter et de supprimer le code malveillant, vous devrez peut-être formater le disque et réinstaller le système d'exploitation. Tous les programmes et fichiers existants seront supprimés. Avant de réinstaller le système, prenez note des programmes et des paramètres pour être en mesure de rétablir la configuration du système. Il importe que la réinstallation supprime toutes les composantes numériques, y compris le MBR. Vous devrez peut-être exécuter manuellement les commandes format et fdisk. Dans un environnement d'entreprise, la réinstallation d'une image ne suffit peut-être pas à supprimer le code malveillant caché dans le MBR.

Suppression de code malveillant du MBR (systèmes Windows) :

A) Windows XP et systèmes antérieurs : Exécutez la commande « fdisk /mbr », conformément aux instructions de l'article suivant :
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/69013/fr

En utilisant un ordinateur non infecté, créez un disque amorçable conformément aux instructions de l'article suivant :
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/305595/fr

B) Windows Vista et Windows 7 : Utilisez bootrec.exe conformément aux instructions de l'article suivant :
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/927392/fr

Après avoir réinstallé le système d'exploitation, vous devez installer un logiciel antivirus et appliquer les correctifs et les mises à jour.

6. Récupérez les fichiers sauvegardés : Avant de copier les fichiers du support de stockage à l'ordinateur, effectuez un balayage complet du support au moyen du logiciel antivirus.

7. Balayez et examinez les autres appareils réseau : Les maliciels ont souvent une fonction de réplication qui leur permet de créer une copie d'eux-mêmes sur les lecteurs réseau utilisés par les autres ordinateurs ou d'infecter ces appareils par d'autres moyens. Les maliciels peuvent aussi modifier la configuration de l'infrastructure de réseau, par exemple les paramètres DNS et de pare-feu des routeurs et d'autres appareils. Ces appareils sont particulièrement vulnérables s'ils utilisent les mécanismes de contrôle d'accès par défaut (par exemple, le nom de compte et le mot de passe par défaut du fabricant) ou si une fonction d'enregistrement des frappes au clavier a été installée sur un ordinateur compromis utilisé pour accéder à l'appareil et le configurer. Les supports amovibles tel que les clés USB peuvent aussi être infectés et servir à propager le code malveillant à d'autres postes. Il est recommandé de balayer ces appareils en utilisant un produits antivirus reconnu. Il est aussi recommandé d'effectuer la vérification de l'état et la configuration des autres appareils réseau. Effectuer un redémarrage périodique ainsi qu'un changement de mot de passe des équipement de routage de petite entreprise ou de travailleur à domicile (SoHo).

8. Appliquez et tenez à jour la protection de l'ordinateur : Pour empêcher de nouvelles infections, envisagez les précautions suivantes :

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les références ci-dessous.

Mésures recommandées

Le CCRIC recommande que les propriétaires d'ordinateurs appliquent les pratiques exemplaires en matière de sécurité énoncées ci-dessus pour assurer la sécurité de leurs systèmes informatiques et des infrastructures connexes.

RÉFÉRENCES

Note aux lecteurs

En appui à la mission de Sécurité publique Canada de bâtir un Canada sécuritaire et résilient, le mandat du CCRIC est d'aider à assurer la sécurité et la résilience des cybersystèmes essentiels non gouvernementaux à la base de la sécurité nationale, de la sécurité publique et de la prospérité économique du pays. À titre d'équipe d'intervention en cas d'incident lié à la sécurité informatique du Canada, le CCRIC agit comme centre national de coordination pour la prévention, l'atténuation, l'intervention et le rétablissement liés aux incidents cybernétiques commis contre des systèmes non fédéraux. Pour ce faire, il formule des conseils éclairés, offre du soutien et coordonne l'échange de renseignements ainsi que l'intervention.

S'il vous plaît noter que la clé PGP du CCRIC a récemment été mise à jour.
http://www.securitepublique.gc.ca/cnt/ntnl-scrt/cbr-scrt/_fl/CCIRCPublicPGPKey.txt

Pour obtenir des renseignements de nature générale, veuillez communiquer avec la division des Affaires publiques de l'organisme :

Téléphone : 613-944-4875 ou 1-800-830-3118  
Télécopieur : 613-998-9589 
Courriel : ps.communications-communications.sp@canada.ca

Date de modification :